We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Point Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was great value - our room was comfortable and quiet (towards the back of the hotel). The pool was lovely as was the jacuzzi. We had breakfast on one the days and it was delicious. Shame that they did not open in the evenings. It is a really good location for exploring the cape and we can thoroughly recommend a isit to Martha's Vineyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor towards the back of the hotel and facing the garden - we had room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

We loved the location. We enjoyed the cafe,great food very clean. The pool and hot tub were so relaxing and enjoyable after a long day . The personnel were very polite and always said a friendly "hello" . Rooms were comfortable,rates are reasonable. only negative would be minor,upgrade the Tv's.We Loved our stay,Will be Back!

Room Tip: first floor has sliders to go in and out easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

September is great on Cape Cod. It is hard to find a "new" hotel/motel for a reasonable price. The Cape Point was very reasonable. The service was very good and the breakfasts in the Cafe were excellent. The room had been updated and was fine. We stayed for three nights and had a great time. I used the gym but the only decent equipment was the treadmill. The pool was very clean and large with no one else using it. I would stay here again. Some TLC maintenance would help.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonG498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thank you for your review. We hope you return soon. We love hearing from happy guests.
Hopefully, you signed up for our mailing list which offers great deals in the off season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed one night.Very affordable which was a plus. The cafe for breakfast was good.It was a bit confusing about the towels for the pool,you had to give cards to get and return them to the desk and they were so thin, it was funny they treated them as gold.The A/C in our room had the knobs removed so we were freezing.The back slider out to the back fell out ! Just glad we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJFjcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

First, let me thank you for taking time to write a review. Secondly, I would like to clarify a couple of areas you disliked. The knobs on the a/c are gone because the thermostats are on the wall which are a energy conservation system that allow you to control the temperature with a digital system. The towel program was put in place only because we were losing $5000.00 a week in towels. The towels are an upgrade to the standard pool towel, and because of the program we can keep the price affordable as you stated. I checked into the incident about the slider falling off. It actually was the screen t the slider. We do have problems sometimes with screens falling off after guests open and close the screens often. A call to the front desk and maintenance makes a little adjustment to the wheels and they are fixed. again, thank you for writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed for two nights. Very affordable. Had the pool to ourselves for two days. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel cafe had a big assortment of waffles and pancakes and reasonably
priced breakfast menu. This time of year is great for a little vacation. School is in, the weather
is still great and no lines at the restaurants. Would stay here again since it is reasonably priced and not far from Hyannis and the ferry to Marthas vineyard.

Room Tip: Wasn't too pleased with Skippers Resaturant. Baked stuff shrimp was puny and vegetables were ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Where to start. Check in seemed fine even with a person in training. Then it went down hill. They gave us cards that we needed to hand in to the front desk for pool towels. The towels where very cheap. The room 225. The beds squeaked like grandma's old sofa. The room a/c had the switches removed so you couldn't adjust the a/c. We felt we paid $20 to much. No quality here. Hotel has two floors. stairs to room

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank compaq38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thank you for your review. I would like to respond to a couple of issues. The thermostats are on the wall. You are able to control heat and a/c from your room. We were losing $5000.00 a week in towels, guests take them to the beach and they never return. We do buy a upgraded pool towel as compared to the typical blue stripe pool towel which is half the size and twice as thin. We have purchased new beds for the entire property which will be completed shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel was recommended to us by some relatives. We used to stay at The Red Jacket Resorts but were tired of paying so much money for a mediocre resort on the beach. The Cape Point is much more affordable and a little newer. Even though the hotel isn't on the beach, the public beaches you can drive to are relatively close. Despite not being on the beach, it's located in a great location. There is so much to do -miniature golf, a driving range, go-karts and many great restaurants.

The rooms are spacious, updated, and pretty clean. Occasionally you might find a stray hair in the bathtub, but don’t expect everything to be perfect for the price you pay. In the last couple of years, we have noticed the hotel has continued to make improvements.The first time we stayed there were smoking rooms. The smoke smell used to linger througout the hallways. The second time we stayed, we noticed all the rooms were non-smoking and the smoke smell was gone. The hotel has seemed to hire a better cleaning staff as well- the bathroom sparkled and the room smelled really fresh.

The indoor pool is nice although it isn't as big as the red jacket inn pool. We love the outdoor pool. Its clean, setback, peaceful, and surrounded by trees, as opposed to many other hotels in the area that have "parking lot pools" In addition there is a convenient, affordable cabana bar which offers a diverse menu with great food.

During our most recent visit, we noticed new granite counter-tops in the bathroom, new bathroom tile, and much more comfortable mattresses. I realize other reviews have mentioned that the staff is cold and unhelpful. However almost every person that we encountered (especially the third time) was really friendly. For example, on the first night of our stay, the air conditioner began leaking and making funny noises. We called the front desk and within 10 minutes two really nice maintenance men came up and fixed the problem right away. But perhaps what surprised us even more about the staff was during checkout. We left a day early due the hurricane approaching the cape. We assumed that we were going to lose the money for the 4th night. But without even asking, a very personable woman behind the front desk deducted the 4th night rate.

You can’t go wrong staying at this hotel. Best of all the hotel is very affordable, even in the summer. That's why we will continue go back...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BMW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,276 reviews
2.5 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#9 of 20 in West Yarmouth
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Address: 476 Route 28, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range: £49 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large inn with indoor and outdoor pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cape Point
Cape Point West Yarmouth
Cape Point Hotel Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing