We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchards Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We booked this hotel for the Bay State Games. We're glad we did. The service was great, our room was large and clean. The location was convenient. We enjoyed the afternoon tea. Our daughter enjoyed the cookies in the room each night. We had one breakfast and dinner at Gala. Both were good. It was nice to have someplace right in the hotel for dining.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amotedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
I'm glad that you decided to stay at the Orchards for the Bay State Games. Every year we appreciate the opportunity to be of service to the athletes and their families. Many of the families like staying here at the Orchards knowing that our restaurant ,Gala, offers both great value and excellent cuisine. As you mentioned it is very convenient to have dining option that doesn't require a trip off premises. Thanks again for staying with us. We'll look for you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    143
    67
    28
    16
See reviews for
123
209
15
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have stayed at The Orchards for the past five years with 15 - 27 close college friends (depending on the year) and we have never been disappointed. The staff is always friendly, courteous and accomodating and they treat us like family. It is always good to see the same staff year after year (Mitch)! The rooms are spacious, clean and well-kept. The cookies each night are a welcome treat after a long day of skiing! The Gala restaurant staff is helpful and the food is top notch. Chef Chris does an excellent job of preparing each dish so that it is delicious and this ranks among the top 4-star restaurants we have been to in NYC. Many of the wives enjoy breakfast there to start their day. You can be sure that our children will probably be coming back to The Orchards with their children from all the great memories we have had in the fireplace room, family room, conference rooms, and hotel rooms. I also didn't want to leave out the lovely midday tea in the fireplace room. In my opinion The Orchards is an excellent hotel!

Room Tip: The fireplace rooms are beautiful and quaint but there are a limited number of them so book early an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALNNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
We love that you have your "winter reunion" with us. I'm very happy that you have chosen to come back year after year and I hope that your visit will continue for many more winters. In your review you mentioned both Chris ,our chef, and Mitch, our front office manager. You will be very pleased( as we are) to know that Chris and Mitch recently received Stars of the Industry Awards presented by the Mass. Lodging Association at a special awards luncheon in Boston. We are very proud of them and I know that you will be pleased to hear that they received this well deserved honor.

We all look forward to seeing you again next ski season! Thanks for the sharing your thoughts regarding the Orchards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I booked The Orchards Hotel for 1 night because I was unable to get a room at Jiminy Peaks Country Inn. Big mistake!!! I should have booked the Orchards for both nights! This is a lovely property, with a delightful/helpful staff. The room was a Fireside King, and they brought in 2 rollaways for our children(at no charge). The roll-aways were full size twin beds. The bathroom was a little dated with the pink toilet and tub, but very clean and well stocked.The gas fireplace heated up the entire room very quickly. There was a blizzard going on outside so we ate at Gala's, also an excellent choice. We will only be staying here from now on when we ski Jiminy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goswett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
It's proving to be a a great ski year here in the Berkshires. I'm very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the skiing at Jiminy, and the comforts of home here at the Orchards and Gala. There is something about a warm glowing fireplace on a a cold wintry night. Speaking for entire staff we thank you for your wonderful comments. We're glad that you found us, and hope that you will be able to get another ski trip this winter. Last week's storm left us with great ski conditions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is a lovely hotel in Williamstown. We reserved one of the fireplace rooms, because we were escaping cabin fever at home (outside Boston) in winter. The room was large and very nice. The staff was very attentive and the place was immaculate. Chris, the executive chef, was fabulous. His sauces and unique preparations and offerings were outstanding. Chris stopped by our table and we could see he really was enjoying his work. We would definitely come back here again, especially in the summer or fall.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
One quick look at Chef Chris and it is easy to see that he loves his work. He is especially pleased when he hears that our guests enjoy his work as much as he does. Chris is the key to the succes of Gala Steakhouse and Bistro and we are very lucky to have him to take care of all of the culinary needs of our guests. This winter Chris and our Gala manager Matt have combined their skills to develop some very special dinners combining great food with craft beers and special wine pairings. You might want to check the website to get information about these special events. On Feb 28 Gala is pairing up with Berkshire Brewing Co. to offer a a unique dinner with beer pairings. Hope to see you there!

Thanks again for choosing Orchards and Gala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY, USA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

The Orchards is a stone's throw from Williams College, just off Route 2 which runs through the school. We stayed for two nights while skiing at Jiminy Peak, about a half hour away. There are closer hotels, but availability is usually better and cheaper around Williamstown and we like the college atmosphere.

The Orchards is a charming smaller hotel, built in the mid-80s. It was built in the style of an traditional inn, with a "living room" off the lobby area with a wood burning fireplace and lots of wood paneling. The hotel is clean and well maintained and they've updated with flat screen TVs in the rooms, central ac/heat and a small fitness room. They maintain nice touches such as chocolate chip cookies with turndown, upscale toiletries, and a plush bathrobe. There is a small outdoor pool which is closed in the winter.

We booked a fireplace king room, which is a bit bigger than the standard room and was great for our family of three. The room was spacious, had a gas fireplace, and a large bathroom with two sinks and separate tub and shower. We had a rollaway bed for an extra $20/night. There was a small fridge in our room, and free wifi. Our room faced Route 2 but the large bay window was double glazed and we heard no road noise.

As part of our package, we bought breakfast vouchers for $10 a person. There is one restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the dining is billed as higher end. The breakfast is menu-only and was very good, though they were short-staffed when we were there and the one server quickly became overwhelmed by the rush hour crowd. We also bought Jiminy Peak lift tickets at the front desk at a $10 discount.

All-in-all, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return when in the area.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jack783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Wow ...what a very nice write up about the Orchards! Thank you very much for your many kind remarks. We continually strive to please all of guests whether they are here to ski, visit Williams, enjoy a date night, or take advantage of the many cultural attractions the Berkshires are noted for. Most of ourguests enjoy the fact that our AAA 4 Diamond hotel and Gala Steakhouse bistro offer a full range of hotel services and food options that are unmatched in Williamstown.

We look forward to your next visit and thanks again for your thoughtful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed for one night with our teen age daughter but will be back.
Our room was spacious and clean and we loved the layout of the bathroom with both a tub and a walk-in shower. We had to pay $10 per person for the breakfast, but it was delicious and worth it. The staff was pleasant. My daughter loved the chocolate chip cookies left on our pillow. The TV seemed small so we did not watch anything, but it might be because the room was bigger than usual so we were further away from it. The only negative was the complimentary coffee in the lobby was cold and tasted awful, but the restaurant's coffee was fine.I wish they had queen beds in the rooms, but we had to settle for two doubles.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Orchards. We will make our best effort to improve the quality of morning coffee service. At the same time, however I promise not to touch our chocolate chip recipe that your daughter enjoyed so much. Hopefully we will get to see both of you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Just finished an amazing weekend at this beautiful hotel while visiting my daughter at Williams College. Me and my husband were always staying at the Williams Inn however we found the Orchards and we are very pleased with this hotel and accommodations. Beds were very comfortable as well as sparkling clean rooms.

Front Desk staff was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Had dinner in the bar/lounge area and really enjoyed dining by the fireplace it just added to the atmosphere, food was delicious and greatly prepared.

The manager of the restaurant was very nice making sure we had everything we needed and making sure we enjoyed everything.

Cant wait to come back looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
It great to hear that you found us. We strive to make every visitor to Williams College as comfortable as possible. We believe that we must always work to provide the same high standards that the students and parents experience at Williams. I'm very happy to know that we met your standards. I hope that we will see you often on future visits. As a Williams Dad myself I enjoy meeting other William's parents so please take an opportunity to say "Hello" the next time you are at the Orchards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.2 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Hotel

Property: The Orchards Hotel
Address: 222 Adams Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2933
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome alternative to traditional franchised hotels and local inns. With AAA Four Diamond Awards for lodging and dining, the Orchards Hotel and Gala Steakhouse & Bistro provides exceptional surroundings, exemplary service and gourmet cuisine to make it the ideal choice for the unique, fresh and anything but ordinary visit to the Berkshires and the mountainous Mohawk Trail Region. Experience the most comfortable, kick-off-your shoes luxury secret in Western Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchards Hotel Williamstown
Ma Orchard Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing