We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History buffs B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River Bend Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Bend Farm
Ranked #2 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History buffs B&B”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

A surprise find in Williamstown was the River Bend Farm B&B, Dave and Judy are superb hosts and welcomed us  to their restored 18th century home with a warm drink and a friendly informal aire. The rooms are all furnished with a thoughtful attention to detail and it really felt like we had stepped back in time, to a slower more relaxed pace. Each room had a story to tell, a little of which was told on a small plaque by each door. Although the building is as authentic as possible to it's original roots, there is still a touch of 21st century by way of WiFi and modern bathroom and kitchen. An appetising freshly prepared breakfast of our choice finished off our stay here. One point to remember, payment by card has not yet reached the 18h century.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saukma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This beautiful old B&B is the reconstructed home of 18th century Williamstown founder Benjamin Simonds. You feel that you have stepped back into colonial times in this fascinating and comfortable house. Judy and Dave are gracious and welcoming hosts who serve one of the best breakfasts I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The owners have preserved the home of the founder of Williamstown with meticulous attention to detail. This is a museum as much as it is a lodging. Small concessions have been made for the comfort of modern travellers -- Two bathrooms -- one with shower, and basic kitchen appliances so breakfast can be prepared -- along with electric lights and steam heat. In other ways, the experience is much the same as that of an 18th century traveller. This may not be ideal for everyone, but it was one of my most memorable B&B stays. The owners are friendly and deeply knowledgeable -- like the best docents in a museum, the breakfast is basic, but delicious, the pricing is reasonable, the access to the Williams college campus is easy (3 minute drive).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALM22559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We were just looking for a "New England B and B" and accidently found River Bend Farm. What an incredible experience. This is a four room fully restored 1770 Tavern on the old Mohawk Trail. The owners, Mr and Mrs Loomis, have personally restored every inch of this Tavern to its original condition. Original floors, walls, and more. Two of the rooms have had air conditioning added and the shared bathrooms are fully modern but are part of 1770 Colonial rooms. Each room has a plaque that explains how the room was used in 1770 and what was found during the restoration and other useful and interesting information. The breakfast consisted of farm grown and self baked goodies from the property. We have stayed at many, many B & B's and River Bend Farm is now our "best B and B experience". This B & B wouldn't be ideal for everyone. It isn't Victorian, has shared bathrooms, has a 1770 "rustic" feel that would be better to describe at "authentic". The town of Williamstown is relatively small but has excellent museums including The Clark which has Degas and Picasso and others. The museum at Williams College has a display of original American Revolution documents that rivals or beats those at The National Archives in DC and you can stand right in front of them without all those crowds. George Washington's signature is right there! The town was an excellent place to visit but The River Bend Farm was the highlight of our New England vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskorpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed at the River Bend Inn during fall of last year. The foliage was beautiful and we went on several hikes nearby in the White Mountains. The food was fantastic - the breakfasts were incredible.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babataifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Delightful conversationalists and welcoming informal hosts, Dave and Judy ensured that we had a perfect stay. It took a bit of finding with the limited directions in the Lonely Planet guidebook, but we were so pleased that we persevered. Scrumptious home baked cakes, bread and preserves... lovely open log fire, and a relaxed atmosphere that went beautifully with the New England in the Fall feeling we'd learnt to enjoy. I would certainly recommend this as a quirky, different place to stay... it's not a luxury hotel, it's better....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vix_Chambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

If you're looking for a spa-like, modern, austere stay, don't try River Bend Farm. If you're looking for an authentic, comfortable, family-like experience though, this is the place for you. Nothing compares to staying in this restored 18th-century farmhouse...the furniture is beautiful, the beds are comfortable, and the people there (including Dave and Judy) are interesting. Visualize this: a handmade copper sink in the middle of the kitchen; collections of milk bottles and hurricane lamps in the downstairs bathroom; and rocking chairs in every room. Even though the bathrooms are shared and the floors are wonderfully creaky, we had a fantastic time at River Bend Farm and regret only having one night in town. To top it off, Dave and Judy make a delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloislane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
282 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
445 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
372 reviews
1.6 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
275 reviews
2.7 mi away
1896 House - Barnside Inn
1896 House - Barnside Inn
#5 of 9 in Williamstown
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Bend Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bend Farm

Property: River Bend Farm
Address: 643 Simonds Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2105
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing