We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the small details come together for a perfect experience”
Review of Shaker Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shaker Mill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“All the small details come together for a perfect experience”
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We can't possibly say enough about the Shaker Mill Inn! Bob and Mary, the innkeepers, are fantastic! We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite for a mid-week mini-vacation and it was perfect. Bob greeted us enthusiastically and showed us to our room as soon as we arrived. The fireplace was on, candles were lit, classical music was playing and the lighting was perfect. There were fresh cut flowers throughout the the Suite, which were absolutely lovely. They had left us treats for breakfast (scones, croissants, muffins, orange juice, fresh cut fruit) and there were clean dishes and plates with an assortment of teas, hot chocolates, and coffees. The room was spotless and the decor incredibly relaxing. They had even printed out the weather report, a list of activities in the area for the days we were there, and some menus for suggested restaurants. When we asked about the local winery and if it would be open on a Sunday, Bob was back within 5 minutes with a print-out and directions. How could you ask for more? It was all of these details that came together to make for an extremely peaceful, relaxing, and enjoyable getaway. We highly recommend this Inn; you will certainly have a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanaandJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    37
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
164
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Islip, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Simply put, go to The Shaker Mill Inn. The rooms are big, clean and very nice. The efficiency-style setup of the rooms is extremely convenient and the breakfasts provided are great. Makes for nice, relaxing mornings. Bob & Mary are extremely friendly and helpful. West Stockbridge is close to everything as well as being in a nice, quiet area. The Berkshires are a great place to visit, with many things to do. The Shaker Mill Inn is the perfect place to come back to each day. Whether you’re traveling with kids or just adults, The Shaker Mill Inn is the place. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Rooms, location, service, WiFi
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ILikeTheNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, ny
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed in the Honeymoon suite. Very clean. Big room, had everything we needed for a pleasant 3 days. All nicely decorated, up to date and clean. Excellent location in West Srockbridge. Bob, the owner, was most accommodating. Set us up with the gluten free breakfast I need. He even brushed off guests cars after it snowed.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lebietsttocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtown, ct
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

We found the Shaker Mill Inn thanks to Tripadvisor reviewers. The location is excellent. The rooms large and comfortable. It felt like staying in a small apartment complete with a small balcony with table and chairs. Our room had a kitchenette stocked with coffee, tea, honey, juice, cereal, milk, fruit. Bagels, muffins and pastry are delivered to the room each day. Two slices of delicious quiche were also in the refrigerator when we arrived and next day fresh fruit salad appeared in the refrigerator. The owners are genuinely interested in making sure you enjoy your stay. We used the Shaker Mill Inn as a base for 3 days/2nights as we explored the Berkshires. The Norman Rockwell museum, Edith Wharton's estate, The Mount, and a fabulous dinner at the Spanish restaurant Viva in nearby Glendale were the highlights of our trip.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and attentive owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brendafaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2008

It was a very special trip "home" to the Berkshires from Los Angeles. After being away for over 15 years, to return for the 4th of July weekend at Tangelwood was a dream for me. For my husband and 7 year old son to find it as perfect as I did made the trip better than I ever expected. Bob and Mary are delightful people and their sheltie Annie was a perfect hostess. We have recommended this place to everyone who is planning a trip to the Berkshires. The Inn was clean and lovely, well designed for comfort and convenience and we were absolutely pampered.
We enjoyed our stay and plan to return as soon as we can.

  • Liked — Comfortable, beautiful, private but easy to acces other places
  • Disliked — The bulding in front of the property is empty
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We found the Shaker Mill Inn as a base for a wedding celebration for ourselves and several family members. The Inn is tucked into the quaint village of West Stockbridge and the place is more of a jewel than anything else--the rooms are quite large, beautifully decorated (not in New England Chintz but much more tasteful) and the attention to detail is quite incredible (e.g. umbrella standing in the door if it rained, etc.). The rooms seem to have all been recently done and are well fitted out with microwave, toaster oven, refrigerator, TV, DVD player, etc. The breakfast was a bit different than a typical B&B with the food delivered to your room and the owners quite willing to adapt to our needs.

The owners, Bob and Mary were extremely accommodating before and during our stay--they treated us as if we were long time friends or family--attentive to all our needs and very pleasant to talk with.

The location is quite good especially for Tanglewood, Lenox, Stockbridge and Great Barrington-all within a scenic 15 minute ride or less.

We plan on returning and found this place to be one of the best values we've experienced.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms and wonderful owners
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Woodmere, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

My wife and I just returned from a two night stay in the Berkshires and had the pleasure and good fortune of staying at the Shaker Mill Inn. The owners, Bob and Mary Thibeault have put theirs hearts and souls into this wonderful place and it shows. Tirelessly (and I mean tirelessly) working into the night to make your stay as perfect as possible, everything is thought of and anticipated right down to the smallest detail. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, an immaculate room that was as well-appointed as any we've stayed in with a small dinette, kitchenette, living area (with couch and fireplace), king sized bed and gorgeous bathroom with jacuzzi. A basket of muffins, scones, bagels and, occasionally quiche, is placed in the room (and the refrigerator) for the next morning. The Inn is dog friendly and welcomed our pup, Mollie, with open arms, a doggy basket (with towels and blankets and treats), tons of dog toys for playing on the property and lots of help finding places to eat and hike with the pup. The Inn is also close to everything (Stockbridge, Lenox and Tanglewood) but far away enough to afford a respite at the end of the day. Altogether a wonderful, wonderful experience. Whether traveling with a dog or not, the Inn is a terrific place to be your home while you explore the Berkshires. We definitely recommend you give this wonderful place and these wonderful people a call.

  • Liked — The room and the owners
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Stockbridge
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
5.6 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
4.7 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
502 reviews
4.8 mi away
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
#1 of 8 in Stockbridge
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Mill Inn

Property: Shaker Mill Inn
Address: 7 Albany Rd, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266-9505
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > West Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shaker Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming small town of West Stockbridge, MA, in the heart of the Berkshires, the Shaker Mill Inn combines spacious suite-style rooms with the charm and individuality that bed & breakfast establishments traditionally offer.Each suite has its own private bath, kitchenette, and comfortable living and sleeping areas - and most of them have their own private deck or balcony! A wonderful continental breakfast - with a choice of quiche or fruit salad - is included in your stay.The Shaker Mill Inn is a child & pet friendly inn. Our spacious rooms, along with owners/innkeepers Bob & Mary, will make your stay in the beautiful Berkshires one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Shaker Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Mill Hotel West Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing