We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaker Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shaker Mill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Herefordshire
1 review
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

Not a bad place reasonably priced, haven't really got a bad thing to say it didn't wow mean or make me think that i have to come here again, but if was going to the area again i would def use this place again

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverstoneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    36
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
157
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

Have you ever stayed at a place that felt like home? This is the place. We like to take weekend getaways with our Old English Bulldogge and this was the find of a lifetime. We immediately fell in love with the Inn and the Inn Keepers. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and we felt we could move right in and live there forever. The first thing you notice when you enter, with the owner at the helm, is the cleanliness. The decor is warm and cozy and the bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up in the morning. I loved the spa tub and I have decided that this is my dream bathroom. There were snacks, coffee and wine left for us, no extra charge. They even had a "Doggie Basket" filled with natural doggie treats, towels, and a book on area dog friendly activities.

Bob and Mary, the owners, are very warm and friendly people. We asked about different activities in the area and they were accomodating to say the least. I left a travel mug and they were kind enough to send it to me. I can't wait for a return visit. Koodos to this wonderfl couple - Thank you !!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyp0858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

We stayed in the honeymoon suite, and we were really impressed! The suite was big, clean, and had fresh flowers and lit candles when we arrived. Bob and Mary are great hosts and genuinely nice people. Bob helped us find some good hiking trails. Overall, a nice place to go relax, which is exactly what we wanted to do. The free wi-fi was also a nice plus.

One thing to note, however, is that the breakfast is put in the room the day before. Muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, yogurt, and the like. Nothing too impressive, but if you're still hungry you can have them bring you more food. I usually eat a lot, and I wasn't. Also, the bed isn't very cushioned, and we slept only OK in it. But that's more a matter of preference.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greygoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island,nt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

Bob and Mary are outstanding hosts, the rooms are very clean, romantic,comfortable and they are even pet friendly. When we arrived Bob greeted us with a warm and personal touch, the room had the fireplace on, subtle music on playing a beautiful stereo, a great TV, refreshments, fruits, sweets and a stocked fridge for a breakfast. We had our dog which also had a wonderful welcome basket !! Quiet, beautiful, with plenty to or just relax. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rose342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

We can't possibly say enough about the Shaker Mill Inn! Bob and Mary, the innkeepers, are fantastic! We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite for a mid-week mini-vacation and it was perfect. Bob greeted us enthusiastically and showed us to our room as soon as we arrived. The fireplace was on, candles were lit, classical music was playing and the lighting was perfect. There were fresh cut flowers throughout the the Suite, which were absolutely lovely. They had left us treats for breakfast (scones, croissants, muffins, orange juice, fresh cut fruit) and there were clean dishes and plates with an assortment of teas, hot chocolates, and coffees. The room was spotless and the decor incredibly relaxing. They had even printed out the weather report, a list of activities in the area for the days we were there, and some menus for suggested restaurants. When we asked about the local winery and if it would be open on a Sunday, Bob was back within 5 minutes with a print-out and directions. How could you ask for more? It was all of these details that came together to make for an extremely peaceful, relaxing, and enjoyable getaway. We highly recommend this Inn; you will certainly have a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanaandJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islip, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

Simply put, go to The Shaker Mill Inn. The rooms are big, clean and very nice. The efficiency-style setup of the rooms is extremely convenient and the breakfasts provided are great. Makes for nice, relaxing mornings. Bob & Mary are extremely friendly and helpful. West Stockbridge is close to everything as well as being in a nice, quiet area. The Berkshires are a great place to visit, with many things to do. The Shaker Mill Inn is the perfect place to come back to each day. Whether you’re traveling with kids or just adults, The Shaker Mill Inn is the place. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Rooms, location, service, WiFi
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ILikeTheNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed in the Honeymoon suite. Very clean. Big room, had everything we needed for a pleasant 3 days. All nicely decorated, up to date and clean. Excellent location in West Srockbridge. Bob, the owner, was most accommodating. Set us up with the gluten free breakfast I need. He even brushed off guests cars after it snowed.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lebietsttocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Stockbridge
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
7.1 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Mill Inn

Property: Shaker Mill Inn
Address: 7 Albany Rd, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266-9505
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > West Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shaker Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming small town of West Stockbridge, MA, in the heart of the Berkshires, the Shaker Mill Inn combines spacious suite-style rooms with the charm and individuality that bed & breakfast establishments traditionally offer.Each suite has its own private bath, kitchenette, and comfortable living and sleeping areas - and most of them have their own private deck or balcony! A wonderful continental breakfast - with a choice of quiche or fruit salad - is included in your stay.The Shaker Mill Inn is a child & pet friendly inn. Our spacious rooms, along with owners/innkeepers Bob & Mary, will make your stay in the beautiful Berkshires one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Shaker Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Mill Hotel West Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing