We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Orchards Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Willows Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Corner Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Williams Inn(Williamstown)
US$151
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northside Motel(Williamstown)
US$77
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Williamstown Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$75
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Valley Motel(Williamstown)
US$54
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Berkshire Valley Inn(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$87
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berkshire Hills Country Inn(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
205
154
75
30
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
154
75
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgala restaurantcookiesturn down servicefireplace roomwilliams collegewindow seatfitness roombay windowgrand pianobreakfast and dinnerfitness centertwo sinksrooms are largecomfortable hotelsmall poolold world charmnew england
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here during the Solid Sound Festival. It was $400 a night so we expected a level of service and accommodation equal to the price. Not even close. The turn down service literally means turning the air conditioning OFF. We returned two nights to a room over 80 degrees after spending the entire day out in the sun. The controls were not labeled and did not turn the AC on no matter what we did. When we did manage to get it on, it took hours to cool down. This is just not what one would expect for $400 a night. We booked for three and didn't get towels, soap, or even "turn down" treatment for three. They never bothered to replace the 2 bottles of water in the room ad hung wet towels back up to dry instead of replacing them. Maids didn't smile or otherwise acknowledge us. Breakfast was a nightmare. The manager told us it would be 10 minutes for a table when there were clearly 10 empty tables. They didn't bother to increase staff for the weekend and had one poor waitress left to do everything.

This hotel has potential but is clearly troubled. I would never stay there for 400 a night - it's a $100 a night run operation with nice rooms.

Front desk never bothered to ask how our stay was when we checked out.

Room Tip: Ask for one where they don't rudely turn your AC off.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We are very concerned with your remarks and will be reaching out to you directly. Our hotel is consistently rated very highly by our guests and we pledge to make every effort to address all of your issues. Our goal is to make you feel as comfortable with the Orchards as so many of our other guests do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed with my daughter at the Orchards during a college visit to Williams. It was by far our favorite hotel during the whole college tour. The staff was super attentive and friendly. The room was nicely decorated, large and very comfortable as was the bathroom. Everything was very clean and the decor of the hotel was very tasteful. Our dinner and breakfast at the Gala Steak house were absolutely delicious.It is just a few minutes to Williams College which was great since we were running a bit late for the tour. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank You for staying at the Orchards when you came to visit Williams College. As you already know, Williams is a very special school and it makes us extremely happy to hear that we made your visit to the campus more enjoyable. I hope that we will see you again as new members of the Williams Family. Thanks again for the kind remarks. Best of luck on your college search where ever that takes you. Hopefully back to Williamstown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This place is a dump. Coming up to the college and this place is not nice at all. The hallways smell horrible as do the rooms. The people at the front desk didn't smile once, and for 270 dollars a night, this place is a ripoff.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Espofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

I'm very concerned that your review of the Orchards is "Turrable". We aim to please everyone with our service and accommodations, but apparently we didn't achieve that goal with you. As a AAA 4 Diamond Award Winner, and as winners of the Trip Advisor Award of Excellence we are disappointed when we fail to meet those standards in the eyes any of our guests. Our past reviews, especially those from Williams College visitors would indicate that for the most part our visitors love staying here and come back time and time again. I can only say that I hope that you will try us again if you chose to visit Williams College again. I assure you that we will do our best to provide you with an experience that isn't "turrable".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stay at the Orchards a couple times a year even though I live I the Berkshires. The rooms and staff are the best. My hat goes off to Mitch who has always made my stay special. Our dinner was great but a little overpriced, our breakfast was lovely. I always have felt welcomed and will continue to be a guest at my little getaway!
Thanks Orchards,
Joe deMoncada & Cindy Kaplan

Room Tip: All the rooms are special
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenaflyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Joe and Cindy,
We are pleased that you continue to view the Orchards as your special little getaway spot. As you already know Mitch and his team at the front desk do a wonderful job of making guests feel welcome and comfortable. Thanks for recognizing Mitch for the great job that he does.
Please note that our menu in Gala has a very wide range of items and huge range of price points. We however will make note of your price concerns as we always strive to keep our pricing reasonable. Chef has a new summer menu that he has just rolled out. I think that you will find that it has enough variety to please all tastes without breaking the bank.
Thanks for staying at the Orchards. We will look forward to having you as our guests.
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a perfectly nice visit to The Orchards. The room was reasonably quiet -- the hotel was not altogether full. The room temperature was fine but the hallways were exceptionally warm -- cost savings? The room itself was reasonably comfortable, the decor a little tired, but holding up okay. There was nothing in particular to rave about, but it was comfortable enough. Except (and this goes for all hotels that have switched to them): the duvets. Sleep becomes impractical when you cannot "split the difference" -- have just a sheet, or a sheet + blanket. The duvet is heavy, you got hot, then removing it, cold. Sleep? Not really so altogether likely. The staff was friendly -- there seemed a tradition to be maintained of friendliness. Were it only a bit more sleep-feasible...

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, per suggestions on review sites. The room was quite quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orchardsgm, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Needless to say I'm disappointed that your experience at the Orchards was only "pretty good" We strive to make every guest visit a very pleasant experience. After reading your comments regarding the duvets I want to mention that on a future visit please ask and we will be happy to remove the duvet and replace it with a blanket. ( as would most other hotels). That should resolve your comfort problem.
You are correct that we are proud of the fact our staff works tirelessly to be warm and hospitable. They all enjoy taking care of our guests and they love knowing that their efforts are appreciated. Thanks for pointing out this point in our review.
I hope that you will stay with us again. I'm sure that we can provide you with a good night's sleep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews