We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our absolute favorite restaurant in the Berkshires !!!”
Review of Rouge

Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Contemporary French cuisine using local ingredients, serving the local community as well as second home owners and visitors to our region consistently for the past sixteen years. Voted "Best of the Berkshires 2016". We offer two menus, a more formal menu in the dining room areas, and a bar/ tapas menu in the Bistro room and bar. We offer later hours on the weekend throughout the summer season, and to go meals.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our absolute favorite restaurant in the Berkshires !!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

There is no denying how special Rouge is! We make sure to be there at least 2-3 times a month. The food is innovative and delicious. The drinks are fantastic ! Leave some pineapple infused vodka for us!!! Never have we met owners like Maggie and William. They make everyone feel at home. Well worth the trip but please don't tell everybody so we can still get a table!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Becepstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    56
    12
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meals at Rouge”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very good choice in West Stockbridge (not that there's much to choose from....). Sophisticated space, relaxing bar area, friendly waitstaff, delicious salmon. The merguez could've been a bit spicier and the prices were Manhattan, but despite those quibbles, two very enjoyable meals. Oh, the dessert was sublime, as were the before dinner drinks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bring us the Bread, Already!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we walked into Rouge and saw the new dining area, but things went downhill from there. The waitstaff was friendly, but not well trained. When the waitress brought our wine, she poured the entire bottle into four glasses!! We also waited about one-half hour for the bread as it was "in the oven." Now I love fresh-baked bread, but we did have reservations, and the kitchen should realize that 4 people would be seated at 6:30, and the bread should have been ready by 6:45, the latest.

The food was okay: I had the chicken which the waitress raved about and which I found ordinary. My dining companion had the ribs which were good, but the meal was over $250, and I felt the quality of the food and service was not worth the money.

I have been to this restaurant many times, and the food is usually really good, but this time it was not up to its usual standards. P.S.: the waitresses should be taught to pour the wine correctly and then put it on ice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReviewingQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Surprising Find”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have been traveling through West Stockbridge for years going from Stockbridge/Lee and Saratoga. We were in Stockbridge again for a play at the Berkshire Theater Festival and wanted to have dinner someplace before driving all the way back to Saratoga. Looked on TripAdvisor and saw the ratings for Rouge. Rouge is on Center Street which is just off 102 which is why we never spotted them traveling on 102 to the Thruway. Anyhow we got out of the play at 4 and had to kill time before Rouge opened at 5. It was well worth the wait! We had a mix of appetizers and tapas offerings. Everything was great! My wife had a Blood Orange Margarita which she raved about. They definitely do not skimp on the Taquila! The young waitstaff who served us were appropriately attentive. Rouge is now definitely on our list for places to return to. The pricing is very reasonable compared to restaurants of comparable level of quality. It will be worth a small detour off the Pike coming back from Boston for a dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Quasi229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is one of the very best secrets in the Berkshires! But, truth be known, it is a secret no longer.
One of the warmest, most welcoming and charming restaurants around. The owner/chef and his wife treat their patrons with enormous grace and hospitality. The food is superb, highest quality and beautiful execution. Not inexpensive, but worth it. Now, too, there is the bar, which offers small plates and tapas for those who don't want a big meal. The wine list is always excellent. As you can see, I am a huge fan of this restaurant. Wish other restaurateurs would take a lesson.
One caveat, they are tremendously busy on weekends, so I suggest getting there early (they open at 5pm) and/or making a reservation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moniquethecritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rouge also viewed

 
Lee, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing