We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Clark is STILL under renovation.”

The Clark Art Institute
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Clark Art Institute is best known for its French Impressionist paintings by Claude Monet, Edgar Degas, Camille Pissarro, and especially Pierre-Auguste Renoir, with more than thirty paintings by the artist. The collection is also rich in American paintings by Winslow Homer, John Singer Sargent, George Inness, Frederic Remington, and Mary Cassatt; Italian and Northern Renaissance masterpieces; portraits and landscapes by European masters; and an extraordinary collection of silver, porcelain, and furniture. An active program of special exhibitions brings great works of art from around the world to the museum. Designed by renowned Pritzker Prize-winning architect Tadao Ando, the recently opened Clark Center is the centerpiece of the Clark's campus. The center includes special exhibition galleries as well as retail and dining spaces. It overlooks a dramatic three-tiered reflecting pool, integrating indoor and outdoor spaces and creating a stunning visual connection to the woodland surroundings and other buildings located on the campus. This sweeping new landscape design transforms the Clark's 140-acre campus and underscores new sustainability initiatives. In 1950 the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute was founded as a permanent home for the private art collection of Sterling and Francine Clark. In 1955 Sterling-who was an avid horseman with strong family ties to Williamstown and Cooperstown, New York-and his wife Francine presided at the official opening of the museum, sharing their magnificent yet little-known collection with the world for the first time. Since the founding, the museum has gained international stature for the quality of its collection, innovative special exhibitions, and Research and Academic Program.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Clark is STILL under renovation.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We visited last November and the museum was under extensive renovation with a few limited galleries open. We enjoyed seeing the art they had on display last year.

When we returned this November, we were hopeful that renovations were complete. But alas, they were not. So only a few small galleries were open.
It is a beautiful facility, and we are looking forward to seeing the entire museum--perhaps next year!?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MargeC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally M, Public Relations Manager at The Clark Art Institute, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you visiting and for your patience during our renovation. We are planning for a summer 2014 opening and return of the permanent collection. If you just can't wait to see some of your favorite paintings, the Museum of Fine Arts Houston is the next venue for The Age of Impressionism: Great French Paintings from the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute. The exhibition opens on December 22.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    125
    37
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top-drawer museum”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

World-renowned for its collection (especially French and American artists), the Clark also curates works on loan.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clark is being expanded”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Disappointed that museum is closed except for a small nearby gallery of "favorites." Can't wait for the new spaces to open!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarlymyTonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally M, Public Relations Manager at The Clark Art Institute, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
So sorry that you were disappointed, but very happy you are looking forward to the reopening in summer of 2014 - we certainly are excited and anxious to share the new and renovated spaces with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“what a Beautiful Jewel of a Museum!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I love visiting the Clark when I am traveling to the Williamstown area, and this latest visit was no exception...They had curated an extensive collection of work by Winslow Homer and it was great to see his work as a beginning illustrator, as well as the seasoned painter that he became. Really wonderful and they are nearing completion of a serious expansion project..I can't wait for my next visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaArtlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fabulous Collection”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

You get a little bit of everything here: old masters, familiar paintings, sculpture, etc. This really is a gorgeous museum in a wonderful college town. They are undergoing a huge renovation right now, so the collection is downsized into one building, but is still worth the trip. It will be a world class museum once it opens with the entire collection housed in new buildings. No fee during renovation. I've been several times and it never disappoints. Be sure to take advantage of walking trails as well!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kayak41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clark Art Institute also viewed

North Adams, Berkshires
 

Been to The Clark Art Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing