We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marjory IS the 5-star Broad Meadow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Tisbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 West Tisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marjory IS the 5-star Broad Meadow!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My family has been coming to the Vineyard for many years, always renting a house, but this time we were only going to be staying a few nights and wanted to be in West Tisbury in order to take full advantage of its central location and enjoy its beautiful beaches. The owner, Marjory, is such a pleasure to meet! Her enthusiasm and dedication to pleasing her guests are paramount. The breakfasts, served to us in our little cottage, were yummy. While we slept, Marjory quietly entered each morning with a loaf of fresh-baked country bread, still warm from the oven, and a delicious frittata or blueberry loaf. She left a supply of cereals, yogurts, fresh orange juice, lovely jams and cut fruits on a platter, hot coffee and tea, placed artfully on the counter in the separate, front kitchen (replete with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker), of our small, yet roomy abode. We loved the outdoor shower, (an absolute must for us whenever we visit the Island), and the hammock and picnic table set up in the bucolic meadow out back. Marjory has a vegetable garden she works hard at and is a fount of suggestions for restaurants and out-the-way beaches, such as the one at Long Point, so beautiful with the ocean on one side and the placid pond on the other. She supplied us with passes to it and to the beautiful Lambert's Cove Beach, along with maps to guide us. We hope to return, but we know that with all the 5-star reviews on Trip Advisor, we will have to plan well in advance to be fortunate enough to secure a reservation at this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: There is only one "room", which is actually a self-contained cottage with full bathroom, A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonBon46_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkp1964, Owner at The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
This is such a magnificent review I hate to quibble with any part of it. But I must note that there is NO microwave at The Broad Meadow. There is a toaster, a coffee maker, tea kettle and a refrigerator in the ante room where breakfast is left, so guests can have it at their leisure. Guests are welcome to keep light food in the refrigerator for picnics, snacks and take out. But there is no way to heat food, the B&B does not have a full scale kitchen. It is, as described, a "Bed and Breakfast" (which is extensive and many guests save the home baked breads, and fresh fruit platter to eat throughout the day)
Most of all, I am so pleased that my guests are so satisfied with my offerings and that so many of them want to return to The Broad Meadow B&B again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
61
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Our second visit was just as enjoyable as our first.
Our hostess prepares not only daily fresh bread and a flavorful assortment of cut fresh fruit for your yogurt and cereal, but surprised us this year with a feta dill frittata that was wonderful. The freshly squeezed orange juice is a real treat.
We appreciate the central location of Marjory's home. Whether heading to Long Point or the bicycle trail or Edgartown we have a short car ride.
The misty pastoral view over the meadow each morning is enhanced by the soft calls of the birds.
The bed is comfy and we love the outdoor shower.
The use of the refrigerator is very handy as we bring most of our lunches.
It is always hard to leave Broad Meadow at the end of our stay!
Thank you Marjory for being such a gracious hostess.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJNuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was our first time in Martha's Vineyard and we chose to stay in Broad Meadow based on high rating on Tripadvisor.
This place is perfect for couples or small family. Its a separate unit from the Main building and hosts only one group of guests at a time. Access to beautiful backyard is such a plus, we spent most of our mornings lazing there reading books(yes, they have good collection of books!). Marjory, is a perfect host and was very helpful in suggesting restaurants, places and beaches to see. Free passes to couple of private beaches is a bonus
And last but not the least, sumptuous breakfast. She serves cold breakfast but the options are really amazing---Cereal, Home-made bread, freshly squeezed OJ, yogurt to name a few...

I will definitely recommend this place to anyone who is planning to make a trip to Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laxmi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My family and I had a wonderful experience at Broad Meadow B&B. The B&B is a private, well-appointed cottage adjacent to the owner's home, and while it is not large, there was plenty of space even with the four of us, including a small table and seating area. There is also a nice back yard area with chairs and table for relaxing or breakfast al fresco. Marjory was a superb and extremely helpful hostess who went out of her way to make sure we really enjoyed our stay, and breakfast was delicious and healthy! Some of the extra perks: a refrigerator for guest use, pass for Lambert's cove beach, beach towels, access to a great walking/biking trail just a few feet down the road from the property, and an outdoor shower (in addition to the one inside the cottage)! Good to know -- the B&B is very centrally located and close to the bike trail, but it would be a bit of a challenge without a car in terms of dining, beach access, etc. It could still be done by bicycle only if you're determined, but you would want to take a look at maps, etc. and plan out your trips to town accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, CT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Everything you want in a Vineyard retreat. It's basically your own, adorable, vineyard cottage--complete with a kitchen, large bedroom/living area and bathroom. The cottage is separate from the owner's home and Marjory (the best hostess ever) is there when you need her to be and gives you space to relax when you want, too. The grounds are GORGEOUS. The breakfast is tasty----yogurt, fresh squeezed juice, farm fresh eggs, yummy bread, and delicious fruit. The location is also ideal. It's right smack dab in the middle of the island and is 20 minutes or less to everywhere. We stayed 3 nights and felt like we saw all parts of the island. We LOVED the Broad Meadow B&B and will be back!!!! Thanks, Marjory :) Love Kristin & Sue

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeter2Kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Loved having our "own" cottage retreat on the island. We were so comfortable in this charming spot. With the comfy bed, lovely linens, plenty of blankets, and a futon made up for my 19 year old daughter we slept soundly every night! Marjory provided delicious breakfasts every morning with great coffee, fresh OJ, homemade bread, a fruit platter and a selection of jams and yogurt. Marjory made us feel right at home! Could have stayed so much longer!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodegraven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

What a wonderful B&B to stay! If you like nature, comfort, and hospitality this is the place to be. Marjory is a great hostess, and her breakfasts are better than in most 4 star hotels. It was our first trip to this region, but this MV experience certainly motivates to come back!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yvonne2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Tisbury
5.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
799 reviews
7.1 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.6 mi away
Hostelling International - Martha's Vineyard
7.8 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast
Address: 74 Elias Lane, PO Box 806, West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > West Tisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Tisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast is a unique year round B&B with private bath, on four and a half acres down a private road in West Tisbury. The one room, on the first floor of a large studio behind the owner’s main house, sleeps up to four people (two adults and two children). It is spacious and airy with a queen size bed. A double futon, ensconced in a sunny alcove, is for quiet sitting or for sleeping one or two children.An extensive continental breakfast, including home made breads, is left early each morning in an ante-room of the studio so that guests may eat in privacy at a time of their choosing.Our offerings include a pass to the popular and private Lambert's Cove Beach on Vineyard Sound, as well as a parking pass to Long Point Beach on the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast West Tisbury, Massachusetts, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing