We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You might not get what you ask for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

As a regular Hampton Inn customer, my requests ahead of time for type of room and location are always met, this time the location of our room was not met and the front desk did not seem to care. The room itself was what we expected and the remainder of the hotel was up to Hampton Inn standards. If only the people working there cared it would have made our visit pleasant instead of starting it out on a bad note. We will not be back. Get a room away from I-495.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIW02790, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking time to write a Trip Advisor Review. It is unfortunate that you did not receive your room request, I assume that was to be away from highway 195, as we are not near to the 495. (It is about 3/4 of an hour away from our hotel.) While we look at all guest requests, sometimes it is difficult to fulfill all of the requests we receive depending upon the time of check in, number of stay over guests and so on.

It is upsetting to hear that you did not receive a sympathetic ear, excellent customer service and an attempt to provide your request, as that is what our foundations are based on. Your comments will be brought up at our next meeting.

Please let us know if there is something we can do moving forward to make ammends.

Best regards,

Jodi Boland
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is my third stay at this hotel. Each time has been very pleasant. We were just off the lobby and only heard noise a couple times. The only improvement would be windows that open - the weather was wonderful but we couldn't enjoy it. Staff was very nice - at a previous stay someone cleaned our windshield after a light snow. Wow! And they offered cookies in the (weekday) evenings, and wine and cheese one night. And they got us into a room with a fridge - we were thankful for that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIW02790, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Lisa R from Eastern United States,

Thank you for your business! We appreciate you staying with us again, your third time. We are pleased that you enjoy our hotel and continue to return. We also wish our windows would open. Unfortunately, they do not.

We are glad to know you enjoyed the wine and cheese evening and our cookies.

Please introduce yourself during your next stay. I would love to meet you.

Best regards,

Jodi Boland
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights here on the 4th floor. We asked for a room away from the highway and had no noise issues at all. The room was super clean, our room was spacious. The staff was gracious, and efficient. The breakfasts were great. There is a hot option that changes each day. We loved our time here. Great central location for visiting attractions. We went to Battleship Cove right in town, took the less expensive ferry to Martha's Vineyard from Woods Hole for one day. We went to Plymouth, MA one day, and on the way home stopped at New Bedford and went to the whaling museum. This is a less expensive Hampton than many others that you might see.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank jkinchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIW02790, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Jkinchicago -

Very kind of you to take the time to write a review. Thank you for your kind words. I will pass along your kind words to our staff. It sounds like you really enjoyed using our hotel as a base and discovering many options in Southeastern, New England. We are one of the less expensive options when visiting Newport/Providence/Boston/New Bedford/Cape Cod/Martha's Vineyard.

It was very smart to ask for a room further away from the highway. While we cannot always accommodate requests, we will certainly try to accommodate. Depending upon what you are coming in for, sometimes the highway is not an issue. It does tend to be a little more noisy during rush our times.

Thank you again for providing a trip advisor. I hope you enjoy the remainder of your summer.

Best regards,


Jodi Boland
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Front desk staff and housekeepers very pleasant and helpful. My room was clean and amenities were just fine (hey! remember this is a moderately priced hotel, not a Ritz Carlton!) Breakfast was great with plenty of options and terrific fresh fruit. (Full disclosure; I am a retired hospitality industry professional; I spent some time inspecting hotels for Sheraton and have supervised food and beverage operations.) I'll be visiting Fall River periodically on family business and I will definitely stay here again. While I agree there is a dearth of fine dining options in Fall River, visitors should give one of the many fine Portuguese restaurants a try. (Fall River is where Emeril Lagasse learned his trade.) Don't go to a chain restaurant or a fast food joint! For casual food and local atmosphere, give Nick's Hot Dogs or Mee Sum Chinese restaurant, both on South Main a try.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIW02790, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Lawrence O from Wakefield ~

Lawrence, you are so kind. Thank you for your 'very nice stay!' trip advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed the friendly housekeeping and front desk staff. We do try to be helpful. So glad your room was clean up to your expectations. We also appreciate your comments about the breakfast, we do try to provide a lot of options.

Love your restaurant suggestions. While Fall River is not the hub of activity during the evening hours, there are some great restaurants in and around our area and nearby. While your suggestions were excellent, our Front Desk can offer other tasty suggestions.

Please introduce yourself to me the next time you are town.

Best regards,

Jodi Boland
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I am surprised reading some of the positive reviews on this site, even though there are quite some negative ones as well. Just as others have mentioned, the hotel needs an update and the "non-smoking rooms" stink. The hotel is very close to I95 and there is no way to avoid the noice.

What mostly surprised me was the staff at the front desk, which usually is excellent with the Hampton Inns we tend to favour. Upon our arrival it took more than 5 minutes until they stopped talking on the phone, and when we notified that we were leaving after one night instead of staying for the 5 nights we had booked, they did not even ask for a reason ! There are not many dining options in the area and Fall River is not exacly a bustling metropolis .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gold2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIW02790, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Gold 2004 ~

Thank you for taking time to write a Trip Advisor review. We are sorry that you were dissappointed with the area and the hotel. Our area is great if you want to see; Newport, Cape Cod and Providence and not pay the high costs that you would be changed in those areas. In our immediate area we have Battle Ship Cove, Marine Museum and Buttonwood Zoo for close attractions. We do have several options for dining in close proximity, however they are independent, non chain restaurants. The Front Desk staff can certainly direct you in those areas.

We apologies for the lack of service you received upon check in. It does not sound like our typical front desk experience. Our staff is usually very attentive and customer oriented. One side of the hotel does face the 195, which during mid morning and evening commute does have busy traffic sounds. I will pass the comments along about updating, our hotel was renovated 3.5 years ago.

Enjoy the rest of your summer,

Jodi Boland
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The room was good, the staff was helpful, the breakfast was fine. Our room was on the 1st floor, and I could clearly hear the conversation of everyone walking by. Would have been nice to feel like not everyone could hear in as well as I could hear out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIW02790, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Rachel C from Lowell ~

We appreciate the time you took to write a trip advisor review. Thank you for sharing the information about staying on the first floor. It is helpful to know that. The staff will appreciate your nice comments, I will be sure to share them. Our housekeeping and breakfast staff do a fantastic job. Thank you for noticing.

Enjoy the rest of the summer.

Jodi Boland
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Upon arriving the front desk customer was very friendly. Our room was nice and comfortable. The only issue was there was a plastic wrapper and a piece of an apple peel under the dresser. the only reason I saw it was I dropped a coin and had to get down on my knees to get it from under the dresser. Went down for breakfast and was impressed with the selection.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREGG157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIW02790, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Gregg157 from New Jersey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a trip advisor! We appreciate your kind comments about The Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport. We apologize for the left over apple peel and wrap from a previous guests that was under the dresser. Our housekeeping staff generally does an excellent job at cleaning.

Glad you enjoyed our impressive breakfast selecting. We hope you return on another ocassion.

Best regards,

Jodi Boland
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
10.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Bedford
5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fall River
8.6 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Dartmouth Inn
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
6.7 mi away
Residence Inn New Bedford Dartmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport

Address: 53 Old Bedford Rd, Westport, MA 02790-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: £86 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport Hotel Westport
Hampton Inn Westport
Westport Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing