We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayside Restaurant

Bayside Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After a walk across the street at Allens Pong Wildlife Refuge this is a great place to eat. Wholey Green excellent menu. I love when they have seafood chowder on the menu big bowl with homemade cornbread. Great breakfasts on the weekend. and on a nice day the patio is great to sit at and eat and drink

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 821Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    79
    29
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stopped for an early dinner. Ate outside, overlooking the Audubon pond and ocean. 2 pints of local brews, some bread. I had the baked scallops, breaded in a butter, cheese that was to did for. My wife had the fisher mans platter. Fried fish and scallops excellent. The shrimp had a bit too much batter. Fries and coleslaw delicious. This place must be hopping on a beach day (cool today ) but down the street from the beach. Will return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sox60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
224 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

There are not a lot of restaurants open during the winter in this area. Thankfully the Bayside is open Thursday through Sunday in the off-season. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch on the Sunday before St. Patrick's Day. Many of the customers were ordering the homemade corned beef and cabbage which looked excellent. But we were in the mood for seafood. The fish and chips were really good- the fish was fresh, sweet and tasty. The fries were freshly made. Their cole slaw is tasty- just a hint of vinegar and some poppy seeds to add a little zing. The desserts were amazing. I haven't seen a lemon meringue pie with real meringue made from fresh egg whites in a long time. And the filling was authentic as well, not jello like you so often get. The service was efficient and our server, Robin, answered all our questions. There is a full bar and they have a wonderful selection of craft brews. The view is nice too, looking across a bird sanctuary, Allen's Pond, and on out to Buzzards Bay. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaJay26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks near the beach!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great outdoor venue. Very casual but great drinks and good food! Seafood very good. One of the only places in the area with that beachfront casual feel!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Black Hills, South Dakota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Best on Horseneck!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our daughter and family hail from Westport and frquent this small little restaurant many times thru the year. We recently visited the area and lunch was in order as it is only a few miles from the house. The place was extremely busy and crowded but made for a quaint and cozy atmosphere for lunch. Earlier in the day I mentioned I was hungry for good fish & chips. I was not disappointed!! A huge portion of lightly batter cod with plenty of chips and slaw on the side. Exactly what I was looking for. My wife and other family members enjoyed their choices as well. Large bottles of beer from the local brewery topped it all off! I know why my kids call the Bayside one of their favorites! We will definately return! Thanks!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayside Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bayside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing