We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service and cleanness”
Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in West Springfield
Ohio, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor service and cleanness”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed on 2/27/14 for two night the location is perfect its near easy access to and from the hwy 91. Front desk staff Nicole was great. Welcomed us with a smile and was able to answer all my question, Now housekeeping is a bit nasty rooms smelled like smoke towels had hair on them and furniture was damaged, during my check out i met a front desk manager/hotel manager Suesan and she was a bit bitter, very rude and not people friendly. over all id say my best part of my stay was checking in other then that this hotel could use a major upgrading on management and housekeeping.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captinemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for you comments I will certainly take them into consideration.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    39
    16
    11
    14
See reviews for
44
24
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is just ok. Room was clean except kitchen floor was a bit sticky and furnishings seemed a bit dated. Kitchen/Bathroom clean. Beds clean. Sofa bed was horrible. Heating system is a fan in the fall and is noisy running all night. Dog upstairs could be heard barking. Pool closed a bit early at 10pm. No restaurant in there, although there's an IHOP close by. I would rather have stayed at the Homewood Suites in Holyoke if I had known it was closer to the Conference that I had thought. It would've cost the same $$ but is a lot nicer, newer and has breakfast right there. For one night, it was ok. The front desk staff were very friendly and I couldn't fault them for anything.

Room Tip: Just ok, average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagull404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
I am so sorry your stay wasn't to your liking. I will definitely see about what we can do to make our sofas much more comfortable. Thank you very much for your nice comments about the staff.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for the first time. The lobby was clean. The front desk staff was pleasant and welcoming. My room was clean, quiet and spacious. There was an indoor pool available for guests. Free Wi-Fi was also a nice amenity. I would definitely stay at this location again and recommend it enthusiastically.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to having you here with us again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Been here twice already. I enjoyed my first stay and that was the reason I went back and stayed for another week. Clean and quite. Kitchen is good. The kitchen sink is quite small though. But that was okay. Fridge is huge. It has it's own ice maker inside, so you do not have to wind up looking for the ice station outside your room. Fire exits are at both ends of the building. Once thing I like about this place is that I can cook my food with all the necessary kitchen utensils available for use. Gas station, mall, fast food chain (if you like to have your meal here) are just nearby. Walmart is quite far though. It's about 15 min away from the hotel. No cigarette smell or anything like that. So far I would love to go back and stay at this place if I have the chance. I would certainly recommend as well to those who are traveling.

Room Tip: As usual, try not to stay near the exit doors. People who loves to use the stairs would probably wak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTCube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I could not believe what a fantastic place this was, a wonderful home away from home with every convenience and comfort! Huge and spotless room (I had the queen/one-bedroom suite) with every houseware I could want -- full kitchen with pots, pans, toaster, microwave, stovetop, full fridge and freezer, dishes, silverware, salt, coffee maker and coffee, dishwasher (detergent included), etc., giant granite dining table/counter top connecting kitchen and living room, large TVs with HBO, Showtime, ESPN, and other premium channels in both rooms.
Spacious bathroom. DVD player. Fast, free wireless. Thick towels. Tons of closet and storage space. Desks in both rooms. Very nice gym, hot tub, and pool. Free washer-dryers; you just buy detergent. Free, current DVDs you can borrow from the front desk. Ample parking. Warm, friendly, helpful staff. Immaculate. 24-hour mini-store in the lobby with all kinds of food and toiletries, should you discover you need anything at 1 a.m. Cannot say enough good things and will be looking for other Candlewood Suites in my travels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfisherhertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We appreciate and thank you for all your wonderful words of praise and kindness. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I Love the CANDLEWOOD SUITES HOTELS. They Are Always My #1 Choice When I Travel. The Hotel IN WEST SPRINGFIELD,MA Is Always Clean And The Staff Is Always Friendly and helpful. I love the goodie bags you get for being priority club members!!! They make you feel VIP!! When my son got married last October... I booked their honeymoon 3 day here and the staff gave them a great room!!! They loved it and kept saying how spacious and clean it was.
I Already have a 3 day weekend booked for my 25th year class reunion.. November 22-25. I am making it a 3 day relaxation weekend for myself. The reunion is actually in Springfield at the Sheraton Hotel with discounted rooms...but I did not want to stay there!!! Why mess with a good thing!! I know for sure when I check in my room is going to be comfy and cozy! Home away from home! I am also booking a 3 day weekend in Feb 2014 at the Candlewood in Times Square New York for my daughters 17th Birthday.

One of my favorites about the room is the kitchenette with full stovetop, full fridge...all the utensils and all the utensils you need. This really comes in handy for people with food concerns who need to prepare their own meals.The bed is very cozy and I love getting the 1 bedroom suite.

Theres plenty of stores and places to eat right up the street.

Looking forward to my relaxation weekend in November Candlewood Suites!!! You always BRING IT!!! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise. We are thrilled that you are happy with our facilities and service. We looking for forward to seeing you in November!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The staff was friendly the room as VERY clean wasn't expecting a kitchenette so that was a bonus. The bathroom was very large, spacious and clean. Loved the little desk area where me and the wife setup our charging station for our tablets and phones. The bed was very comfortable, had nice HD TV, decent closet space. It is centrally located to a lot of things. I was born in Springfield and took my wife for the second time to the Big E ( and we saw the beach boys ) it only a few minutes from the BBHF, many shopping centers you have to check out Ingelside Mall, it was minutes to the Big E and to go visit my moms. You can't beat the price and the value of this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan D, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We strive to give our guests great service and a wonderful facility. We looking forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Springfield
2.0 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#4 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Springfield West Inn
Best Western Springfield West In...
#2 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn West Springfield
Hampton Inn West Springfield
#1 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in West Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Property: Candlewood Suites
Address: 572 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089-4610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > West Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in West Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Hotel-West Springfield is conveniently located in Western Massachusetts at the crossroads I-91 and I-90 (Mass Pike). We are an all suite, extended stay hotel. Whether you are relocating or undergoing a construction project, and are looking for temporary lodging, we are the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate housing apartment. We offer a completely equipped full kitchen with microwave, stove top, dishwasher, disposal and a full size refrigerator with ice maker. Room amenities include coffee maker, iron with ironing board, hairdryer, clock radio, CD/DVD player and a 32 inch flat screen TV with 5 movie channels including HBO and Showtime, over-sized executive desk with free high-speed wire and wireless Internet access and two separate phone lines with voicemail. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD hotel library. Work off some stress in our complimentary nautilus center, then take a dip in our indoor pool or Jacuzzi. Enjoy the outdoors in our Gazebo with gas grill. To curb those late night cravings, visit the Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase food and sundry items at value prices. Take advantage of our on site complimentary laundry facility. We are a pet friendly hotel. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the West Springfield/Springfield area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Hotel West Springfield
Candlewood Suites West Springfield
Candlewood West Springfield
West Springfield Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing