We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quilting Retreat at the Cape Point” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Point Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Monson, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quilting Retreat at the Cape Point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our group of 28 quilters have had our past two wonderful quilting retreats at the Cape Point. Along with the nice hotel rooms, we had two large conference rooms to use for our retreat; one large room accommodated all 28 of us with our sewing machines, etc. and the other room was used for meal times, cutting fabric, ironing, demonstrations, and other activities. We had breakfast each morning in the hotel café which was included in our package. It was the perfect place to hold a retreat! We even had a banquet in the café on our last night ~ prime rib which was excellent! The staff couldn't have been nicer to work with. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of organizing a quilt retreat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    152
    88
    54
    34
See reviews for
201
127
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I've been visiting the cape for over 15 years. I came as a child with my family, and later returned as I got older with my fiance. I've always enjoyed coming to the Cape and almost every time have stayed at the Cape Point. I've noticed that the prices on the hotel have continued to increase each year with little else changing (besides the indoor pool being remodeled). The game room has had the same games since I was little, the rooms seem to be getting more worn, the locks on the sliding doors remain broken and just overall everything is beginning to look dated. I have been ignoring most of this because of nostalgia. But this summer I couldn't continue to ignore what was happening.

First off, there were dead wood beetles on the carpet. Some looked as if they had been there for years. It was disgusting and made me wonder what else in the room hadn't been cleaned. There was definitely a lot of dust and overall everything looked worn. Wallpaper was coming off the wall, there were cracks in the bathroom tile and a lack of lighting made the whole place look dreary. In addition to this, the maid service was lacking. The rooms were cleaned in an untimely manner (as in rooms weren't cleaned by almost 3:30 in the afternoon!) even after placing the sign that said please clean as soon as possible. We thought this was because we were towards the end of the hallway but when sitting out at the outdoor pool there was a whole group of people complaining about the fact that rooms were still not cleaned. Also, we were told to leave towels we didn't want on the floor and we would receive new ones. I understand there is a policy about saving water, but when towels ARE put on the floor I would expect new ones to replace them. However, this didn't happen. Towels were just refolded and put back on the rack (they were still wet from the morning so I know they weren't new.)

Also I was highly disappointed in the Cafe. This was one of the best parts of staying here, being able to leisurely stroll down and eat a simple breakfast. First, it seemed like the prices went up quite a bit. Next the egg omelet I ordered tasted like it had been cooked in a microwave and my fiance's scrambled eggs tasted like they were made from a powder. I understand trying to save money, but in my opinion it's not by cutting back on food service.

Then what really bothered me was that my parents were staying in the Mariner (which is run by the same people as the Cape Point and Town N' Country) and they were paying about half of what we were per night and received not only better service but had the same amenities. I went over and their room looked the same down to the wallpaper and bedding and according to my parents the rooms were cleaned promptly. I guess if you want to stay on the strip, you're better off staying there.

Needless to say, my time with the Cape Point has come to an end. I have no problem paying higher rates for a better experience, unfortunately it's not happening in this case. Prices continue to increase and the hotel is becoming drearier and drearier.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
I am very surprised at your experience here at The Cape Point. First our lobby fish pond is not in competition with Boston Aquarium. Second our breakfast Cafe gets nothing but rave reviews. Janet the chef uses nothing but the freshest ingredients. Powdered eggs have never touched her kitchen. Prices, three egg omelette $6.95, 2 eggs choice of meat $5.50, Banana walnut pancakes $5.95. I believe we are very competitive price wise. Do to the fact we have ground floor rooms with sliders that open to the outside, we do have a situation with beetles getting into the rooms. Again I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Due to a busy 3 day weekend we were limited in our hotel accommodations and the affordability aspect. The room was big but smelled. Paper thin walls could hear everything. Only microwave is at the front desk. Lots of families for sporting events! Very noises. And not good housekeeping. Spend a little more money and get a better room!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TC c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel, and had no complaints. Our room was huge, and clean, if a little tired
The location was great too, and the pool and hot tub were large, clean , and we had a relaxing time there
Plenty of places around to eat , with a dunkin donuts at the back door
Try Ann and Frans across the road for breakfast . Amazing good home cooked food served with a smile

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crocusgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cape Point while waiting for our new house to be ready. Their are 2 pools, and Dunkin Donuts nearby. That said, the rest is mediocre at best. Indoor pool is warm to hot--salt water filtered--whatever that means--I couldn't get a straight answer from staff. Pool is used by town programs, which means a lot of activity M-F from @8-10. Outdoor pool is ok; outdoor "tiki" style bar was never staffed that I saw, and I think (I would hope?) it was under some sort of renovation? Rooms are ok. Not great/not bad. Staff friendly but front office a bit clueless, and maintenance staff clearly from The Shining--lurking around a lot down by the "game room" (most "games" were old and change machine broken). The Indoor "koi" pond was weird--huge fish in half of the water area--cool to look down (atrium) from the front desk, but up close, from downstairs, the area was VERY grubby with old fish food studded rocks. Could have been nicer--but too dark, no plants, lots of pipes visible. No Boston Aquarium for sure! When I asked for ownership info, no one seemed to know. ( I was curious about corporate owner.). Parking good. On busy Rte 28, but walkmg distance to CHRISTMAS TREE SHOP (yay!), "water park" for kids, ice cream. Not close enough to walk to Beach no matter what they say (at least 1.5 miles to TINY Englewood beach.). Good budget hotel with pools.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidCapeAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Room was clean comfortable and well appointed. The staff was polite, helfull and eager to please. The breakfast was excellent and the staff always ready to help . Cape Cod Hotel is a hotel providing Bed and Breakfast quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cape Point Hotel on September 21, 2013. We needed a place to park my 28 foot car trailer overnight and the staff great with helping us find secure parking. The room was clean and simple. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful. We are planning a trip next year about the same time . We hope to. stay at the Cape Point Hotel. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cove at Yarmouth
The Cove at Yarmouth
#4 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#8 of 22 in Hyannis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#10 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Property: Cape Point Hotel
Address: 476 Route 28, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large inn with indoor and outdoor pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cape Point
Cape Point West Yarmouth
Cape Point Hotel Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing