We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheng-Du Restaurant

Cheng-Du Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 89 Restaurants in Westborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: None
Description: For over 30 years Cheng Du Restaurant has been a staple in the Westborough community offering our customers the highest quality homemade Asian cuisine using the freshest ingredients. Today Cheng Du is offering something unlike any other Chinese restaurant, three restaurants under one roof: 157 Bin, our new cosmopolitan wine bar and lounge; Akamon, a Kushiyaki Grill with Japanese cuisine; and Cheng Du for a traditional Chinese dining experience. From our refined and sophisticated atmosphere, to our innovative and diverse cuisine, there's something for everyone at Cheng Du.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My boyfriend and I came in to have lunch/dinner around 4 on a Saturday. We decided to sit at the bar as there was a game on. The bartender was very friendly and greeted us right away. We ordered a scorpion bowl for 2 - yummy. We decided on a few skewers and sushi (trying to eat lighter). We had one each of the scallop & shrimp skewers. They were awesome. In fact, the scallops were so delicious that we ordered a second. We had 2 sushi rolls - just your average (but NOT so average! Delish!) Philly roll & Akamon Maki. They were both superb. We ordered another Philly roll. This was one of the best experiences that we have had eating a bar, and we have had day dreams about the sushi. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CandiceMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    28
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
448 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Delicious food & great restaurant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have frequented this restaurant several times and I have never been disappointed. The food is excellent, the service is top-notch and the ambiance is great. Cheng-Du's lunches at less than $10.00 are a real bargain and you get to choose an appetizer, 2 entrees and with soup & salad included. The wait staff is very pleasant and efficient. But the best compliment I can give to the restaurant is the high quality of the excellent food served. Their telephone number is 508-366-7481 and their website is www.chengdurestaurant.com.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New lunch special was very nice, excellent value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I used to hate this restaurant. The buffet, as a fan of real Chinese, was horrified. We came back after renovations to find a made to order lunch special that is out of this world! Many dishes all included for a good price. Elegant setting and beautiful plating for almost the price of drive through. We've been twice, and we'll be back. Good job!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank squirrelnibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New customer planning to be old friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Ordered for delivery for the first time this evening. A mix of superb Chinese, Thai and sushi dishes. Each was wonderful and fresh. This place is a find.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank creativeguyBeaufort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not your run of the mill Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This showy restaurant is far better than the glitzy appearance might suggest. It's always unusual in that there are three restaurants under a single roof: Japanese, Chinese and traditional Asian. I've now tried the first two and the food is excellent. Service is great and prices moderate. Sushi from the Japanese section is creative and highly recommended. It's on bust Route 9, but well worth the trouble to find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patrick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheng-Du Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cheng-Du Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing