We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as nice as we hoped for”
Review of The Orchards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchards Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not quite as nice as we hoped for”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I suspect The Orchards was a nicer place some years ago, but it needs some freshening and upkeep. The staff was pleasant, the room adequate. I had dinner outdoors at the hotel's restaurant, which was a nice interior courtyard setting but not as special as it could be. The food was fine, but not memorable. Nothing wrong with spending a night here if one is visiting the area, but there is nothing about the hotel that beckons one back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonTraveler193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. We have completed the first step of our renovations. New carpet installation was completed on August 29th, and our new bedding was put in place the first week of September. Our interior courtyard is a very nice setting to enjoy dinner. We do offer special delights and surprises, such as complimentary coffee and afternoon tea for our guests to enjoy. I hope you will give us another try if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    146
    68
    29
    16
See reviews for
125
211
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

During a four night stay in August we found The Orchards to be clean, quiet and comfortable. Our “courtyard” room was enormous and while the rose-colored bathroom fixtures evoked an earlier era, everything worked well and was spotlessly clean. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We had an outstanding dinner at the on-site Gala Steakhouse which also served surprisingly affordable breakfasts. The Orchards has a pool, a workout room and complimentary beverages morning and late afternoon, all nice although modest in scale. The chocolate chip cookies delivered with each night’s turn down service were excellent. Several casual restaurants and a grocery store are across the street and the in-room refrigerator and cafe table make take out food a good dining option. Prime Williamstown attractions such as The Clark art museum and the Williamstown Theatre Festival are a 5 minute drive and Mass MOCA in North Adams is 15 minutes away. If you’re looking for a traditional hotel in the northern Berkshires, The Orchards is a fine choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPHJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel, restaurant, and our surrounding area. Your thoughtful comments will be shared with the team! Williamstown is a wonderful spot. The town has so much to offer. The reopened Clark Art Museum is absolutely beautiful. Summer in the Berkshires has much to offer, including the WTF and all the outdoor concerts at Mass MOCA. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, CT
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Orchards could be a great country hotel! Its ambience vies with the Cotswold country hotels of England. Its atmosphere is similar, but It does need updating.The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms large. Like at English country houses, an online booking site seems to imply that a prix fixe dinner is expected. Do not go that route! The three courses we were served were abysmal at best. Others around the room seemed less perturbed, maybe because they knew better than to book the prix fixe. The hotel seems to have many regulars, which is a definite positive. The staff, generally, is pleasant, and the wait staff seems to overcome obstacles even when outside large party groups are present.

Room Tip: Beware of Room 113 where the wifi doesn't work when it works everywhere else and where sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWDCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. I could not agree with you more about the Cotswold country hotels, a great similarity. I’m sorry if the website is misleading, that is not our intent. I apologize that the three course dinner did not meet your expectations. We will review the prix fixe option online. We do have a great deal of regulars, which is wonderful and speaks volumes about our restaurant team. We have started the updating process. Our carpet installation was completed on August 29th and new bedding was being put in place the first week of September. I look forward to welcoming you back to Orchards with all our new updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff works hard to keep the property up. Rooms are quite large and well appointed, although the age shows in many corners of the room. We were pleasantly surprised to see a large room, one of the largest bathrooms during our stay. However, the spa and pool were not ready and open during evenings. It's a great stop, if you're visiting Williamscollege.

It is definitely a family friendly hotel and one of the best in the area, given such low tourism at this part of the state.

Room Tip: Luckily there's now a Dunkin' Donuts just next to the hotel, so you can grab something to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. Your kind words about the property will be shared with the entire team. We will review our pool hours to make certain we can accommodate all our guests. The beautiful campus of Williams College is located approximately 1 mile from the Orchards. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Orchards when you are in Williamstown again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is situated on some prime real estate with great mountain views. The staff was very pleasant but not quite on the ball. The phones were ringing off hook without anyone answering them, a staff member was mowing the lawn outside our window at 8 AM and the waitstaff at the restaurant was unable to service more than one table at a time.

Decent hotel but not worth the price. In need of a remodel and someone to train the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. Our staff is well-trained, and frequently complimented, so I apologize that you seemed to encounter some isolated incidents. We regularly review our training programs to ensure our staff is prepared. I apologize for the mowing at 8am. I can assure you that it will not happen again. We are in the beginning stage of a remodel as well. New carpets and new bedding will be completed by September 2014, with more remodeling slated for 2015. If you are in the area again, I do hope you will give us another opportunity. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The staff was pleasant. That is about all I can contribute that is kind… The hotel is long overdue for an overhaul. The rooms, while sizable, are tired and beat up. Chips off the cabinets, furniture and walls are the norm. The bathrooms are borderline scary… moldy grout lines, flickering lights and rusty faucets. I truly wish I had figured this out beforehand and booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paigers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. I'm sorry you were dissatisfied with your stay. The Orchards is in the process of a remodel. We started this summer with the purchase of new pool furniture, new hallway carpeting, (which is due to be installed by Sept 1st), and our new bedding will be here for the fall season. New carpet, drapes, and bathrooms are scheduled for the rooms in 2015. I hope you will give us another try in the future after our renovations are complete. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just an overnight stay in the Berkshires, but we absolutely loved it. Our room was spacious, clean, well-equiped, quiet, just everything a traveler could hope for. And the Gala Restaurant (attached to Orchards) was able to seat us on a very busy night where we enjoyed a perfect meal. This property is lovely and convenient to all travel routes in the area. I would definitely stay here again whenever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the time it took to do so. Thank you for the kind words regarding your experience. We have tried to design our rooms to meet all our guests' needs. It is a great benefit to our hotel to have Gala Restaurant located in the hotel. Several of our guests do take advantage and dine with us, as long as their schedule allows. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are visiting the Williamstown area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.2 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
299 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
615 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
385 reviews
2.3 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Hotel

Property: The Orchards Hotel
Address: 222 Adams Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2933
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamstown
#4 Family Hotel in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome alternative to traditional franchised hotels and local inns. With AAA Four Diamond Awards for lodging and dining, the Orchards Hotel and Gala Steakhouse & Bistro provides exceptional surroundings, exemplary service and gourmet cuisine to make it the ideal choice for the unique, fresh and anything but ordinary visit to the Berkshires and the mountainous Mohawk Trail Region. Experience the most comfortable, kick-off-your shoes luxury secret in Western Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchards Hotel Williamstown
Ma Orchard Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing