We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mariner Motor Lodge
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Orange, Connecticut
Level Contributor
274 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Good second visit”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our second stay at this motel. While it doesn't offer all of the amenities that some other places offer it is more than adequate for the price paid. It is a good location where there is some good dining within walking distance. We particularly like the Yarmouth House which is almost next door. While our room could have used some updating it was clean and adequate. The A/C unit can be noisey but that is common with in the wall units. The coffee offered in the morning was good and my opinion better than the in room coffee pots usually offered.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryRCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    168
    83
    39
    22
See reviews for
205
132
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is my third stay at the Mariner and I am always impressed. It's a charming, extremely reasonable, easy breezy place. The staff at the front desk are warm and accommodating. Very important: The pool is gargantuan and clean--in this area, there are a lot of pools and most of them are not this immaculate. Or big.

And the setting is ideal. Route 28 is ideal and there is so much nearby, but at the same time, the property is lush. This is great if you like to look out the window and see green grass or if you have kids and want to be able to take them outside.

The rooms are ample and everything works. Good shampoo, too. The AC is powerful and it's a joy to be able to open the sliding glass door and get a nice breeze. This is great value, unbeatable location.

Room Tip: It seems like it might be more quiet if you are facing the pool instead of the parking lot. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastwest139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for one night since we were going to a concert at the Cape Cod Melody Tent. Room was average and very clean. Front desk staff were very pleasant and checked us into our room around 2pm. They have an indoor and outdoor pool with very nice grounds. Would recommend this hotel to others for a very affordable stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed the weekend at the Mariner. It was clean, quiet and relaxing. We stayed in the back of the complex and the only complaint was that the Wi-Fi did not reach the back rooms. But other than that we had a good weekend and will stay there again in the future. I have joined their email club and receive their specials. The front desk as well as the cleaning personnel were courteous and fun to talk to throughout our stay......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdcyagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I visited the hotel in May 2014 and stayed 4 nights. The rooms were clean, the staff was helpful, bathrooms were small but clean, indoor and outdoor pools. Affordable. Good place to stay - centrally located to attractions on the Cape.

Room Tip: Inside rooms face the outdoor swimming pool. Outside rooms face the parking lot. Quieter at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEKGlenRockPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed over the Memorial Day weekend for 3 nights. Absolutely great! The indoor pool was really warm and the hot tub was great. Very close to everything. One of the staff members, Karen, could not be beat! She was so accommodating and had a wonderful personality. Will definitely stay there again next time we travel to the Cape.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacation259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel was really really bad. I can not in good faith recommend it. We came for Memorial day weekend and I called to let them know we were arriving late. We were given a room with a sliding door to the parking lot which was nice. Unfortunately there was a giant pile of dog poop right outside the door. Who wants to clean dog poop up at 1 in the morning. I felt I needed to so not to track it into the hotel. When we said something at the desk the response was what can we do we can't control where dogs stay. No apology or thank you for taking care of it. It was obvious they did not check the room before we arrived because the refrigerator was turned off and there were hairs on the sheets. Don't count on muffins because on Monday they did not get any for the guests. We complained and the owner Henry authorized them to get some for us. It was after we went out and got the kids breakfast. I asked to speak to the owner who is not on site but never heard form him. Go to another hotel. There are plenty that will appreciate your business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bobby720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capecent, Owner at Mariner Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
The Mariner Motor Lodge is a family run business that strives to give great value and service to our guests. Before check out, this Guest came down to the office and demanded that we give her $100 or she would post a bad review on TripAdvisor. We do everything possible to satisfy a guest, however, it is not our policy to buy reviews from guests, or refund guests based on the threat that they will to write a bad review of our hotel. We find this unacceptable, and not how the process of reviewing a hotel should work. We believe the review contained some inaccuracies that are addressed in our response below.

We do not allow pets on our property, and have never had an incident as described by this guest. Our night auditor did not deem the poop to be an emergency situation and decided to stay in the office and check in late arriving guests. He logged the incident for our maintenance staff to address first thing in the morning. All our rooms are checked, and our refrigerators are unplugged to save on energy. When plugged in they cool down quickly. Furthermore, I spoke with the Head Housekeeper, the Night Auditor, and checked the maintenance logs; there was never a complaint of hair in the sheets.

To imply that there were no muffins on Monday is not correct. We went through 17 dozen muffins that morning and, unfortunately, ran out. We were already in the process of getting more muffins by the time the Guest complained. Our Front Desk Manager told the Guest we were getting more. The Guest and her family was offered a complimentary full breakfast at our sister property,a tenth of a mile down the road, so they would not have to wait to eat. The Guest refused the free breakfast. Once we replaced our muffins, we brought some down to the Guest’s room. The Guest then refused them again, and said that they had already eaten.

By the way the owners name is not Henry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
1.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.4 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyannis Travel Inn
Hyannis Travel Inn
#5 of 22 in Hyannis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Motor Lodge

Property: Mariner Motor Lodge
Address: 573 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4948
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mariner Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Motor Hotel West Yarmouth
Mariner Hotel West Yarmouth
Mariner Motel West Yarmouth
Mariner Motor Lodge Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing