We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect in every way. We will be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Tisbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 West Tisbury B&B and Inns
Jamestown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect in every way. We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Marjory is an extraordinary hostess and a lovely lady! She was so friendly and helpful from the beginning to the end – helping us to find the right dates to stay, giving tips on booking the ferry, suggesting what to bring with us and where to go, and even helping to add an extra night to our booking at the last minute. She had perfect suggestions for day outings, and restaurants to try at night.
The B&B itself is absolutely charming, and because there is only one ‘bed’ in this particular B&B, it feels more like your one’s own private vacation cottage. Centrally located on the island off a sweet little dirt road, the location made it convenient for driving to all ends of the island to explore the beauty all around. Broad Meadow B&B is bright, meticulously clean, spacious and comfortable. The accommodation is located in a small building separate, but adjacent to, Marjory’s family home. There were only two of us sharing the big comfy bed, but the large bedroom could fit a family of four (there is also a pull out futon). The back door leads to a private garden, complete with picnic table, reading chairs and a very inviting hammock overlooking a beautiful meadow. It was so peaceful and quiet - a heavenly sanctuary. :)
Marjory arrived each morning to quietly deliver a bountiful breakfast of homemade bread and jams, a selection of cut fruit, Greek yogurt, freshly ground coffee and just-squeezed orange juice. To this feast, she also added either a delicious frittata or blueberry pancakes (which were honestly the BEST we have ever had!)
Beach chairs, beach towels, beach passes, maps, picnic baskets and even a bicycle pump were offered for our use.
This was our first time in Martha’s Vineyard and it was absolutely perfect in every way. We can’t wait to go back and stay at Broad Meadow. We hope that there will be room for us at the Inn same time next year!
Greg and Jane

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
58
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Broad Meadow B&B is a lovely place to stay. Marjory knows how to make guests feel right at home. She also happens to make a mean frittata! If you are looking for peace and relaxation, this is the place for you. We would have been content to stay in the backyard on the hammock all day. We did rent a car, though, so we ventured out to Chilmark, Edgartown and Lambert's Cove Beach. Marjory has spoiled us - we are absolutely hooked and will not stay anywhere else on the Vineyard now!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFinney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This place is a lovely gem of a b&b in Martha's Vineyard. Very private and the hostess was sweet as can be and extremely attentive to anything we needed or questions we asked. Thanks! And the breakfasts were the best way to start the day! Hope to be back to the vineyard for a visit one day soon and will definitely stay here again if we do!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at Broad Meadow for five days and definitely did not want to leave. Between the beautiful scenery, the fresh made breakfasts, comfortable bed and wonderful hostess, Marjory. My husband and I decided to leave our car in Woods Hole and rely on the bus system and rental bikes from Anderson's (which they delivered to Broad Meadow), to get us around the island. If your someone who has an adventurous heart or wants to break away from the daily monotony I'd leave the car behind. Broad Meadow is right off the bike path and close to bus stops, one of which, in close walking distance (1/4 mile approx), the MV hostel. Marjory was very helpful and even gave us a ride to the bus stop early morning on our departure. We will definitely plan a trip back to Broad Meadow!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSDEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My family has been coming to the Vineyard for many years, always renting a house, but this time we were only going to be staying a few nights and wanted to be in West Tisbury in order to take full advantage of its central location and enjoy its beautiful beaches. The owner, Marjory, is such a pleasure to meet! Her enthusiasm and dedication to pleasing her guests are paramount. The breakfasts, served to us in our little cottage, were yummy. While we slept, Marjory quietly entered each morning with a loaf of fresh-baked country bread, still warm from the oven, and a delicious frittata or blueberry loaf. She left a supply of cereals, yogurts, fresh orange juice, lovely jams and cut fruits on a platter, hot coffee and tea, placed artfully on the counter in the separate, front kitchen (replete with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker), of our small, yet roomy abode. We loved the outdoor shower, (an absolute must for us whenever we visit the Island), and the hammock and picnic table set up in the bucolic meadow out back. Marjory has a vegetable garden she works hard at and is a fount of suggestions for restaurants and out-the-way beaches, such as the one at Long Point, so beautiful with the ocean on one side and the placid pond on the other. She supplied us with passes to it and to the beautiful Lambert's Cove Beach, along with maps to guide us. We hope to return, but we know that with all the 5-star reviews on Trip Advisor, we will have to plan well in advance to be fortunate enough to secure a reservation at this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: There is only one "room", which is actually a self-contained cottage with full bathroom, A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonBon46_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkp1964, Owner at The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
This is such a magnificent review I hate to quibble with any part of it. But I must note that there is NO microwave at The Broad Meadow. There is a toaster, a coffee maker, tea kettle and a refrigerator in the ante room where breakfast is left, so guests can have it at their leisure. Guests are welcome to keep light food in the refrigerator for picnics, snacks and take out. But there is no way to heat food, the B&B does not have a full scale kitchen. It is, as described, a "Bed and Breakfast" (which is extensive and many guests save the home baked breads, and fresh fruit platter to eat throughout the day)
Most of all, I am so pleased that my guests are so satisfied with my offerings and that so many of them want to return to The Broad Meadow B&B again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Our second visit was just as enjoyable as our first.
Our hostess prepares not only daily fresh bread and a flavorful assortment of cut fresh fruit for your yogurt and cereal, but surprised us this year with a feta dill frittata that was wonderful. The freshly squeezed orange juice is a real treat.
We appreciate the central location of Marjory's home. Whether heading to Long Point or the bicycle trail or Edgartown we have a short car ride.
The misty pastoral view over the meadow each morning is enhanced by the soft calls of the birds.
The bed is comfy and we love the outdoor shower.
The use of the refrigerator is very handy as we bring most of our lunches.
It is always hard to leave Broad Meadow at the end of our stay!
Thank you Marjory for being such a gracious hostess.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJNuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was our first time in Martha's Vineyard and we chose to stay in Broad Meadow based on high rating on Tripadvisor.
This place is perfect for couples or small family. Its a separate unit from the Main building and hosts only one group of guests at a time. Access to beautiful backyard is such a plus, we spent most of our mornings lazing there reading books(yes, they have good collection of books!). Marjory, is a perfect host and was very helpful in suggesting restaurants, places and beaches to see. Free passes to couple of private beaches is a bonus
And last but not the least, sumptuous breakfast. She serves cold breakfast but the options are really amazing---Cereal, Home-made bread, freshly squeezed OJ, yogurt to name a few...

I will definitely recommend this place to anyone who is planning to make a trip to Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laxmi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Tisbury
5.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
8.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
7.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
5.3 mi away
Charles & Charles
Charles & Charles
#1 of 11 in Vineyard Haven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast
Address: 74 Elias Lane, PO Box 806, West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > West Tisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Tisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast is a unique year round B&B with private bath, on four and a half acres down a private road in West Tisbury. The one room, on the first floor of a large studio behind the owner’s main house, sleeps up to four people (two adults and two children). It is spacious and airy with a queen size bed. A double futon, ensconced in a sunny alcove, is for quiet sitting or for sleeping one or two children.An extensive continental breakfast, including home made breads, is left early each morning in an ante-room of the studio so that guests may eat in privacy at a time of their choosing.Our offerings include a pass to the popular and private Lambert's Cove Beach on Vineyard Sound, as well as a parking pass to Long Point Beach on the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Broad Meadow Bed & Breakfast West Tisbury, Massachusetts, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing