We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the staying here again.”
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
87 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the staying here again.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is the 4th season staying at the Tidewater. The people are as good as ever and the place is still our favorite. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the services function properly and the staff is great. Please take a stay here and you'll see what I mean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzy6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for spending 4 years staying at the Tidewater! We value your business and are so glad that that you have chosen to stay with us when you're visiting the Cape. We look forward to seeing you many more years. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    169
    79
    49
    40
See reviews for
159
185
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this Hotel for two nights. The gentleman at the front desk was very patient and friendly in helping us. His info for visiting Martha's Vineyard was a little insufficient. I think it would have been important for him to point out that parking at the Wood Hole Ferry is 5 miles away, rather than send us directly to the ferry. By the time we got to the first appointed parking lot, it was full and we were redirected to another parking lot another mile further. Then we were shuttled to Wood Hole. That fiasco cost us an extra hour.

All to say I would recommend the hotel to remind the guests (as the parking info is on the pamphlet you get from the lobby), that the parking lots should be driven directly to, beginning with the lot @ 286 Palmer Avenue.

As for the room, it was clean and comfortable. If I were to nitpick I would say they need a light in the shower itself, as it's a dark shower, and the CRT TV's with the the snow on the channels needs to be upgraded as well, but I would definitely come back and stay. As other reviews state, the grounds are clean, the people are friendly and it's close to everything, golf, beach, restaurants, etc.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize for your not getting more thorough information about the parking. Since it is well described on the brochure, we sometimes forget to give the customer the complete detail. Charles is usually very detail oriented and goes out of his way to help our guests but we are often rushed at the front desk with check ins and phones. We will make sure that we specify this to all our guests in the future. Thank you for staying at the Tidewater and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

July 4th, Hurricane Arthur was near the Cape. We decided to quit our campground for one night to be safe and dry. We found this place, last minute. Not cheap but there was nothing else. Room smelled mildew. I have asthma, so I didn't enjoy sleeping there.
Was a bit noisy. People near our room outside.
The next day, when we got outside, people and their families were everywhere. Chairs, bikes, kids, coolers, everything... I had to be careful to get out of the parking.
I do not recommend this place.
Too much expensive for this kind of place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank miss10166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. July 4th is the busiest weekend of the year and there are lots of families who are here to use the picnic area with the grills and playground. Unfortunately with number of large groups, it tends to be a bit noisy. As far as the room is concerned, if you had told us that the room smelled musty, we would have moved you to another room. Sorry your stay was not more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yarmouth hotels

ACTON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent Location, Great Price, Perfect Swimming Pool West Yarmouth. Owners are terrific and accommodate you. Helen's diner is very good, great prices. Hyannis downtown is a short drive away, Beeches are close, there is one walking distance.

Room Tip: Stay near the playground if you have kids. Stay on the sides if you want easy access to the outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARUN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We always look forward to a visit from your family and were glad that you could enjoy July 4th on the Cape with us. We love our regulars and are so happy that your family stays at the Tidewater when you visit the Cape. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OXFORD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Get a room on the water side, second floor. Perfect for nature watching. Geese, swans and red wing blackbirds! There was also a rabbit hopping around like there were no people there. Close to many shops and great restaurants. Quiet and the pool and hot tub was very clean. We never even turned on the TV!
We may go again next year just for a get away! The diner is awesome too. So glad we chose the Tidewater!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looncrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We can't wait for you to come back! Thank you for your lovely review. My favorite rooms are also overlooking Mill Pond and the picnic area. It's hard to believe that you're on Route 28 when you're in that area and feel so close to nature and wildlife. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Inn offered us a great value for a reasonable amount of money. While the inn is older with outdated bathroom fixtures it was clean with a large fridge and outdoor access with balcony. Front desk staff was very helpful. This is a large facility with many rooms, indoor & outdoor pools, play areas and a 50's style diner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. While our property is older, we are constantly working on upgrades and offer an authentic Cape Cod experience and an economical option for families. Hope to see you again when you visit the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Okay, this was our second stay at the Inn. Yes, it is a bit outdated, but so are some parts of my home :) The important thing is that it is clean and the staff is very helpful. We reserved 3 rooms, as my husbands married children were with us to attend a wedding. Since it was our second visit, we were never offered the 50% off breakfast! But our breakfast was very good at Helen's. My only real complaint was the WiFi. It is as slow as molasses. I brought my laptap and it was hopeless. They shouldn't advertise Wifi if they can't deliver a strong signal!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank January1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
So sorry you had problems with the internet. The speed we had was acceptable for the off season, but we had a very busy weekend and almost a full house resulting in slower than usual speed. We don't want this to happen again so we are working with Comcast to increase the speed now that we are so busy. Next time you visit, you should have no problem. Thanks for writing a review and we look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.2 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#17 of 22 in Hyannis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#9 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Property: Tidewater Inn
Address: 135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater is a family friendly hotel which is centrally located and minutes to Hyannis, ferries to the islands, beaches, golf, fishing, restaurants, and shopping. Indoor and Outdoor pools and 50's style breakfast diner (open seasonally). Rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers and some with water views. Landscaped picnic area with playground, grills and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Motel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Inn Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing