We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, large menu, relaxed atmosphere”
Review of Shaker Mill Tavern

Shaker Mill Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value, large menu, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Tavern is good for basic, relaxed, friendly dining. The food is good, the prices are reasonable, and it is open longer than anything else in town. It's not fancy and it's very family friendly - exactly what you'd expect in a tavern. Great option to have if you're in town for a few days and want a quick easy meal with something on the menu for everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMBMaryland_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    40
    19
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good . . . a find in West Stockbridge”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I ate here years ago, but after it was purchased by a new owner I hadn't given it a try until last weekend. The patio was lovely under the ceiling fans. And the food was very good: among us we had the veggie sandwich, the chicken sandwich, the wings, and the curried chicken wrap, and everything was delicious. And our waitress couldn't have been nicer; attentive but not overly so and very friendly and knowledgable about the menu. So glad to have found this place . . . again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“warm wood and comfort food”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

It is a tavern...all comfortable warm woods and friendly waitstaff. We had salad and pizza. The dressing was homemade blue cheese; sinful enough to negate the virtue of having the salad. Delicious! All of their dressings are homemade. The pizza was our own combo of mushrooms, onions and kalamata olives, also delicious. Plates of food being served around us looked as generous. There are big front windows looking out on the street and the stream across the way. A relaxed atmosphere and good food. I had a whiskey sour but can't be subjective as they're always good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance, Poor Food”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Really nice rustic looking bar. Great for après ski and happy hour drinks. However, I would go elsewhere for dinner. The menu is also very limited to mostly burgers and pizza. Perhaps, I should try those instead but I didn't have any luck with my choices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watermill, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Right outside our door!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This place shocked us!! In the middle of no where.....sharing a parking lot with our hotel....this was perfect! Great specials every night and cocktails after skiing all day. We loved it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaker Mill Tavern also viewed

West Stockbridge, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Shaker Mill Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing