We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bargain, excellant breakfast, and nice people”
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewed 28 June 2010

For a two night stay with breakfast it was a real bargain. The pools were great and
it was easy to get to. Also close to most cape towns. The attached diner was terrific.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budeeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

We have been coming to the Tidewater Inn for several years, and, as always, our experience is one of complete comfort and relaxation. The Tidewater is always clean and the housekeeping staff are very competent and efficient. The grounds are beautiful and the area is always quiet.

Some of the amenities include: Helen's Diner serving quality breakfasts at a most reasonable cost; The indoor and outdoor pools and the jacuzzi hot tub; The game room with its many board games and puzzles for that leisure time later in the evening; and The outdoor cooking facilities when you are inclined to picnic.

The Tidewater is centrally located in the mid-cape area. Travel to Chatham takes about 20 minutes. There are supermarkets, discount stores, and many interesting specialty shops and restaurants located right in Yarmouth (West and South), within a 5 minute drive.

The staff is always courteous and helpful. We value these features and come to the Tidewater 4 times a year to recharge our "batteries".

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neuropath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We didn't enjoy our visit at all . We were just a family trying to have a mini vacation,and were not told that we were going to have to share the entire motel with three soccer teams and you forgot the lacrosse teams there too. We couldn't use the play ground until Monday and the pool was a joke there were kids jumping inand yelling and the hot ... See Moretub was filled with young kidstoo. My4 year old was too scared to go swimming afterthat night,and she usually loves to swim. We were even bumped into by kids running in the halls,and at one time their were so many kids hanging up and down the stairs yelling out some song we could hardly get up stairs. Now, we having been comming to your motel for 7 years now,and never had a bad experience like this. We stayed for three days and even asked if we could check out early on the last day and was told no, we needed to give 48 hours notice. We told the man at the front desk on Saturday how horrible the kids at the motel were being and he could care less. We will never return!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hunteamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Owner at Tidewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2010

We apologize for your experience at the Tidewater during Memorial Day Weekend. This weekend is always a very busy weekend for all hotels throughout the Cape for there is a Soccer Tournament on the Cape. While we do try hard to make sure everyone follows the rules and do patrol the hallways periodically, we do appreciate it when customers notify us of problems and we can address them immediately. If kids are misbehaving in the pool or using the hot tub (which is for 16 or older) a customer can notify us and we will make sure that they adhere to the rules. I asked several kids to leave the pool area who were without adults and the man at the front desk went to the back building every half hour to check the hallways. When we have and sold out weekend with so many kids, the pool and picnic area will be busy. In order to solve problems, we appreciate a customer bringing the specific problems to the front office when they happen so we can resolve the problem. I was the one who was asked if one could check out early and I stated our policy. If I had been told why you wanted to leave, I would have had no problem refunding the last night. Hopefully, you won't forget the 7 good visits you had and will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Clean, comfortable, well-located, this hotel is full of amenities that you would not expect for the reasonable price. Two pools, an on-site fun diner, cleanliness all over, we found ourselves enjoying our trip and welcoming the comfortable beds and pillows at day's end.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank dtravis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I have stayed at better holes in the walls in the middle of nowhere. Our room smelled like urine and mold. The beds were like planks of wood and I'm writing this as we are RUNNING out of this motel. DO NOT stay at this hotel. We actually planned to drive home if we couldn't find another place to stay versus staying here another night. When I finally DID get to sleep, it lasted only a few hours until woken up at 6 AM by someone else's shower and then loads of loud people in the parking lot. RUN AWAY from this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kfoster19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Visited the Tidewater in West Yarmouth often. The Motel is not 5 star but is clean and tidy. Motel is generaly quiet and thge Managment go to grreat lengths to ensure a no noise policy. Bathrooms and furnatature are acceptable but TV.s are getting somewhat past it. Great value spotless breakfast cafe on site. Located just 1 mile from central Hyannis this modestlly priced motel is reccomended

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radiopotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

This was our first time coming to Cape Cod and we really enjoyed the Tidewater. Clean rooms, we loved it and so did the kids.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
0.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.8 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cove at Yarmouth
The Cove at Yarmouth
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
501 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Address: 135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range: £48 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater is a family friendly hotel which is centrally located and minutes to Hyannis, ferries to the islands, beaches, golf, fishing, restaurants, and shopping. Indoor and Outdoor pools and 50's style breakfast diner (open seasonally). Rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers and some with water views. Landscaped picnic area with playground, grills and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Motel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Inn Cape Cod/West Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing