We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaker Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shaker Mill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for one night, during what I assume is a very busy time in the area! Tanglewood, James Taylor, July 4. Room was large, comfortable, and had everything you could possibly need. Bob is a warm and welcoming host. Area is very quiet, and you can easily walk to a few restaurants. An easy, 4 mile drive to Tanglewood.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrenthamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    36
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
157
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mass.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We only stayed 1 night, but really wish it could have been longer. My husband and I went here to be near Tanglewood, and our room and patio were just lovely. I love that this is an inn with a delicious breakfast, but there's lots of privacy and none of that shared breakfast duty. I would go back for sure, and, as a writer, might avail of this nice quiet spot off season to get some work done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGMass.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Honeymoon Suite for two nights after we got married. The room was wonderful! Big comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom with large jacuzzi tub and a complimentary bottle of wine. They also had a container of freshly ground coffee, fresh baked goods, and even quiche in the fridge for the morning! Our wedding reception finished at 11pm, so it was around 11:40 when we finally got to the Inn. They were super awesome and very hospitable. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Garden Room, which has a private deck with a loveseat rocking chair, dog gate, and patio table. Inside, the room was kept very cozy and immaculate, with a big bed, private bathroom, a small kitchen equipped with essentials (a toaster oven, microwave oven, refrigerator-freezer combo, coffee maker, sink, etc.). We loved the thoughtful doggy basket with blanket, towels, and a book of dog-friendly hikes in the region. The included breakfast can be enjoyed in the room, on the deck, or in the well-kept garden. Adjoining the inn are some nice trails for exercising canine companions (who are very much welcomed at this establishment), and the inn is also just a few minutes' walk from all of West Stockbridge's eateries, the farmer's market, and other conveniences of town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DVinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just spent a couple nights here and enjoyed every moment. The Greylock suite was like having an apartment. They literally have everything you would need to be comfortable. Yes, the pillows were a little hard, but that is a small quibble. Very fair price for a really wonderful spot. Be sure to go to Rouge, walking distance from the inn.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beckperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mouth of Wilson, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a great get together here last week with sisters from around the country. The location was very easy to get to from 90 yet quiet and walking distance from restaurants and store. Bob was very friendly and set us up with some enjoyable hikes to go on.We had campfires at night in the yard with the full moon. Everything in the rooms were clean and comfortable,felt like home.If you stay, walk in to the Vietnamese restaurant in town for an enjoyable time. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed in the Tanglewood room and it was even better than I expected. Plenty of room, plenty of amenities, great price. I was traveling with my dogs for a dog agility show. Upon arriving, no one was in the office, but the owners left me a note detailing my reservation and information to know about the Inn and the room. In the confirmation email, it had stated there may not be anyone in the office when I arrived, and if that was the case, my room would be left open with the key inside. And that is exactly what happened, and was totally convenient. As I was unpacking my car, Bob (the owner) came down and pointed out a few things in the room and let me know to call him if I have any questions. Later on, I met Bob's wife Mary, and she recommended a few restaurants to go to and we chatted about our dogs. Bob and Mary are very pleasant people and want to make sure you have everything you need so that your stay in comfortable.
The room had everything I needed and more. I loved the little bone basket they left with the doggie goodies. The kitchenette was convenient for my dogs' food. The TV had all the channels you need. The bed was very comfortable. There were bathrobes, an iron and board, coffee, tea and hot cocoa, a microwave, coffee maker, dishes and silverware, shampoo and body wash in the shower, hair spray, hair dryer. They really did think of everything.
I absolutely will be back to this place if I am in the area again for a dog show, or any other reason. It was just lovely. A real highlight of the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Stockbridge
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
7.1 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Mill Inn

Property: Shaker Mill Inn
Address: 7 Albany Rd, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266-9505
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > West Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shaker Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming small town of West Stockbridge, MA, in the heart of the Berkshires, the Shaker Mill Inn combines spacious suite-style rooms with the charm and individuality that bed & breakfast establishments traditionally offer.Each suite has its own private bath, kitchenette, and comfortable living and sleeping areas - and most of them have their own private deck or balcony! A wonderful continental breakfast - with a choice of quiche or fruit salad - is included in your stay.The Shaker Mill Inn is a child & pet friendly inn. Our spacious rooms, along with owners/innkeepers Bob & Mary, will make your stay in the beautiful Berkshires one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shaker Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Mill Hotel West Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing