We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it were better”
Review of Villager Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villager Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Hamilton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish it were better”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I wish that I were writing a positive review for this motel - the owners were incredibly friendly and seemed to be trying hard to make the stay positive, BUT the room just can't be rated as "average" (especially for ~$100). The room looked very well used and never updated (aka - the carpets were threadbare and tearing in certain sections) and the bathroom was a disaster (some black soot like substance on one wall, the floor had two different types of very well worn tile, the towel rack was epoxied to the wall (and not very well), etc.).

Now for the plus sides - the motel is pet friendly, the owners are very kind and trying to make the stay as positive as they could (giving us extra ice due to the heat, extra coffee, asking if everything was okay, etc.), the room was incredibly quiet (even though there were people in the room right next door and a train track and Rt. 7 nearby, we heard nothing all night!), and the room was fairly clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
17
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The rooms feel old. Not quaint, not charming, just old and spare. And neglected. I get the feeling that the owners don't want to update any decor or fixtures. And, that in fact, the money they make from guests is not going back into the property to upgrade it. Everything from toiletries to bed coverings to curtains to furniture (bed frame/lamps/side tables) was aged (and not in a good way). I was in Williamstown, MA for a one day conference, came across this on internet hotel site and booked it to save cost. It was very, very disappointing and I could not wait to leave the next morning. I would never stay here again, too depressing. I don't consider shabby decor, with few amenities of any kind at low prices a value. That just cheap lodgings--let's call it what it is. Then again, the prices wasn't cheap considering what you get. For $132.00 per room--there needs to be more effort on the part of management to offer better accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historia34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williamstown hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I spent a very pleasant night at the Villager Motel. It was pleasant from the call to make a reservation to our check-out. The "value" of this stay was excellent. The young woman who managed the administrative aspect of our stay was so very pleasant and helpful to us. She made sure we had the type of room we wanted which very roomy with a queen sized bed, a small sitting area with two wicker chairs, a refrigerator, desk and chair. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The grounds have several picnic tables and is next to an open field and we were able to watch the sunset over the hills. We also liked being able to park right in front of our unit which was most convenient. Breakfast is included with good coffee, toast, English muffins, fruit and cereal. The location is excellent as it is just a few minutes car drive to the areas major attractions. As long as you are comfortable with a good, clean, old fashioned and basic, small motel in a lovely setting, you will want to pick up your phone and a make reservations now. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here based on tripadvisor reviews as a small-town stopover on our way to New York. We were looking for a basic, clean motel, and we found it. The lady at the counter was very friendly and directed us to a restaurant just up the road to get dinner and drinks, which was perfect! Would definitely stay here again if we're ever in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varioussmallfires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

First the positives: the staff is very welcoming and friendly. When we asked to change rooms in order to have both rear and forward-facing windows, they switched us without complaint. The beds, while worn, were quite comfy. Our twins (aged 8) played on the ample motel grounds with the owners' kids the entire morning, and everyone had a decent time overall.

Not so impressive were the rooms, which looked like they had not been updated since the Nixon administration. The interiors were dingy and borderline in most respects; the threadbare blankets had multiple holes. While not dirty, the room was barely clean. We stayed for a weekend night in the summer (peak season in the Berkshires) and paid over $100 for the room - the cheapest rate I could find by far. In all fairness, I would say that the room was only worth half that at most.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. But if you're not too choosy about the places you sleep, and price is the deciding factor, you could probably do much worse.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the office if you need reliable wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwcama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Twp, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I just got home from a 2-night stay at Villager Motel. I was a little weary at first when I pulled in and saw how small it was, but I was pleasantly surprised. It is far from the road so you don't hear any cars driving by. The room is a decent size, and it had an "old-fashioned" look to it. Very clean bedding, floors, bathroom. Decent sized TV with lots of channels and free internet. The hotel staff is terrific and very friendly.

If I ever visit Williamstown again I will definitely be staying at Villager. It's not a "5-star", but it is simple, clean, and in a great, quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is a well-located motel in beautiful Williamstown, just a few miles from Williams College. It is clean, quiet and well-maintained, and the proprietors are very friendly and accommodating. It is not fancy, but excellent value for the price and location. The bed was comfortable and there was a coffee-maker in the room. The breakfast room is small and the continental breakfast quite basic, though adequate.

There were a few small things which didn't matter to me, but might to others: There wasn't a hairdryer in the room, so bring your own, if you think you'll need it; then, the TV is very small screen, almost like a computer monitor. There were also no blackout curtains.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamstown hotels
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cozy Corner Motel
Cozy Corner Motel
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
96 reviews
2.6 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Valley Motel
Green Valley Motel
#12 of 13 in Williamstown
29 reviews
2.3 mi away
Willows Motel
Willows Motel
#2 of 13 in Williamstown
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villager Motel

Property: Villager Motel
Address: 953 Simonds Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2101
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and comfortable rooms are away from the main road. Non smoking rooms available. Pets are welcome please inquire. Williams college, museum, Clark museum and center of the town is only 1.5 miles away. Two restaurants are on the walking distance. Complimentary breakfast is offered in the morning in the office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing