We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious Luxury & Culture at Its Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchards Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Fishkill
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gracious Luxury & Culture at Its Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Orchards exudes tradition in top class style. My wife and I make regular visits to the Berkshires for cultural enrichment and have stayed at The Orchards the last seven years. The rooms are much larger than can be found in most other hotels and they are very comfortably furnished. The bathrooms include dual sink areas and are both amply supplied. A living room with several sofas, armchairs, and a huge fireplace is the site of a gracious afternoon tea with assorted pastries.

The Berkshires have extraordinary museums, historical sites, and live theaters throughout its many quaint towns from Tanglewood to Lenox to Pittsfield and, of course our very favorite, Williamstown.

We find this northwestern community a haven with its remarkable Clark Institute. This museum is world renown for its unusually expansive art collection. There are also miles of beautiful nature walking trails on its campus and as part of the Mohawk Trail.

The Orchards is the place to stay because it is perfectly aligned with the best to be found in the Berkshires. The owners and management, especially Mitch and Bernie, pay attention to details and listen to customer input. The staff is welcoming, smiling, and totally helpful.

We are seasoned travelers and cannot imagine a more perfect destination!

Room Tip: Both the rooms with courtyard views or fireplaces are equally attractive. The Fitness Center include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAndy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    143
    67
    28
    16
See reviews for
123
209
15
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I highly recommend this hotel for short stays in the Berkshires. The rooms are oversized with king beds, many with fireplaces. The hotel is well-kept with nice amenities including full service Zagat-rated restaurant, gym, afternoon tea and morning coffee in the main sitting room. the room amenities are comfortable, though I'd prefer to have an in-room coffee pot.
Bathrooms are large, well lit, clean and well stocked. Double sinks, including a vanity mirror and bench.
Staff super-friendly! Walking distance to college campus and historical attractions. Great rates during college spring break.
Stayed there twice and would like to add to my '"annual destinations" list!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms have pretty, but seasonal views. Berkshire view rooms have lovely gas fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DcDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
It would be fantastic if you would add the Orchards to your annual destinations list. We would consider that as an indication that we have met or exceeded your expectations. There are many times throughout the year when we offer special rates, so please be sure to check with us. We have some great mid week deals for the summer that will allow you to enjoy all of the great attractions of the Berkshires while saving on lodging expenses. I hope you can take advantage of this opportunity.

On another note we have added a new coffee option for you. We now feature a Keurig machine that provides a selection of gourmet brews for our guests. Hope you will take advantage of it on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Hotel room was very spacious, clean, comfortable beds and the addition of a fireplace was the perfect touch. The staff could not have been more helpful. I had a very long drive to the hotel which was made worse because I took a wrong turn and added an hour to the drive. When I arrived I was surprised with a room upgrade. I had dinner in the Bar and it was wonderful as was the bartender, Richard, and the staff. The restaurant menu was very extensive. I had the Hummus plate, Arugula salad, Shaved Parmesean with Lemon Vinagrette. For the entree I had a Rib Eye Steak that was cooked to perfection. The front desk staff Chelsea and Mitch were both very helpful. So glad I tried this as my daughter will be starting school in the fall so, I know where I'll be staying for my visits over the next four years. Thank you and well done!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Orchards. Congratulations on becoming a member of the Williams family. We are especially pleased to have the opportunity to get to know you while your daughter is here in Williamstown. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Other than needing a little freshening (carpets) i would have given this an excellent. Very large rooms, helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goob007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thanks for taking the the time to provide us with your feedback regarding the Orchards Hotel. I'm pleased that you rated the property as excellent. You will be happy to know that we will be replacing our corridor carpets later this spring. Hopefully just in time for the summer season1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Turndown service was a special treat. We will go back again due to special price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thanas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thanks for staying at the Orchards recently. Like you, many people took advantage of our $99 March Madness rates. Hope to see you again next year. If you plan to visit the cultural attractions in Williamstown this summer, I would suggest you call or check our web site for the special mid week value rates. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

While visiting various colleges in New England with our teenager, I kept wishing every hotel could be like The Orchards. Easy, fast, and friendly check-in, huge, comfortable room with every amenity we could want, great value, and personalized attention (they somehow knew we were visiting Williams College and gave us a welcome packet with map and wonderful letter from the owner at check-in). The place feels very comfortable and inviting. If we do end up a Williams family, this will undoubtedly be our home away from home.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kartwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you very much for your kind remarks regarding the Orchards Hotel. It is especially pleasing to me to know that our people and facilities met your expectations. Since many of guests during this time of year are here to visit Williams College our staff has become pretty adroit at recognizing guests that here for that purpose. We feel that it is very important for us to live up to the extremely high standards set by the College. When we meet that goal we feel that we have accomplished our objective. We hope that you will become a members of the Williams Community and we look forward to your next visit to the campus. and the Orchards hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I have now stayed at The Orchards on two different occasions--most recently for 6 nights-- and I will now make it my preferred stay in Williamstown. Let's be clear, there are not many options -- it's either simple motels or B&B's, but The Orchards seems to be working hard to claim its 4 star rating. Were it not for its tired furnishings in some of the rooms, I think it is nearing its rating. But given the fact that several of the chairs in our room had stains and were coming apart, it's certainly not perfect. Our room was clean, large and the bedding was very comfortable. The heating unit is a little noisy, as they are individual units in each room, rather than a central system, but it was easy to control the temperature in the room - which is a big deal to me. (thank goodness for windows that open!) It was very nice to have coffee available in the morning in the lobby fireplace room, afternoon tea a nice touch -- with roaring fire to warm up to, and hotel staff who were friendly and attentive.

But one of the best reasons to stay here is the fact that there is a bar and restaurant, which given the limited options in Williamstown, is a huge advantage to B&B's and motels. Best of all, the bar is very cozy in the evening -- a nice place for happy hour and a good option for dinner. Gregg is a wonderful bartender, and there are many locals who rely on Gala bar for libations and dining. The chef is working hard to deliver a fresh menu, although, honestly, the menu is hit and miss. But as I am learning, in Williamstown it is slim pickings!

All in all, a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.2 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Hotel

Property: The Orchards Hotel
Address: 222 Adams Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2933
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome alternative to traditional franchised hotels and local inns. With AAA Four Diamond Awards for lodging and dining, the Orchards Hotel and Gala Steakhouse & Bistro provides exceptional surroundings, exemplary service and gourmet cuisine to make it the ideal choice for the unique, fresh and anything but ordinary visit to the Berkshires and the mountainous Mohawk Trail Region. Experience the most comfortable, kick-off-your shoes luxury secret in Western Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchards Hotel Williamstown
Ma Orchard Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing