We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, Aging Hotel, Reserved Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchards Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
San Francisco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quaint, Aging Hotel, Reserved Staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff works hard to keep the property up. Rooms are quite large and well appointed, although the age shows in many corners of the room. We were pleasantly surprised to see a large room, one of the largest bathrooms during our stay. However, the spa and pool were not ready and open during evenings. It's a great stop, if you're visiting Williamscollege.

It is definitely a family friendly hotel and one of the best in the area, given such low tourism at this part of the state.

Room Tip: Luckily there's now a Dunkin' Donuts just next to the hotel, so you can grab something to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. Your kind words about the property will be shared with the entire team. We will review our pool hours to make certain we can accommodate all our guests. The beautiful campus of Williams College is located approximately 1 mile from the Orchards. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Orchards when you are in Williamstown again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    143
    67
    28
    16
See reviews for
123
209
15
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is situated on some prime real estate with great mountain views. The staff was very pleasant but not quite on the ball. The phones were ringing off hook without anyone answering them, a staff member was mowing the lawn outside our window at 8 AM and the waitstaff at the restaurant was unable to service more than one table at a time.

Decent hotel but not worth the price. In need of a remodel and someone to train the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. Our staff is well-trained, and frequently complimented, so I apologize that you seemed to encounter some isolated incidents. We regularly review our training programs to ensure our staff is prepared. I apologize for the mowing at 8am. I can assure you that it will not happen again. We are in the beginning stage of a remodel as well. New carpets and new bedding will be completed by September 2014, with more remodeling slated for 2015. If you are in the area again, I do hope you will give us another opportunity. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The staff was pleasant. That is about all I can contribute that is kind… The hotel is long overdue for an overhaul. The rooms, while sizable, are tired and beat up. Chips off the cabinets, furniture and walls are the norm. The bathrooms are borderline scary… moldy grout lines, flickering lights and rusty faucets. I truly wish I had figured this out beforehand and booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paigers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. I'm sorry you were dissatisfied with your stay. The Orchards is in the process of a remodel. We started this summer with the purchase of new pool furniture, new hallway carpeting, (which is due to be installed by Sept 1st), and our new bedding will be here for the fall season. New carpet, drapes, and bathrooms are scheduled for the rooms in 2015. I hope you will give us another try in the future after our renovations are complete. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just an overnight stay in the Berkshires, but we absolutely loved it. Our room was spacious, clean, well-equiped, quiet, just everything a traveler could hope for. And the Gala Restaurant (attached to Orchards) was able to seat us on a very busy night where we enjoyed a perfect meal. This property is lovely and convenient to all travel routes in the area. I would definitely stay here again whenever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. Thank you for the kind words regarding your experience. We have tried to design our rooms to meet all our guests' needs. It is a great benefit to our hotel to have Gala Restaurant located in the hotel. Several of our guests do take advantage and dine with us, as long as their schedule allows. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are visiting the Williamstown area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye Brook, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Orchards is a lovely place to stay--nice outdoor pool area as well as other outdoor seating areas.Rooms are large and comfortable. Staff is friendly and very helpful and the chocolate chip cookies on the reception desk each afternoon are great. Nice added touch is the complimentary coffee/tea in the morning and afternoon tea. We had breakfast on our last morning and it was lovely--nice menu with reasonable prices. Only suggestion I have is that the bathrooms could use updating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomsriver1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. The summer in the Berkshires is a wonderful time of year to enjoy our pond, gardens, and pool area. This year we purchased new pool furniture which makes the pool and deck more attractive for our guests to enjoy. One of our delight and surprises are the chocolate chip cookies at check-in, which are a big hit!! Our complimentary coffee and afternoon tea are always enjoyed by our guests as they relax in our main living room. Breakfast at Gala is wonderful in the morning on our patio, overlooking the pond and flower garden. We will certainly consider updating our bathrooms. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Staff were friendly and efficient. Room was very good -sized, nicely, if not newly, appointed and clean. We did not dine in the hotel but the bar had a good selection. Depending on when one is staying, rates can be rather high.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 000NCB000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. Thank you for the kind words regarding our team. Our goal is to hire guest orientated team members that put the needs of our guests first. Rates do vary per the season, and we do offer several specials and packages throughout the year. We look forward to welcoming you to the Orchards again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Although slightly faded, this hotel retains a certain elegance. Free tea and cakes greeted us in the quiet lounge area when we arrived (free daily from 3-5pm, along with free coffee in the mornings). There's an outdoor swimming pool which wasn't available in our early season stay, and free car parking. Our bedroom was enormous, almost a suite, with very big bathroom and dressing room adjacent. The beds were comfortable and there was free wifi and complimentary water and toiletries. The restaurant and bar are chilly (aircon too high) but the restaurant offers a decent grill selection. A steak was beautifully prepared and very tasty, but the chef here takes "al dente" far too literally when it comes to vegetables, our were effectively raw. The staff were friendly and courteous and although tired in places the decor wasn't too bad. I would recommend this as a stop-over hotel for its charm, comfort and quietness.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. Afternoon tea is a tradition at the Orchards and is always enjoyed by our guests. Complimentary coffee is provided for our guests that have to rise early to attend to their business or leisure in Williamstown. We will review our preparation of the vegetables and make adjustments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stop over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.2 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
282 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
598 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Hotel

Property: The Orchards Hotel
Address: 222 Adams Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2933
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome alternative to traditional franchised hotels and local inns. With AAA Four Diamond Awards for lodging and dining, the Orchards Hotel and Gala Steakhouse & Bistro provides exceptional surroundings, exemplary service and gourmet cuisine to make it the ideal choice for the unique, fresh and anything but ordinary visit to the Berkshires and the mountainous Mohawk Trail Region. Experience the most comfortable, kick-off-your shoes luxury secret in Western Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchards Hotel Williamstown
Ma Orchard Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing