We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Front desk personnel were friendly but place in need of updating. Stayed in the back building. Stucco walls, color scheme and furnishings outdated. Key system outdated, included 2 keys, one for room and one to get into building. Need to update to flat screen tvs. We used the tv room downstairs for family gathering which was a plus. Didn't use restaurant on site.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firny22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our property is an older property and we are still working on updates including flat screen TVs. At the same time, we offer very affordable rates for families and individuals on a budget on rooms that might be dated, but are very clean. We'd love to see you again when you're visiting the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    170
    79
    49
    41
See reviews for
159
185
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Its a 2 story motelish like facility, not a hotel per say. The front desk agent when we checked in was very nice, explained where everything was and gave us detailed directions to our room. Dissapointing was the fact they still had actual keys to get into the main entrance to the hotel and to our room. The room was clean but very outdated, small TV but it did have a nice mini fridge and coffee maker in the room. The rooms also needed updating as well. Beds were not comfortable and we could hear the guests upstairs walking around and using the bathroom at 2am them at 4am then at 6am which was not the greatest. It had a patio that you could smoke on with chairs and table.They had a decent inside pool area but needed some updating too and it closed too early. 9pm. The game room really was just the hallway to the pool and there were a few video games but nothing to write home about. What I was disapointed in was when we woke up the next morning, housekeeping decided to just come into our room, I had forgotten to put the deadbolt on, mental note to all.... ALWAYS bolt your doors!!!! The housekeeper didnt even knock and I had to slam the door so she wouldnt come in. My boyfriend was still sleeping and I had just gotten out of the shower so it was not cool. Then she decided to vacuum the room next to us at 9:20am and with a check out time of 11am, that wasnt cool either. We did tell the agent when we check out what happened so hopefully it wont happen to someone else. If you stay here, plan on not sleeping much if theres a lot of people, you will hear everything! Otherwise for the money it was an ok stay but most likely will not stay again due to the housekeeping thing!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor so you dont hear someone above you!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittygoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I sincerely apologize for your experience with the housekeeper. The protocol is to knock twice and then open the door a crack and say "housekeeping". I have spoken to all the staff to remind them to knock hard and wait before opening the door completely. The housekeeper in question claimed that she knocked but there was no answer. So sorry for this. It should never happen. I do agree that it's always a good idea to stay on the second floor to eliminate noise from above. We are constantly updating and plan to switch most of the TVs to flat screen in the following month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed 2 nights at the Tidewater and found the location perfect to explore the Cape. The desk folks were friendly and helpful with several very good suggestions for our stay. Our only concern was noisy neighbors but that's just the luck of the draw. Would definitely return if we visit the area again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SJCBDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the neighbors and for being understanding. If that ever happens again, feel free to call the overnight staff at the hotel so that we can talk to the neighbors. Thank you for staying with us and we'd love to see you again when you're visiting the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I purchased a Living Social deal for two nights at the Tidewater. We took off with two of our grandchildren for a two night stay. We were able to check in early and had a room close to the pool thanks to a wonderful manager, Voula. She was kind and considerate in helping us meet our needs. Although the hotel was supposedly sold out it never appeared to have many people there. Most of the time when we were at the pool there was no one else or very few people there. I understand they have a strict policy regarding the hot tub and no one under 16 is allowed in but we had a real problem with that. Other parents were allowing their kids in and our grandkids couldn't understand why they couldn't go in. Even after the other parents were spoken to as soon as management left they let their kids right back in. So not fair!!!
Our other issue was with housekeeping. We are very neat and keep our belongings picked up and don't leave trash around the room. The kids even straightened out the beds! Because of this the housekeeper never bothered to fix them correctly. Also she didn't leave enough towels even after I spoke to her and she never bothered to clean the coffee maker or leave enough condiments.
Also, being school vacation I thought there would be some activities for the kids but there was nothing special going on. Next time we will go where there are some things for the kids to do.
We won't be going back to the Tidewater.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphin_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I do read all our guest's reviews and then try to correct any problems that have occurred. Unfortunately, the hot tub remains a problem when adults don't monitor their young children and follow the rules. Due to the high temperatures we do adhere to our policy of 16 or older, but since we have no life guards we cannot always monitor the area. As far as the housekeeping, they should have left the proper number of towels for you and I apologize for this oversight. If you let the front desk know, we write it on their paper so they won't forget the next day. In addition, if a guest has made the bed, we usually leave it alone since they may have a preference. As far as extra activities during school vacation, we had decided to offer a low economical rate of $59 per night or even lower for the living social promotion. Hotels that offer extra activities charge much higher rates to cover the costs. Our indoor pool, playground, ping pong are available for families. Thank you for staying at the Tidewater. We'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme, NH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

For the past 10 years, we escape northern New England over our April School Vacation to get a jump on Spring down on Cape Cod. For the past five years or so we've stayed at the Tidewater and look forward to that as much as we do the trip as a whole. Inexpensive, but clean, with friendly folks, it is a really good value for a basic motel. Good location between accessing the islands via the ferries or going out to Provincetown and everything in between. The Tidewater also has a too well kept secret- Helen's Diner. For breakfast, it is worth going to right off the street, yet as wenmora mentioned, if you are staying there it is half-price! Next spring, like the migrating birds we go down to see, we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a flight of stairs, second floor in the back of the back building gives you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being one of our regulars! The water view rooms are also my favorite and Helen's Diner is a favorite with many of our guests. Just a correction, the 50% discount is offered to our VIP's or repeat customers. It is not offered for first time visitors, but of course, if they return they become VIP"s. Looking forward to seeing you again next April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We often stay at the Tidewater when we visit the cape. The price for our one night in April was very reasonable. The room was comfortable and we enjoyed the sauna. We always look forward to Helen's Diner for breakfast. We like the courteous waiter and cannot beat the half price breakfast as a VIP member!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are a good choice because they are connected to the pool area and also Helen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for being one of our "regulars" and for your kind words. I have gotten to know many of our guests and always look enjoy seeing them on their annual trips to the Cape. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed at the Tidewater Inn for 2 days this past week. My friend and I bought a Living Social deal, 2 nights for $80. At this price, the place was great! It could indeed use some updates, at the very least, some flat screen televisions.

The room was very neat and clean. The weather was a little cold while I was there and the heat worked fine. The beds are very uncomfortable. The shower is very small. I could imagine that someone over 6 feet tall would not even be able to stand up straight in the shower.

The room came with an ancient mini fridge but it worked well enough to keep my bottled water cold.

Despite, the tiny 19" tube tv, they do have a very good choice of channels to watch.

The pool area was decent.

Helen's Diner has good food at decent prices and the staff are very friendly. You can eat in or take out.

Overall, I think the hotel is fine if you are just going to sleep there. But it's definitely not the type of hotel that you want to get away and just relax in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your review. You are right that we do need to make some updates and we are constantly working on this. The rooms that you rented in the motel style buildings are our economy rooms. We do have rooms with interior corridors in the building with the pool and diner that have more recent renovations, larger bathrooms and fridges, and newer beds and some with water views. These rooms are slightly more but still affordable. Hope to see you again when you visit the Cape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#17 of 22 in Hyannis
467 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Property: Tidewater Inn
Address: 135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater is a family friendly hotel which is centrally located and minutes to Hyannis, ferries to the islands, beaches, golf, fishing, restaurants, and shopping. Indoor and Outdoor pools and 50's style breakfast diner (open seasonally). Rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers and some with water views. Landscaped picnic area with playground, grills and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Motel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Inn Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing