We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Playhouse in the Berkshires”

Williamstown Theatre Festival
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous theater, located in the Berkshires, presents several productions each summer.
Long Island City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best Playhouse in the Berkshires”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We saw Johnny Baseball our first vacation night in the Berkshires. Awesome. Williamstown Theater puts on top of the line plays with top of the line actors. Never been disappointed in 20 years of seeing plays here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    20
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best in the country”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

When you bring the best people in theatre together with a dedicated staff and house it in a gorgeous location, you end up with one of the top theatre festivals in the country. We saw a slew of quality shows, bumped into theatre friends from NYC and had great interactions with the WTF staff at every turn. Can't wait to come back again next year!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnitaPeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre, excellent plays”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We make it point to see at least one play at the Williamstown Theatre during our annual visit to
the Berkshires. The two theatres are beautifully appointed and the actors are true professionals.
The last two shows we saw were being considered for Broadway. It takes awhile for Williamstown
to list the summer schedule and individual tickes are really not available till early June. Tickets are
not inexpensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank redramPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The entire Festival”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Williamstown Theatre Festival was the primary reason I purchased a vacation home in Williamstown. I have never been disappointed with any show I have seen. I recently saw the musical version of "The Bridges of Madison County" and after the show, Marsha Norman, the woman that adapted the book for the stage had a feedback session with the anyone that wanted to talk with her. She also adapted "The Secret Garden" into a musical. It was fascinating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Bloody Mess!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We saw the preview of Blood Play last night. In this muddled mess there's supposed to be the hint of anti-Semitism. I think it got drowned in the preposterous drinks and games. A touch of the macabre comes with the Bev's and Morty's son Ira (played by a female) who has other children hit by lightning. The play was very unsatisfying from both a dramatic perspective and the forced acting of the six-member cast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 911carolg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Williamstown Theatre Festival also viewed

 
North Adams, Berkshires
 

Been to Williamstown Theatre Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing