We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yarmouth House

Yarmouth House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The roots to this Cape Cod landmark trace their origins back to the old country and follow a route through Canada before settling in along Route 28. The Yarmouth House Restaurant was founded in 1978 by the Kounadis family patriarch, Gerry Kounadis. Born in Kefalonia, Greece, Gerry immigrated to Canada with his lovely wife, Vasiliki, in 1951. There, he operated a very successful diner in Montreal for over 35 years. His dream was to expand and open another restaurant in the United States. In 1978 he founded The Yarmouth House and he knew he had found a diamond in the rough. He brought with him his three children to help run the restaurant. With hard work and dedication, the restaurant became one of Cape Cod’s favorites, as it remains today.In August 2006, Gerry Kounadis passed away, but his presence is still felt every day in the restaurant. He left behind memories of his great sense of humor, positive attitude, accommodating demeanor and his famous welcoming smile. Today, his son Chris runs the kitchen along with other very talented chefs like Gary Sprague and Amir Ahari. The dining room is run by his son-in-law, Ted Zambelis, and his daughter Angie, who try hard to keep up the family’s goal of remaining a restaurant with the finest food at reasonable prices in an inviting and friendly atmosphere. The family owns and operates DiParma Italian Table on Route 28 in W. Yarmouth as well as our newest location, DiParma Italian Table, Seekonk, MAWe want to take this opportunity to thank all our patrons, especially the many supportive Cape Cod residents who have kept us in business for over 31 years.Thank you and God Bless
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The food was amazing! So much to choose from and it looked like a very popular place enjoyed by all. We made sure we saved room for dessert, which was also very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dans9066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    245
    102
    49
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England, Old England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We took our mother here for Mother's Day. It was the first time I had been and very nice it was, too.

My brother required a gluten free menu, and that was no problem, it had a good selection and he said the quality of their gluten free offerings was to a good standard.

The rest of us had onion soup which was massive and heavily blanketed with cheese, dense and hearty. I had prime rib which was fantastic, incredibly tender and flavorful with an exemplary baked potato and a glass of Malbec. Mom had the sirloin strip steak, and my brother's gf had the baked scallops. Mom also had the apple crisp which came in a little mason jar type arrangement and she loved it. I had the Chocolate Loving Spoonful which was SO chocolatey that I couldn't actually finish it. I had two bites and gave up, bringing the rest home to a very happy child. Everything was excellent, couldn't be faulted.

Our server, George, was charming and delightful, attentive and professional.

The atmosphere was pleasant - music playing, the water wheel, the twinkle lights, the linen tablecloths - it was all just very above par and well executed.

The prices are a bit higher than your garden variety restaurant, but the food is a notch above too, and for what it is, it's reasonable, you just have to know ahead of time. Fantastic - will definitely be back again for a special occasion or dinner out with The Man. Reservations are probably the way to go - certainly for holidays - and I'm not sure I'd be keen to bring my children here; possibly for lunch or a very early dinner, but apart from that, I am not quite sure it's a fit for rambunctious boys. On the other hand, you get the sense they would be well looked after and accommodated, because it seems like that's how this organization does things. Everything goes or is a level above and beyond the norm, and the result is something special.

Well done, truly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Secret_Squirre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food !”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A very nice, mid-priced restaurant. The food selection is good for tastes of all kind. Nicely furnished, very pleasant waitstaff, and good food. A nice family restaurant as well. It's best to make a reservation as Yarmouth House is a popular place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanie765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Had the salmon dinner on the special of the day menu. Great preparation. Vegetables done just right.
Also had the dessert special of the day: Key Lime pie.....delicious.
I would say you can't go wrong picking from their specials.
Good service also.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lpear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Whether you are dining for Lunch or Dinner, you can't go wrong. ALL menu items are reasonably priced, served piping hot and all foods include the appropriate extras. Prior to the summer season you can dine between 3 and 6 pm off the "Sunset Specials" priced to allow all to enjoy. Be sure to try this once while in the area and if you are a seasoned neighbor, you are lucky to have this near you!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCA639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yarmouth House also viewed

 
West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Yarmouth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing