We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we had one near home”

The Shaker Dam Coffeehouse and Stanmeyer Gallery
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wish we had one near home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Extremely knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating staff; Wide variety of interesting coffee beans and drinks, and a selection of locally-baked/produced goodies. If we weren't with the kids, probably could have spent an hour there taking in the spectacular photographs from the National Geographic photographer-owner. Worth the trip to West Stockbridge if you are in the area and have a passion for photography and coffee!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OneKnightOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice coffee shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

While we didn't brag about the coffee, we definitely enjoyed the shop and the property as well as speaking with the owner who just happens to be a photographer with many credits in National Geographic magazine. It's a comfortable coffee house worth sitting a spell at...the creek out back just adds to the ambiance.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GDawgs_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHiladelphia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great coffee house/gallery experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We visited this place on a snowy morning in the Berkshires and were so happy to see it open. It was our first time here and what a treat! It is a combination world-class photo gallery and gourmet coffee house. The decorations were all from the artists' travels around the world and amazing photographs from National Geographic adorned the walls. Definitely stop by in your travels to the wonderful Berkshires.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wurltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Berkshires, MA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very special gallery/coffee house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I still can't quite believe that this amazing place is 10 minutes from where i live and on a route I travel frequently. Walk in the door and you're transported into a special environment that combines elegance and comfort accented by photos of very exotic places.

The coffee is very good--more like Europe than Seattle. There are also a few special things to eat, but it's not a restaurant. Not cheap, but you didn't come here to save money. You came here to spend time.

By the way, it's just off Exit 1(heading west) or B3 (heading east) of the MassPike so travelers can have the experience without losing travel time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank webwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
514 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Truly fabulous coffeehouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

An amazing blend of the old and the new. On the one hand it is an "old fashioned" coffeehouse with comfortable chairs and a relaxed vibe that lends itself to conversation with friends and strangers. Or a quiet sit in the corner enjoying your morning brew and reading or admiring the award winning photography (thus the gallery part of the name).

On the other hand it is a completely 'of the moment' beverage purveyor. Fabulous coffee is offered 'pour over', french press, espresso, cold brew, etc. all made a skilled barista. You can have your milk as cream, 2%, fat free, soy, almond, etc. They have fine teas and hot chocolate created with their own process using locally sourced chocolate. And they also serve various pastry/snack-ish foods.

All together an amazing find - I'd give it 6 stars if I could.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shaker Dam Coffeehouse and Stanmeyer Gallery also viewed

West Stockbridge, Berkshires
West Stockbridge, Berkshires
 
Stockbridge, Berkshires
West Stockbridge, Berkshires
 
West Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to The Shaker Dam Coffeehouse and Stanmeyer Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing