We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous place to stay”
Review of River Bend Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Bend Farm
Ranked #3 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place to stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed at the River Bend Inn during fall of last year. The foliage was beautiful and we went on several hikes nearby in the White Mountains. The food was fantastic - the breakfasts were incredible.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babataifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Delightful conversationalists and welcoming informal hosts, Dave and Judy ensured that we had a perfect stay. It took a bit of finding with the limited directions in the Lonely Planet guidebook, but we were so pleased that we persevered. Scrumptious home baked cakes, bread and preserves... lovely open log fire, and a relaxed atmosphere that went beautifully with the New England in the Fall feeling we'd learnt to enjoy. I would certainly recommend this as a quirky, different place to stay... it's not a luxury hotel, it's better....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vix_Chambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

If you're looking for a spa-like, modern, austere stay, don't try River Bend Farm. If you're looking for an authentic, comfortable, family-like experience though, this is the place for you. Nothing compares to staying in this restored 18th-century farmhouse...the furniture is beautiful, the beds are comfortable, and the people there (including Dave and Judy) are interesting. Visualize this: a handmade copper sink in the middle of the kitchen; collections of milk bottles and hurricane lamps in the downstairs bathroom; and rocking chairs in every room. Even though the bathrooms are shared and the floors are wonderfully creaky, we had a fantastic time at River Bend Farm and regret only having one night in town. To top it off, Dave and Judy make a delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloislane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

I have only the nicest things to say about this B&B! We found it accidentally, after our first B&B forgot about our reservation, but am so glad we did! Dave and Judy (the owners) were so sweet and accommodating--they welcomed us in for an impromptu evening, and even gave us a nice last-minute discount. Dave led us on a wonderful tour of the place, and let us choose our favorite room--we were in the Master bedroom. He politely showed us where extra blankets were stored, and gave us our privacy. The bathroom is down the hall, but it's not a problem at all. Our room didn't have a television, but it wasn't a big issue either--walking around this amazing historic building was enough evening entertainment! Each room has a little plaque with information about its history and the renovation process (Dave and Judy completed the 15-year total renovation of the building by themselves, I believe, and their work is impeccable).

Breakfast the next morning was great--fresh fruit, granola, homemade breads and preserves, yogurt, juice, and coffee. Dave and Judy were nice enough to prepare breakfast whenever we asked (which was early), and we all enjoyed a nice politics discussion in the morning. The food and room were great, and overall Dave and Judy are great owners--we highly, highly recommend the River Bend Farm B&B!

Helpful?
2 Thank NEtouristMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

We just found the River Bend in '07 and regret not finding it sooner. This year Dave and Judy have added ac to each bedroom and kept the level of service, cleanliness, and continental breakfast high. Dave even put up a hammock for us to laze in between activites. A step back in time. A place to refresh your body and mnd.

  • Liked — historical restoration
  • Disliked — no separate bath
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fragnello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

This was such a lovely place to stay- the 1770 restoration was so impressive; even the latches on the doors are authentically replicated by a metal-smith. They have a photo album with before and after photos- which illustrate the hard work Judy and Dave put into this place- well worth it! We don't drive and Dave took two bicycles out from his garage to lend us, which we rode to Mass MoCA, The Clark and everywhere we needed to go...

Every evening we relaxed in the claw-foot tub that looks out onto a beautiful view, went out for a dinner and slept peacefully in the yellow room. The shared bathrooms were not problematic at all (no waits and very clean) and we never heard or saw any other guests except at breakfast. The breakfast was carbohydrate heavy (which was fine, but I would have loved yogurt or eggs) and Judy's delicious homemade granola inspired me to make my own- I have continued to do so monthly since our stay two years ago!

  • Liked — Authentic restoration, Judy and Dave, bicycles
  • Disliked — lack of protein for breakfast
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bowsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irish Sea
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We stayed for two nights at River Bend Farm. The B&B is not on a river bend and is not a farm. It is right next to a busy road and a train line that operates at night. The owners were friendly and helpful and they are clearly very passionate about this restored house. Breakfasts were good and the coffee was excellent. We found the bathroom facilities somewhat lacking – there is one shower for potentially eight guests. There is one other bathroom, but this only has a bath. It did feel rather like a backpackers hostel when we had to get up early or get in a line to have a shower! The bed was not comfortable and was creaky – we did not sleep well on either of the nights.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank lostintheirishsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.6 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.7 mi away
1896 House - Barnside Inn
1896 House - Barnside Inn
#5 of 9 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Bend Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bend Farm

Property: River Bend Farm
Address: 643 Simonds Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2105
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing