We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Point Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here in mid-September for a single night as part of a four-day bike trip.

Hotel itself was perfectly fine, they even have a nice little fish pond at the main entrance.

Rooms were nice, clean, and as expected. Shampoo and soap provided. We did find a few strands of women's hair in random places in the room, but it wasn't a huge gross-out moment.

Thermostat was a little weird. It shut off the air conditioning when it was too hot (despite out efforts to the contrary) and turned it on when it was too cold at night.

We also took advantage of their pool and hot tub, which were in a pleasantly warm room. The water was clean and clear. One interesting note is that the pool room is right under the upstairs bar, which gives you a good view from the bar of the pool and vice versa, which might creep some people out.

You can walk to restaurants nearby, but anything besides breakfast is at least half a mile away and it's dimly lit at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks for the nice review, regarding the pool, most people enjoy the bar overlooking the pool, kind of like an indoor tiki bar. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    158
    92
    55
    36
See reviews for
210
129
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Adams, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I spent three nights and four days at the Cape Point Hotel. The room was clean and
neat and the service was excellent. The Cafe they have for breakfast was beautiful. The food was
great and very reasonable. We had a problem with the reservations we made on line and Steve
Haskell,the GM,took care of straightening out everything and making our stay memorable. This
was our second year staying here, and when we come to the Cape again we will surely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks for the kind words, we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smoky Mountain, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Don't get me wrong. The staff is very nice here and the breakfast food is very good. But the hotel is older. The rooms are quiet old and have a musty scent to them. The carpet needs to be replaced in the rooms. They do have an indoor and outdoor pool, a weight room, ect. The rooms just need to be updated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krr1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank You for your comments, I noticed you were on a bus tour, and was glad to see that the comments from your tour on the survey sheets before you left were all favorable towards the hotel.
I was surprised about your comments on the rooms, Our carpets are less than 3 years old and all bathrooms were tiled within the last 2 years along with all new beds.Again thanks for visiting Cape Cod and I hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Good friends, my wife and I booked two rooms next to each other. (to facilitate partying and planning day trips) We had originally planned to book two rooms in Boston for our, "grand finale",but changed our minds. There were too many things we wanted to see and do. Steve Haskell, the General Manager, made it possible to keep our two rooms another day.This saved us a schlep to another room and allowed us to maximize our stay. Cape Point Hotel is so full of different amenities. There's an Arcade for all ages on the lower level and a Koi pond with waterfall. The indoor pool is large with a bar/lounge nicely perched above looking out over same.There is an outdoor pool, tables and chairs with a Tiki Bar. The indoor Café has a complete breakfast menu and is a great time saver. Most Restaurants in the area require a 30 to 40 minute wait. A really good place to bring family and friends. Can't say enough good things about Steve and staff.

Room Tip: If traveling with children book close to the Arcade and Koi pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRC121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank You for a nice review, we enjoyed having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squantum
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have stayed at The Cape Point a few different times , we went back again in August and once again we were not disappointed. The staff is very accomodating, Steve Haskell the GM always walks around making sure everyone is well taken care of. The rooms are clean and we love the 1st floor with its access to your outside patio. The location is perfect you can walk to everything there is to do along main street. The breakfast cafe was incredible and very affordable. The indoor pool with its Sports bar was perfect on the rainy day. On the sunny days the outdoor pool and its Tiki bar for lunch or an early dinner was awesome !! We cant wait to go back in January with all our friends for the Wild Card weekend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank You for the nice review, looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I thought this hotel would be acceptable due to its ranking but I was mistaken. The carpeted floor in our room was quishy wet. At first, I thought it had been shampooed and was still wet because the room stank of cleaner. We did some investigating and discovered there was a leak under the sink. We asked for another room but the only room offered was next to a raucous party, which was strange because the hotel is vast. So we spent the night in our moldy room, and I developed a massive sinus infection the next day. The next morning we were interrupted during our morning ablutions-brushing my teeth without the sink, btw- by a couple of big guys repairing the sink. We were offered no discount. I'd say the price is steep for a room like this, oh and you should know this area around and in Hyannis is very depressed, it is not a vacation destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your comments, and I do apologize for the mishap with the sink. With 116 rooms and 116 sinks we do have some plumbing problems once in a while. The policy of this Hotel is, if a guest has a problem due to the Hotel having a physical or service issue, and management confirms the problem, than compensation is made. Again thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I spent four nights in this hotel at the end of a three week holiday in Cape Cod. The rest of the time was spent with family and rental vacation homes which were fantastic, so The Cape Point had a lot to compete with. Being such a good budget price, we were not expecting it to be very exciting, and were completely impressed. Our room was a great size, patio doors onto the green grass, clean, comfortable beds and a wonderful arrangement of sink in room, leaving bath and toilet separate (no foggy mirrors while trying to shave!!!).
We loved the pool, which was so accesssible to our room. Also the parking was really close by, no lugging cases miles!!
From our first meeting at the front desk, Steve could not have been more helpful or friendly.
Breakfast was delicious and good value. The waitresses were all friendly and good at their job.
Serving breakfast until 11 every morning added to that holiday feel.
The AC was superb. Totally reactive and not very noisy.
We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We liked being close to one of the entrances, as we didn't have to walk miles to our car. also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerciHor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks, hope you cross the pond soon and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
2.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#8 of 22 in Hyannis
543 reviews
2.4 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#10 of 20 in West Yarmouth
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Property: Cape Point Hotel
Address: 476 Route 28, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large inn with indoor and outdoor pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cape Point
Cape Point West Yarmouth
Cape Point Hotel Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing