We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not worth the money paid.”
Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in West Springfield
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice, but not worth the money paid.”
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The Candlewood Suites were nice, and the early evening and morning staff was helpful. I liked the candlewood cupboard. I didn't like the fact that the bedroom and living areas were not separated, and that we had to pay separately for breakfast. The late evening front desk clerk was TERRIBLE! Wish the pool hadn't been closed. No way to find information about hours either. Fitness center was small but okay...nothing special. I stayed at a different hotel a week before that cost $50 less, and was 50% better!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlaitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    39
    16
    11
    16
See reviews for
45
25
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

GREAT hotel, Wonderful suites... This place has it all!!! Everyroom is a suite room. Each room has a fully equipped kitchenette (full sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, toaster, dishwasher, etc., one or more beds with a seperate bedroom (not all have this feature), full bath, iron & ironing board, flat screen tv... The hotel offers, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, laundry room, fitness room, mini grocery store & free movie rentals... There is no maid service (which I prefer - I do not like people coming into my room when I am not there) so you need to clean up after yourself & if you want clean towels or sheets you need to exchange them at the front desk, you also need to remove your own trash, but this hotel is worth the little extra work on your part. Very clean... Friendly staff!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Large room with kitchenettes make it great for families with 1-2 kids. Close to Springfield and Six Flags (both about a 10 min drive). Nice pool, helpful staff. Was perfect for us as we were going to both the Springfield museums and Six Flags and it was a great bang for the buck all around. Brand new IHOP next door was the nicest/cleanest IHOP we have ever been to.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nymiamiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Clean, nice rooms with a smartly designed kitchen. Works great with a small grocery store in the lobby and lots of grocery stores in the area. Its not a palace, but it is the nicest hotel in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treeisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline CT
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

I cashed in 2 reward nights with Holiday Inn for the Candlewood in West Springfield MA, we were going to six flags...The hotel was free with my points.
WHAT a suprise to find such a nice hotel. I have stayed at other Candlewood's, but this one BY FAR is the nicest. Full kitchen, seperate bedroom and huge bath. A nice pool and hot tub in the basement. The "cupboard" is totally handy, all sorts of snacks at a reasonable price. We scored discount tickets to six flags, and will get twirlled around tomorrow! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy20071960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We stayed here one night in May 2009. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff very helpfull. They gave us directions to restaurants for dinner and breakfast. We were on the 1st floor one room down from the front desk. I was concerned it would be noisey but it was very quiet. We did not use the kitchenette but it had everything. Pots, pans, dishes, glasses, dishwasher, full fridge,and even popcorn in the microwave.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lheuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallingford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2009

What a home away from home hotel. I don't think I have ever encounter a friendlier staff. The place was very clean and since I had to stay a week the kitchen was a great plus. Just a great place!

Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kalpu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Springfield
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn West Springfield
Hampton Inn West Springfield
#1 of 17 in West Springfield
620 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#6 of 17 in West Springfield
307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Aqua Lagoon Water Park
Clarion Hotel & Aqua Lagoon Wate...
#10 of 17 in West Springfield
100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#4 of 17 in West Springfield
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Property: Candlewood Suites
Address: 572 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089-4610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > West Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in West Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Hotel-West Springfield is conveniently located in Western Massachusetts at the crossroads I-91 and I-90 (Mass Pike). We are an all suite, extended stay hotel. Whether you are relocating or undergoing a construction project, and are looking for temporary lodging, we are the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate housing apartment. We offer a completely equipped full kitchen with microwave, stove top, dishwasher, disposal and a full size refrigerator with ice maker. Room amenities include coffee maker, iron with ironing board, hairdryer, clock radio, CD/DVD player and a 32 inch flat screen TV with 5 movie channels including HBO and Showtime, over-sized executive desk with free high-speed wire and wireless Internet access and two separate phone lines with voicemail. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD hotel library. Work off some stress in our complimentary nautilus center, then take a dip in our indoor pool or Jacuzzi. Enjoy the outdoors in our Gazebo with gas grill. To curb those late night cravings, visit the Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase food and sundry items at value prices. Take advantage of our on site complimentary laundry facility. We are a pet friendly hotel. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the West Springfield/Springfield area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Hotel West Springfield
Candlewood Suites West Springfield
Candlewood West Springfield
West Springfield Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing