We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in the Country but not far from Civilization”

Bittersweet Farm Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated on a 29-acre farm dating back to the 1920's, the restaurant provides an elegant country atmosphere and perfect setting for that special occasion celebration. The Main Floor is open for dining on Friday and Saturday evenings, subject to availability. Our cozy Fireside Tavern provides a more casual atmosphere Tuesday through Sunday, with superb monthly features and weekly specials. Join us for live musical entertainment Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, as we bring you the area's best talent. Every first Sunday of the month, relax and enjoy the Grand Brunch Buffet from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. with live acoustic music. Choose from made-to-order omelets and waffles, salads, pasta and saute stations to poached salmon, carved meats, fresh fruit, assorted pastries and more.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This spot is a real find. All of the ingredients are fresh and prepared with love. I have traveled extensively and we found this lovely spot via Trip Advisor while driving through Westport. What a gem. The service was outstanding (our server was Nanette and she gave us the skinny on the old barn, including the ghost stories). The food was even better, from the fresh baked breads to the lobster salad and steak. Truly a fabulous meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Marketing Manager at Bittersweet Farm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Schm00py, we're glad you found us and thanks for the kind words. We would love to host you again next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Wednesday nights is date night at bittersweet! Their dinner for two is $40 you get three courses and for only $10 more you can get a bottle of wine...totally worth it. The food was really good and the waitress was very sweet and attentive. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosie12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Marketing Manager at Bittersweet Farm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Rosie12346, thanks for your great feedback, and we're glad you enjoyed our Date Night offering! We are continuing this promotion into June and possibly through the Summer so be sure to stop back soon. Like us on Facebook and sign up for our e-club newsletter for news, updates, and promotions! See you on your next trip to Westport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Average atmosphere and food. Steak tips ordered medium rare and received well done. The sauce on the steak tips most likely came from a jar. Salmon on a plank tasted like pre frozen bagged fish. You could not taste the "woody flavor" at all. Chicken nachos were great and gluten free for those who cannot consume gluten. I say on the side of a table were a French fry and a ketchup spill were walked past by many staff members who could h e cared less to even pick it up. They rather walk over it. Food is above average prices. Good location. Good parking. Will not be back.

1  Thank sexyspeedcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Marketing Manager at Bittersweet Farm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi SexySpeedCat: thank you for taking time to review your recent experience at our restaurant. I am sorry you didn't experience our restaurant to the degree we work so hard to achieve. All of our food is prepared fresh and cooked to order and I will pass your judgements on to the manager and chef for consideration. I will send you a private message with the personal phone number of senior management, please call them so we can discuss your experience in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I would have given this place 5 stars 3 years ago, but lately I've eaten in the tavern and the service is almost poor. On more than 1 trip, we had to wait at least 15-30 min before a waitress came to our table. The tables are close together, and many would walk right by us without even acknowledging that we had been sitting with our menus for awhile. Most of the time we had to get someone's attention to get service, and the comment usually is "I saw you sitting there and wondered why no one waited on you." or " We saw you but no one was assigned to your table." Pretty poor as far as I'm concerned. The food quality has also gone down, just being ok for the price you pay. I think it will be a long time before I go back.

2  Thank pickymom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Marketing Manager at Bittersweet Farm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Bittersweet Farm. The comments regarding your experience are very important to us. We want guests to enjoy dining here, so your report of an unsatisfactory experience is of serious concern.

First, let us express our sincerest apologies. You deserve only the best service, especially at Bittersweet Farm. Please allow us to assure you that we have met with our staff about the importance of ensuring quality customer satisfaction to every guest, every time. We will commit to providing our staff with special training within the next few weeks, so that everyone will be better prepared to serve all of our customers.

We have met with the head chef in regards to the quality of our food. We take pride in serving delicious meals by using only the freshest, local products. He is aware of your comments and will strive to ensure better quality in the preparation.

We appreciate you making us aware of this particular situation. Without feedback, (whether it is positive or negative) we will never know where our attributes lie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The food is just not good. Great for drinks, and maybe an appetizer - beautiful environment - cozy downstairs tavern - never ate in the dining room but it's my understanding their signature dish is roast lamb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Marketing Manager at Bittersweet Farm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Susan, we do agree that the restaurant is a great place for drinks and live music! However, we apologize your food experience wasn't as memorable. Our chefs take pride in everything they prepare and serve and we use only the freshest food & ingredients available. Our head chef has been notified of our inconsistencies so rest assured next time you visit us, we'll be at the top of our game! Thanks for your review and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bittersweet Farm Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bittersweet Farm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing