We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay stay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayside Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayside Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    402
    127
    40
    25
See reviews for
438
471
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We settled on Bayside as our place to stay based on their website and location. While the location in relation to it's position on the Cape isn't bad, the website made the hotel more attractive than it actually is. The rooms are typical, but the beds are uncomfortable. The pools are so over-chlorinated that it burns your eyes just being near them. While the view on the private "beach" overlooking a salt marsh appears beautiful on the website, it usually doesn't look that way. The pictures were taken at high tide, so for most of the day, you're looking at mud. The gas firepit is a nice touch though. They light it at night and it's nice to sit around it and chat with other hotel guests. The WiFi is absolutely terrible...to the point that it's almost useless. The signal is strong, but you can't get on 90% of websites you try to access. In fact, I am at the hotel right now and I have to use my cellphone to write this review, because I can't get on the Tripadvisor site with my PC.
Overall, the hotel is average. The staff is pleasant and helpful, but that's not reason enough to want to return here. Maybe I seem a little harsh. It's just that I expected better...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsslegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby_Schilling, Manager at Bayside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Bsselegel,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with our pool and WiFi. The Board of Health requires we keep our chlorine levels between 3-5ppm for water safety. Our Certified Pool Operators test the water 4 times per day to ensure we maintain safe levels. Many people are very sensitive to chlorine. We suggest you Google how persons with sensitive skin can enjoy public pools using chlorine.

We apologize for any issues you had with our free wifi by Liveport. Apparently there were some firmware issues that needed to be addressed after an apple update.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Let me start by saying this place was OK at best. I stayed for 2 nights. First I will go over the Pro's. There are only a few. This place is centrally located to everything on the Cape. It has 2 pools. An indoor and an outdoor, hot tub and sauna. They also include a continental breakfast for you. Waffles are included and are the only solid item, unless toast, cereal, fruit, hard boiled eggs or yogurt do it for you. Good idea to get to breakfast between 7-8:30 am. Anything after that and it starts to get too crowded. The room and bathroom were pretty clean and the bed/pillows were OK. The squeaky mattress protector underneath was kind of annoying. And the staff seemed friendly. That's where the Pro's ended though.

Now with the Con's. My fire alarm went off at 7:15 am one morning. When I went downstairs to try and inquire about it, the girl at the front desk said she did not know anything about it and looked at me as if I was crazy. I don't know about you, but I want to know if there's a fire in the place I'm staying at and if the hotel staff doesn't even know when there is one or when smoke detectors go off, I don't know how the people staying in the facility will ever find out. I don't know how they're not all inter-connected. It's pretty unnerving waking up to a blaring fire alarm first thing in the morning and trying to collect yourself and your possessions. I am also pretty sure that you're not supposed to have 4 things crammed into a wall outlet all at once and one of them being the refrigerator, as it was in my room. I am pretty confident the Fire Marshall for the Town of Yarmouth would have a problem with the 2 issues I mentioned above. The refrigerator also froze all my items in it the first night. Make sure the temperature is turned halfway or less. The walls are pretty thin. You constantly hear people talking and shutting doors. If you eat outside which I wouldn't recommend, stay away from the beach area. I ate in the patio area right off the sandy part and some type of real small flea type bug kept biting the heck out of me. I guess if you want to put on bug spray you might be alright. At the top of the stairs where I was staying (Room 201), there was a fishy/something died odor that would come and go. Pretty gross. And the stairway and the hallways didn't seem like there was any type of A/C because as soon as you step out of your room it was like a sauna. TV's are small with no HDTV. I believe they get about 50 stations but no premium ones included (HBO, Showtime, etc.). If you have kids and want to go on the internet after they go to sleep because you can't watch TV, you can forget it. Their internet connection is terrible at all hours of the day and night. It will show a good signal and then nothing. They need more bandwith. If you go swimming, don't leave your towels anywhere. They will charge you for them. You have to swap them out every time for dry ones at the desk. You can't even leave them in your room for housekeeping to swap them. It's a pain and an inconvenience in my opinion. Road noise in the front of the resort is loud at all hours. If you don't wear ear plugs and are a light sleeper this will keep you up at night. When I asked about it, I was told nobody has ever complained before which I find hard to believe. I would ask for a room in the back of the facility. I would also find the lowest price online and tell them how much and where. They will match it as they did with me. FYI- They also charge you the full amount when you check in.

Lastly, when I was checking out, I gave the girl at the front desk my access cards to get in and that was it. She told me they were gonna look into the fire alarm "thing". She never gave me anything to sign and most importantly, she never asked me how my stay was or to come again. Which to me, is one of the most important things you can do working as the concierge/customer service representative. I have stayed at places all over the U.S. and I have never stayed anywhere where they didn't ask me how my stay was. When I tried telling her there were other issues as well, she just brushed me off and said goodbye. She never tried getting the Manager or asked what the issues were. I was disappointed and surprised. If I wasn't in such a hurry I would have made my observations known to management but I needed to get back on the road. So if you need a place to stay in a pinch go for it, otherwise if you have other options I would go with them.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the back for more peace and quiet. All the rooms in the front that face the road are...
See more room tips
Green Features: None that I saw. I didn't see anything related to even recycling.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank REDSOXFAN419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby_Schilling, Front Office Manager at Bayside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your comments.

Please feel confident that your room and the hotel are protected by a fire alarm system that is inspected annually and monitored by an alarm company.. Like all hotels, each room is equipped with a hardwired heat sensor and smoke detector. Guestroom smoke detectors are not configured to alarm the entire property.

We apologize for any issues you had with our free WiFi by Liveport. Apparently there were some firmware issues that needed to be addressed after an apple update.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I am torn on whether to give this a 2 or 3 star review........

The pros

Good location, short drive into Hyannis.
I imagine it's good for kids with indoor and outdoor pools
Relatively affordable rates
Free wi-fi (although often slow and intermittent)
Breakfast included
Nice beach area facing the salt marsh to sit and relax

The cons

The rooms are on par with a Super 8, very dated
Breakfast on par with a Super 8
It's really really unbelievably noisy, the first room we got literally had an inch and a half gap under the door so you shared your room with everyone passing in the corridor which included drunken wedding parties singing "god bless America" in the early hours of the morning, kids using the corridor as a racetrack and guests partying in their rooms. To survive we had to jam two towels under the door (yes it took two beach towels to plug the gap) and turn on the (very loud) AC unit to drown out the noise.

I'm only giving this a 3 star based on the very helpful staff who moved us to a quieter part of the building.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't see any such practices. I agree with previous comments regarding the unsustainable breakfast utensils.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby_Schilling, Front Office Manager at Bayside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with guest noise and WiFi.

Our hardest job is to handle guests that have no consideration for others. Sometimes the most polite guests become very different people after a few cocktails.

We apologize for any issues you had with our free WiFi by Liveport. Apparently there were some firmware issues that needed to be addressed after an apple update.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a road trip, we got in quite late and left fairly early in the morning. The room was nice and clean, and what we saw of the beach / swimming pool they seems nice too, we just didn't have the time to use them. The breakfast was buffet style with a few waffle makers.

Green Features: Everything at breakfast was on plastic.. cups/ plates. I know it's quicker to clean up as everything gets binned.. but it did seem a little wasteful.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fercoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here over Spring Break in April with our 2.5 year old daughter. Upon arrival our room was ready and very clean. Staff was very friendly. Because it was Easter break they had family activities planned everyday. The first night there was a bonfire overlooking the cove with roasted marshmallows which was great my daughter loved it. The continental breakfast had a wide variety of choices from hard boiled eggs to yogurt, cereal, bagels, English muffins etc. and of course everyone's favorite the waffle maker and they actually had 3 of them so there was never a long wait to make one like some other places I've been. Every morning at breakfast they also had different characters that you could take pictures with free. The first day was Sponge Bob the second day was Elmo (which made my daughters eyes light up brighter than I've ever seen) and the third day was the Easter Bunny since it was Easter. This was a very pleasant unexpected surprise. The indoor pool was wonderful and very warm no need for acclimation even for my wife which is unheard of. That is where we spent most of our time. There is also saunas in the men and woman bath rooms as well as a large Jacuzzi in the pool area. We had a great time and I think we found our Easter Getaway spot. Whats great about this time of year is that the weather is nice enough to be outside and all of the local attractions are open but without the normal summer time traffic. This place is a GEM!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rconigliaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Green Harbor on the Ocean
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Resort Hotel

Property: Bayside Resort Hotel
Address: 225 Route 28, Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Yarmouth
#3 Family Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayside Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OVERLOOKING LEWIS BAY! We are a Friendly, Fun, Relaxing resort. We have received awards for our Hospitality, Customer Care, and Cleanliness. We're not just a place to stay, we're your home base for a fantastic, exciting Cape Cod Vacation! Whether you need a quiet and relaxing romantic getaway, or a memorable family vacation, the Bayside is perfect anytime of year.We are located close to Beaches, Restaurants, Shopping, and Cape Cod Attractions. For golfers, there are 20 golf courses within 20 minutes! For explorers, we are a short drive to Provincetown, the National Seashore, Falmouth, and a ferry ride to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard. For families, we are close to amusements, mini golf, whale watching, boat & kayak rentals, movies, trampolines, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bayside Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Hotel West Yarmouth
Bayside Resort Cape Cod
Bayside Resort West Yarmouth
Bayside West Yarmouth
Bayside Resort Hotel Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing