We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed by new owners....ruined a legacy....name should be changed.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hunters Green Motel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Booking our usual family vacation this past summer as always and when we got there we were extremely disappointed. The new owners clearly have no idea how to treat returning families and customers of more than 25/30 years. After coming since we were little and knowing and building a relationship with the Green's it's sad to see these new owners ruin such a great place. Very disrespectful people that own this place now. Granted the prices are much cheaper then others. The rooms have always been a little outdated with decorating but we never cared. We loved coming here because it was such a family place. Now it is definitely not. I really hope that the Green's ask these new owners to change the name because it is becoming tainted. The amount of people who were coming and going because of the way they were being treated was insane. I am sure we will never be coming back here again. Very sad......end of an amazing era.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SMD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersGreen123, General Manager at Hunters Green Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience here at Hunters Green Motel after so many years. We would like to know in detail what were your bad experiences so we can make every effort to resolve them. We are in the process of renovating Hunters Green Inside out and if you do come visit, you will see the difference. We are again very sorry for your experience but hope to see you again.

Thank You
Hunters Green Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Hunters Green Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Returned to this hotel again after an amazing stay last time - you simply cannot beat this hotel for price and value. Other hotels are 2-3 times more expensive - this hotel is clean, comfortable, and you'll get a great nights sleep. I regularly visit here on business and this is my go to hotel. I don't get why people have negative reviews here - I mean what do you expect for a hotel for $70/night?! It's an absolute bargain compared to other hotels in the area. And in my opinion price vs value - this hotel is a stand-out. The location is perfect and just around the corner from Basil Thai which is a great thai restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kawoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The motel had extremely good pricing and it was in a convenient location so we decided to try it. The room itself was fairly clean and the beds were comfortable. However, the room decor was extremely dated and the room had this old musty smell to it. The walls were also extremely thin so the room could get quite chilly and it was quite noisy in the morning from other rooms and the parking lot.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Miles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The room decor was terribly outdated. The carpets had stains, there was an odor in the room, the caulking in the tub was falling away, and when the front door was closed there was a gap along the side below the doorknob. I know the prices were cheap but this goes beyond cheap. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sled031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

For the price that we payed, this was very good value motel. Our room was clean and spacious enough; bed spreads were white and clean (which gave the otherwise a bit outdated decor a nice touch) and there really was nothing to complain about considering this is a motel.
Location is good (the best breakfast place Keltic Kitchen is less than a mile away) and there is coffee available until 10 pm and in the morning.
We would stay here again if visited Cape Cod area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had been staying at the Hunters Green for at least 25 years and have some wonderful memories of our stays there and the wonderful family that ran it. Sadly everything must come to an end. The hotel has always been a little dated but the facilities were squeaky clean, the property kept up and the pool and Jacuzzi sparkling.
I wish I could say that about the Hunters Green now. I made my annual 4th of July stay through the property itself and asked for a specific room in which we usually stayed. I was told that would be fine and everything was set when I rechecked the reservation several days before our stay. Well, when we get there we are told we are in a totally different room on the second floor? I asked them what happened to our requested room and was told the previous owners had changed our room.....an obvious lie. We have know them for years and were always accommodated when we had specific requests. The new owners had changed the room for some reason and never seeing us before had no way of knowing if we were elderly or disabled in any way. We had requested a room on the first floor at the end of the first building. During our stay it was immediately evident that the hotel had changed after the sale. Our room was not thoroughly cleaned and the sheets appeared to have been used already. We missed room cleaning 2 out of 3 mornings even though we were out by 10 a.m. They maid never showed up!!! When I went to the office another excuse was offered but not before I was totally ignored by the new owner talking to a person obviously price checking the rates. It is apparent that the brothers who bought the hotel do not know the golden rule of hotel management....treat your returning customers well they are the bread and butter of your hotel. He was so busy trying to impress the person, who by the way did not take a room. We found a lot of people who were not staying there coming to use the pool and many young children with diapers were put into the pool and Jacuzzi with their parents these were very small babies who probably should not be in the pool at all.....it also appeared that a lot of the owners friends were there cooking out all day creating massive clouds of smoke, listening to blaring music from their cars and using the pool. At the end of the day there was a mass departure of people not staying at the hotel leaving in their cars. We witnessed this everyday of our 5 day stay and became familiar with who was not staying there.There were cups, Dunkin Coffee cups and other trash all around the place which never happened before.
The owners need a crash course in Hotel/Motel management and to put some $$ into renovations. Maids need to be instructed on how to clean a room properly and change the sheets. All in all this hotel is on it's way down and circling the drain. I would never stay here again. We do not expect special treatment but we do expect a clean room and surroundings.
Beware this place will be a by the hour motel soon if something isn't done.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank edodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Had mixed feelings about this motel because of some of the negative reviews. My boyfriend and I stayed here September 19 - 24 and overall we were pleasantly pleased. The check in prices was very quick and our room was clean and taken care of daily. Yes, the rooms could use a little updating but really how much time do you actually spend in your room. If you are on vacation you are probably out most of the day and just want a good place to sleep. The price was fantastic for the amount of time we stayed. The hot tub/ whirlpool was extremely relaxing......just what we were looking for. A no haggle checkout process was the end to a great stay. We will most likely be staying here again next year if the price and accommodations remain the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lislak87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
494 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.5 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#14 of 20 in West Yarmouth
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Yarmouth Resort
Yarmouth Resort
#5 of 20 in West Yarmouth
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#9 of 20 in West Yarmouth
479 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge West Yarmouth Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Green Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Green Motel

Address: 553 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4999
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range: £45 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hunters Green Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunters Green Motel has been a family owned and operated facility for 45+ Years. We take pride in our friendly and attentive staff that make you feel right at home while you are enjoying Cape Cod. Our 74+ Guest rooms with a combination of King Bed or 2 Double Beds are designed to meet every family's needs. Our one of a kind pool is a must see where you can swim indoors as well as outdoors at the same time. Our in ground 10 Person Jacuzzi with massaging heads will help you unwind after your long day around Cape Cod. Hunters Green is located centrally in West Yarmouth on route 28 less than 2 miles from Seagull Beach, Englewood Beach and Bass River. Plenty of Bars, Restaurants, shopping are available in walking distance. Plenty of activities to keep kids entertained are also in walking distance including the Inflatable water park 0.2 miles away, Pirates cove Mini Golf, Ryan's bowling center and Arcade, Bumper Cars, Batting cages and plenty more. Hunters Green is centrally located to all your needs from children to adults. Call Hunters Green to plan your getaway to the beautiful Cape Cod. *Minimum check in age is 21. *Children over the age of 12 are considered adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hunters Green Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Green Hotel West Yarmouth
Hunters Green Motel Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing