We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Motel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We were stuck with this motel after everything was sold out in Northern Berkshire county. It's old and musty, beds uncomfortable. Inn keeper is cranky. On top of that it's way overpriced. It really lacks the charm of what a Berkshires Inn should be.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryder54, Owner at Berkshire Hills Country Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I am totally puzzled by this guests comments.
They expressed no comments during their stay ;(((
I thought they wanted to be left alone and I respect that.
I wish they had talked to me about their concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    69
    15
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
103
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Thanks to all of you who suggested to ask for a room on the back of the inn - I enjoyed sounds of the bubbling brook vs. road's noises. The room was lovely and very nicely decorated. There were two rocking chairs and fireplace in my room which added to the overall "like home" feeling. The pool was awesome - I happened to have it all to myself, and had a very relaxing swim surrounded by pine trees and flowers. It is separated by trees from the inn, so you can relax by the pool without being in full view of the entire motel. It did not have any chemical smell at all, all I could smell was a lovely pine trees' scent. Very cozy. Also, there is a gazebo, a picnic table and chairs on the back of the inn by the brook - very nice area to sit and relax. Loved everything about my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our first trip to the Berkshires. We were there for a wedding weekend and our hosts had picked The Berkshire Hills Motel for our lodging, and we're so glad they did. The location is perfect- just a mile or so before Williamstown and situated by a beautiful rushing stream. It has the charm of a mid-century roadside motel- quaint, quiet, clean and spacious rooms. A simple, yet satisfying breakfast of fruit, cereal, and bagels is served in a large communal dining area in the lobby. Although cell reception is a bit dicey up there (Verizon seems to be the winner), the free wi-fi was strong and plentiful. The weather was sunny and hot, not quite enough for a full dip in their lovely stream-side pool, but perfect for poolside reading and toe-dipping. Follow our lead by grabbing a bottle of wine and relaxing in the gazebo by the water before turning in. The innkeeper Jill, was the absolute best part of our stay. Cheerful, friendly, very helpful for sightseeing suggestions (there are MANY) and attentive to our needs. To her credit though, she gets some great help from her trusty assistant- a handsome fuzzy grey cat named Bradley Cooper.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daytrippers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we were obliged to rent for three nights even though we needed only two nights to go to a wedding
at an exorbitant price for the quality of the room, the extremely poor breakfast and a very cold and formal welcome. Usually when you arrive in such places the host or hostess makes you feel like you have come to the right place and makes you feel welcome. Not here. In our room the shower head was falling off and attached with tape. I asked for it to be fixed and it was, more or less, the next day. One side of the bed did not have any place to put a box of tissue, your glasses or a book.It was a small detail but a great inconvenience. The breakfast was like being in college: cereal and cereal - and breads, but all of them sweet. Some oat meal, eggs and bacon, some muffins, ESPECIALLY GIVEN THE PRICE OF OUR ROOM would have been very nice. In conversations with other guests, who also went to the same wedding, there was quite an agreement about what poor value we were getting for the money. It is not nice to be in a place were they force you to pay for more nights you need then you end up with such poor value. We left it as a kind of depressing place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangerinebluepuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryder54, Owner at Berkshire Hills Country Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
There are two weekends where I have a three night minimum, Williams College Graduation and Williams College Reunion. This guest stayed during one of them.

It was made very clear, at the time the reservation was made, that this was the policy.

I was surprised when the guest wanted a refund because he was leaving a day early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray Brook, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Berkshire Hills Country Inn is a lovely motel with beautiful grounds, including a very pleasant stream. Jill Ryder, the owner, is warm and welcoming, as was Daniel, who checked us in. They also welcomed our little Shih Tzu, Leander. When we next visit, I will feel that we are "coming home".

Room Tip: I doubt if there is a bad room. Our request for a first floor room was accommodated. Restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 143Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I recently had the need to accommodate two business colleagues nearby my home and selected Berkshire Hills based on location and reviews.We were not disappointed. Jill the owner is so warm and welcoming and the place is spotlessly clean. Rooms are available on road side or river side, both were very nice and peaceful. Offering a generous breakfast buffet of baked goods, cereal and fruit which was great as there is no breakfast place immediately nearby, allows for an early start in the morning. There is a seasonal pool which is secluded; this is a nice spot to hang out, as is the picturesque deck with floral decoration. Overall this place has a great relaxed vibe while maintaining a professional demeanor. I would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone.

Room Tip: Both front and back rooms seem to be quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bark123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam Valley, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Following a day of Great day of skiing we decided to stop a see the availability of an overnight stay. Very pleasantly pleased ...our warm room, canopy bed, great location with a wonderful Mexican restaurant just down the street....I would definitely stay there next time we ski!

Room Tip: we loved room #7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vik f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
2.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
299 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
451 reviews
9.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
615 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
210 reviews
2.4 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshire Hills Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshire Hills Country Inn

Property: Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Address: 1146 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berkshire Hills Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on the Scenic Side of Beautiful Williamstown. Cozy accommodations, bountiful breakfast buffet included, family friendly, secluded outdoor pool bordering brooks. Near: 3 World Class Museums, Williams College, skiing, hiking, shopping,so much to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Berkshire Hills Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkshire Hills Hotel Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing