We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Point Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
stateof NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I have been coming to this hotel for over 20 years and at one point this was the only place we would stay, but I must admit we are trying other places. Pros- happy memories with children, grandchildren and as a couple. The indoor pool is warm and is enjoyed by all. Close to shopping and places to eat. Lower price, but you get what you pay. Cons--over the summer two of us -one adult and one child got glass in our feet at the indoor pool. We immediately reported it to the office and someone was sent to clean up the area. It is unfortunate that an inconsiderate guest did not follow the rules and brought a glass beer bottle into the pool area. It would have been nice if they cleaned up the broken glass or at least reported it. I asked to speak with a manager and left two messages and never received a call back. As a business owner, I find that unacceptable. The website states that all the beds are new, so maybe I haven't been in a room that was updated, but I have woken up many times with a stiff back. Although many of the rugs are new, they look dirty and smell. Guests can be rude and stomp around on the second floor and allow their children to run around yelling--unattended in the hallways. I have smelled smoke and reported it on several occasions. I understand this is a family hotel and kids r kids, but parents need to remember that there are other people sharing the space. There does appear to be new office staff. The two women who worked there in the past did not take any nonsense and supported keeping the hotel a safe, peaceful place for everyone to enjoy. I feel bad writing this review, but think it is only fair that other guests hear about different people 's experiences. I honestly don't know if we will be staying there again. I am hoping that things improve.

Room Tip: A few rooms smell moldy. If anyone has allergies I would suggest looking the room over prior to chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KandA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I am very sorry if management did not get back to you regarding the glass in the pool area. Their must have been a miscommunication somewhere during that time. The Hotel is non smoking however if someone just steps outside and smokes the wind can blow it right back inside and it smells like someone smoking in the room or hotel.100% of the Hotel has new mattresses. Some guests want to buy them from us, some feel they are to firm. Beds are a tricky product for all Hotels.We do work hard to let guest know they have to be respectful of other guests, however when we do we sometimes get accused of being rude. Again thank you for your comments and I hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    152
    88
    54
    34
See reviews for
201
127
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This was your average hotel theme. Very basic room, no coffee maker, no microwave just a tiny fridge that smelled. Very nice indoor pool, nice temp and nice hot tub! Pretty koi pond. Room was clean though. Nice if on a budget, but not close to a beach. Don't think I'll be back again but overall was nice!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxine34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capepointcc, General Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for the comments. Regarding coffee and microwave, we do have 24 hour complimentary coffee in the lobby along with a microwave.As far as near the beach you are right and the difference in our rate versus Hotels on the beach reflect that. Thanks again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is not a luxury hotel, and does not charge luxury rates. We found the Cape Point to be altogether satisfactory for our intents and purposes: a short getaway during Spring vacation. The room was small, and so was the TV; but we did not intend to spend our vacation indoors watching television. Everything was crisp, very clean, and neat. The staff was not especially friendly or welcoming (with the exception of our waitress at the Cafe, Heather), but neither were they rude or incompetent. The indoor pool was wonderful, and we got excellent breakfasts at decent prices. The location was very convenient. And the room price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rice308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_S41922, Manager at Cape Point Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your comments.We do have larger deluxe and two bedroom suites available.However, our standard rooms are the typical size room that is available in Yarmouth.We are in the process of changing our tv s to HD 32 inch .We took your comment on not a very friendly hotel very seroiusly.It was discussed in an emergency meeting with the management team. We hope your next stay with us will be remembered by the helpful and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Every time I go to Cape Point, I am always welcomed from the moment I come in, until I leave. The staff, restaurant, and overall experience is one I always talk about with others. Whenever i go to Yarmouth, I choose this Hotel because of my enjoyment, the view, and location.
Thank you

Room Tip: I can only say that I enjoy every room in this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have been going to the Cape Point for a few years now. Each year it get's worse. The front desk staff could barely speak English and had no math skills. We had a coupon for a free night and they could not figure out how to subtract a night. And that was after arguing with us about using it! The tv was old and small. The NCAA basketball tournament was on CBS and no tv in the place could get CBS reception. Kids ran up and down the hallways yelling and slamming doors at all hours. Someone in the room below us kept bouncing a ball off their ceiling(our floor) for hours. The carpeting is old and dirty and the heater is extremely noisy. We will NOT be going back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have been visiting the Cape Point for the last seven years and this year was the worst stay by far! When we first arrived the front desk staff acted annoyed by our arrival in general. After being checked in to our room, we found several issues. The sliding door did not lock, the tv was tiny and the cable worked occationally, the safe was not working and neither was the remote, the carpet was stained and dingy and the bathroom ceiling was disgusting. We were in a rush to be at a commitment so we decided to grin and bear the issues. When returning to the hotel later all we could smell was "weed" smoke. This went on the entire weekend even with a strict no smoking policy the hotel claims to have. If we could smell this it would be hard for me to believe that the staff could not smell it as well. We don't mind if someone smokes, just go outside like everyone else! The next evening I was walking with my youngest daughter after using the microwave, she was lagging behind me, when a staff member advised her she was not supposed to be in the halls after 10 pm and if she didn't get to her room she was going to physically put her in her room. My daughter was mortified as was I! How dare a staff member suggest physically touching my child! When she realized that my daughter was in fact with an adult, she ducked away quickly before she could be addressed. How disrespectful to your guests! This is the last time we will be visiting......

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jyknprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked a weekend away for our family of 6 and we were thrilled at the large and clean room accommodations. The the pool area was great entertainment for our children and provided a relaxing atmosphere for the adults. I have already booked my stay for next year and will recommend this location to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Corner suites were perfect for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
The Cove at Yarmouth
The Cove at Yarmouth
#4 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#8 of 22 in Hyannis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#13 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Property: Cape Point Hotel
Address: 476 Route 28, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large inn with indoor and outdoor pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cape Point
Cape Point West Yarmouth
Cape Point Hotel Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing