We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal for a decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hunters Green Motel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night during our visit to Cape Cod. This hotel is cheap and good for a bargain traveler. We didn't spend much time at the hotel as we were out and about most of the day, so it did the job for us in terms of having a place to sleep for the night. Can't rave about it as it's on the older side, but it's decent for the price. It was more or less clean. It's also in a good location right in the center of Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycmd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at Hunters Green In July. This hotel exceeded our expectations. It was clean, quiet, staff was nice, good pool. No smell in rooms which we were afraid of. Highly recommend for any budget traveler. Location is great also, close to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanpol99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Husband and I just came home from a mini Cape getaway. Hunter's Green Motel is reasonable and very clean. After I booked my reservations I was a little nervous after reading some of the July reviews. We got checked in by a very friendly blond girl and went to our King room. Very clean, maids are very helpful and courteous. Room was made up every day, so when we got back from breakfast it was done. They serve coffee in the morning and afternoon which I thought was a nice touch. Muffins, but you have to be fast, lol, but we go out to breakfast so it wasn't a problem at all. The pool is well maintained and heated, very enjoyable and plenty of towels for all. This property was just bought I was told in March. I think they are doing a good job and are very personable. I will go there again.

Room Tip: We like a king room on the first level. Just our personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodeIslandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

At $75/night during a high season weekend in the Cape, this motel is a very good deal. As many people have said, this hotel is dated, but our room is very clean. The A/C works properly, the mini fridge is clean and cold, the lights are adequate, the TV is old CRT-style (but we didn't use it), and there is adequate closet and drawer space for all your belongings. The bed is a bit firm but my sleep was comfortable. The big gripe is that there doesn't seem to be much sound insulation. You can hear people taking shower, flushing toilet, and walking on top of you. Ear plugs are necessary for late and light sleepers. Motel is very conveniently located off Rt 28 (and thus you can hear fire and police sirens at night) and within 5 minutes of Dunkin' Donuts, CVS, fast food, etc. We live here in Massachusetts and have stayed at several inexpensive motels at the Cape, and this is one of the best ones for the money.

Room Tip: There are no elevator so choose a ground floor room away from the street if you have a lot of luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0n_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our stay at the Hunters Green Motel was motivated by a need to find a cheap-ish place to crash for a quick night in the high season of summer before heading on to Nantucket. If you find yourself in similar circumstances and in need of a budget motel, then this is a perfectly acceptable choice for you, but if you want any other frills, I might suggest looking elsewhere.

We recently made a trip to Nantucket and given that we'd be arriving in to Cape Cod just before midnight on a Thursday night, we decided to book one night in a hotel/motel close to where the ferry departed so we could get the first ferry in the morning. We opted for the Hunters Green Motel because it was the cheapest available option we could find in the Hyannis/West Yarmouth area with only 2-3 weeks' notice ($88 total for a Thursday night) and we knew we wouldn't be doing anything more than crashing before departing again (indeed, less than seven hours elapsed between our check in and check out).

I cannot speak to the amenities on offer by the hotel or even really say what the hotel looks like in broad daylight, but what we did see was enough for me to know that it's a very standard motel. I probably wouldn't recommend this location for a longer stay, unless you're in the situation where you're traveling with pets, as I bet your options are limited and I know this motel does have pet-friendly rooms. It was supremely easy to park and check-in. The host was quite nice and efficient, pointing out our room through the window. When my significant other went back about twenty minutes later to ask for insider tips on the morning ferry, the fellow was quite knowledgeable and helpful.

We stayed in the first floor room that was closest to the pool, which accounts for the chlorine smell, but the dampness in the room and in the carpeting was entirely due to the mini-fridge that had been dethawed and turned off, presumably to leak a bit. I kept my shoes on at all times while walking about anywhere in the room. The bed was incredibly firm and large but seemed clean, if not cozy. The bathroom was divided so the sink and mirror were tucked behind a partition but always open to the room while the shower/bath and toilet were in a separate, tiny space with a door that closed but had a strip of the faux wood paneling that had ripped away. The word "institutional" comes to mind. Not the best impression, but at least the bath, strip of plastic shower curtain, toilet, and sink appeared clean. Towels were small and scratchy but clean. Overall, these are budget motel rooms that could use updating.

Here's the thing -- we needed this room for a quick evening stop before moving on and this was easy to find, felt safe, and was relatively cheap. It's a motel and so it's what you'd expect, with slightly better hospitality. These rooms aren't meant for charming getaways; they're meant to be a place you sleep while spending your days elsewhere. It delivered on everything we needed, even if the dampness in the room was a definite negative. If we did this trip again in the exact same fashion, I'd be fine staying here again, though I'd probably check around other places to see if anything else was available for a comparable price. And we'd still make a point of checking out early for that first ferry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedheadedWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

you have to question negative reviews as we were just there and our room was clean and well appointed for a value rated motel. We arrived and the office guys were very courteous and helpful as I has misread the payment email. WiFi is strong in and around the office. The pool is a perfect size and very clean with plenty of towels. Coffee in the morning was strong, good and complimentary. Super value in the heart of the cape.

Room Tip: All rooms are walking distance to pool and RT 28.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank My_viewNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. The room smelled terrible, the carpet was gross, the air conditioner was loud, the beds were hard and the bathroom was small and dark. The service was okay. Overall this was a terrible hotel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quickaskzoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.3 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
500 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#13 of 20 in West Yarmouth
497 reviews
0 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#9 of 20 in West Yarmouth
484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yarmouth Resort
Yarmouth Resort
#5 of 20 in West Yarmouth
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Green Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Green Motel

Address: 553 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4999
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range: £49 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hunters Green Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunters Green Motel has been a family owned and operated facility for 45+ Years. We take pride in our friendly and attentive staff that make you feel right at home while you are enjoying Cape Cod. Our 74+ Guest rooms with a combination of King Bed or 2 Double Beds are designed to meet every family's needs. Our one of a kind pool is a must see where you can swim indoors as well as outdoors at the same time. Our in ground 10 Person Jacuzzi with massaging heads will help you unwind after your long day around Cape Cod. Hunters Green is located centrally in West Yarmouth on route 28 less than 2 miles from Seagull Beach, Englewood Beach and Bass River. Plenty of Bars, Restaurants, shopping are available in walking distance. Plenty of activities to keep kids entertained are also in walking distance including the Inflatable water park 0.2 miles away, Pirates cove Mini Golf, Ryan's bowling center and Arcade, Bumper Cars, Batting cages and plenty more. Hunters Green is centrally located to all your needs from children to adults. Call Hunters Green to plan your getaway to the beautiful Cape Cod. *Minimum check in age is 21. *Children over the age of 12 are considered adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hunters Green Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Green Hotel West Yarmouth
Hunters Green Motel Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing