We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Ideal”
Review of River Bend Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Bend Farm
Ranked #4 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2008

This was such a lovely place to stay- the 1770 restoration was so impressive; even the latches on the doors are authentically replicated by a metal-smith. They have a photo album with before and after photos- which illustrate the hard work Judy and Dave put into this place- well worth it! We don't drive and Dave took two bicycles out from his garage to lend us, which we rode to Mass MoCA, The Clark and everywhere we needed to go...

Every evening we relaxed in the claw-foot tub that looks out onto a beautiful view, went out for a dinner and slept peacefully in the yellow room. The shared bathrooms were not problematic at all (no waits and very clean) and we never heard or saw any other guests except at breakfast. The breakfast was carbohydrate heavy (which was fine, but I would have loved yogurt or eggs) and Judy's delicious homemade granola inspired me to make my own- I have continued to do so monthly since our stay two years ago!

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2007

We stayed for two nights at River Bend Farm. The B&B is not on a river bend and is not a farm. It is right next to a busy road and a train line that operates at night. The owners were friendly and helpful and they are clearly very passionate about this restored house. Breakfasts were good and the coffee was excellent. We found the bathroom facilities somewhat lacking – there is one shower for potentially eight guests. There is one other bathroom, but this only has a bath. It did feel rather like a backpackers hostel when we had to get up early or get in a line to have a shower! The bed was not comfortable and was creaky – we did not sleep well on either of the nights.

Stayed: August 2007
9  Thank lostintheirishsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2006

The moment we set foot into River Bend Farm, we knew it was a special place. Built in 1770, this former tavern and home has been masterfully restored by its current owners, Dave and Judy Loomis. We truly felt as if we had stepped back in time. We were so entranced by the atmosphere that we didn't want to go out to dinner our first night there. Instead we bought some wine and cheese and enjoyed them in the candlelit tap room while watching the flickering flames in the fireplace. Eventually, we retired to our beautifully furnished room and slept peacefully. In the morning, Dave prepared breakfast for us in the keeping room, the chill of the early fall morning warmed by another fireplace and stimulating conversation. Dave also gave us excellent recommendations on the cultural and natural attractions in the area.

If you need TV, Internet access, a private bath, and other "mod cons" this place is not for you. If you love history and want to escape for a few days to a simpler life, it's perfect. We look forward to returning.

Stayed: September 2006
6  Thank Nuyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstrapiDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dexterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamstown hotels
2.7 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
1.1 mi away
House On Main Street
House On Main Street
#5 of 9 in Williamstown
47 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clover Hill Farm
Clover Hill Farm
#7 of 9 in Williamstown
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
244 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
348 reviews
1.7 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Bend Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bend Farm

Address: 643 Simonds Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2105
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range: £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing