We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent basic accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn West Yarmouth/Hyannis Cape Cod Area
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Fairfield County, CT
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent basic accommodations”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed one night on our way to Wellfleet. The non-smoking room was nice size, clean, (despite what other reviewers say). The staff was efficient and courteous. The main thing about this motel is the location and price. I'd stay again, but not for more than a night or two as it's right on busy Route 28.

Room Tip: Insist on non-smoking (unless you're a smoker).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatbigsoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    48
    68
    45
    54
See reviews for
85
81
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, MA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

There were many good things about this hotel, but not so good ones too. First the good - good location, only 10 minutes from Main Street Hyannis shops and restaurants and about 15 from Hyannis beaches and the ferries. Great WiFi. Nice indoor pool, pear shaped with the deep part being the larger, temp just right. They provide an average breakfast; cereal, coffee, minimuffins - and have a fridge and microwave in the room. Good sized room, good cable, clean, good beds. And the price is great - about $60 a night over a holiday weekend, including the "dog fee". Booking online is easy. The staff is helpful if you ask. They allow dogs, a plus on the Cape.
But...we didn't know about asking for a nonsmoking room when we booked so none were available when we checked in; the first room was very smelly, so we got one next to it that wasn't nearly so bad.. The hot tub that we were looking forward to was broken. The bathtub didn't drain well at all. We hurt ourselves on a metal part of the bedframe that stuck out. We stayed four days and the staff didn't change the sheets once, even when asked. I think they cater most to long-termers, so may change the sheets once a week. And the place is right on Rt. 28, a very busy road. Many hotels are on this road, but we found it impossible to turn left out the parking lot most of the time and had to turn right and turn around. We'll find places off the beaten path next time.

Room Tip: Ask for nonsmoking if you don't smoke, or you won't get one; there aren't that many nons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Envirotraveller_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The price was $89 per night and it was worth nothing more than that. I usually stay at the common hotel chains but I just needed to stay at the Cape one night, so I tried this motel. When we walked into room 129 on the upper floor, the first thing I was hit with was the smell. It was horrible. I don't know if that's because it's a "pet friendly" motel and perhaps pets were in there before us that urinated on the carpet? I can only guess. If we hadn't planned to just sleep there one night, I would have asked for a change in room. I figured if we ran the air conditioner the whole day while we were out, the smell would be gone when we came back. Wrong. We got back late and the smell was still there. The only good things I will say about the room is that it was roomy, not cramped at all, the TV worked, the shower had hot water, the bedding was clean and the front desk person was nice and did give me a small bottle of shampoo when I asked for one. He didn't have conditioner, however. Don't expect there to be a hair dryer, shampoo or any amenities in the basic bathroom. If the smell wasn't there and I just needed a place to crash for a night or two and planned on spending no time in the hotel room except to sleep, it was a good value for the price.

Room Tip: Don't take 129 because of the smell, and ask for another room if it smells when you walk in, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brown_Eyed_Girl_Bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

Rutland, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Typically I stay in hotels when on vacation, but this was a last minute trip so we had to find something cheap and available because I needed a beach vacation this summer. So we decided to stay at this motel. It's not a bad place, nothing fancy but it is clean. And the area is safe and convienent for the Cape Cod attractions. For $73 a night what can you expect? And to whomever said there was no continental breakfast, there is one. It is from 8-10am and its in the big room in the back behind the ice machine. There is cereal, toast, coffee and juice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mullady802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We were very desperate for a hotel room and luckily found this hotel. All of the other reviews are correct, there are probably permanent residents that play loud music out of their cars and hang outside until 1 AM. However, the staff was very friendly and the rooms (from what we experienced) were very clean. We found the bathroom mold-free. Our dog was fine there, great pet friendly hotel in West Yarmouth. Great location, located just half a mile from downtown Hyannis. Check out Heavenly (turn right out of the hotel and it should but half a mile down the road) and it's a great place to eat.

Other than that, had a great time there. Only complaints are the noise and other guests. Happy traveling!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avidrestauranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

dirty linens, dirty walls, a years worth of dead bugs in the bathroom light, Socket in Bathroom did not work, no microwave as requested, whirlpool did not work, ice machine is kept outside and totally manky. Mini fridge in room was rusted, room was only half painted, staples sticking out of wall cut my daughter, Mildew stains on some sort on blankets, to cheap to use a bottom sheet so bed never stayed made. Staff was very unprofessional, witenessed them verbally berating someone not sure if it was guests or workers at the pool in front of my kids, Was locked out of room a day early, one can only assume for finally registering complaints with management, pubilc area is littered with cigarette butts, room was suppossed to be non smoking but it was clearly used as a smoking room burn marks in furniture and all over the rubbish bin outside room...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capecod529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeastern, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

When you go to Cape Cod off season you expect a few drawbacks so the pool being closed to us was not really a huge issue.
What did bother me was that even though the website SAYS a continental breakfast is provided with no date restrictions given there was no food.
The site and the guide at the motel both site 7 AM as the time for breakfast to start there was no availability as the office did not open until 8 AM. So what was supposed to be a nice little perk to start the day off right was not available. Do I have to mention that this added $20. per day to the cost of our stay.
There are no towel bars in the bathroom, the TV had very few channels, the lighting in the unit was poor so that there was no way to read or do my knitting.
It had been 4 or 5 years since I had been to this motel, it will be well into my next life before I return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.5 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
0.9 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#17 of 22 in Hyannis
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn West Yarmouth/Hyannis Cape Cod Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn West Yarmouth/Hyannis Cape Cod Area

Property: Days Inn West Yarmouth/Hyannis Cape Cod Area
Address: 69 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-8105 (Formerly American Host Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn West Yarmouth/Hyannis Cape Cod Area 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn West Yarmouth/Hyannis Cape Cod Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Host Hotel West Yarmouth
American Host West Yarmouth
Days Inn West Yarmouth/Hyannis Cape Cod Area MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing