We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Purple Pub

The Purple Pub
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Williamstown
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Purple Pub has been the place to gather in Williamstown since 1973, serving lunch and dinner 7 days a week. Whether you're looking for traditional pub food or delicious entrees, we have you covered. Patrons can drink and dine at the large mahogany bar or in the comfort of the semi-private dining room. Come watch the game on one of our large screen televisions or enjoy a romantic dinner with someone special. Don't forget to try one of our 14 draft beers (we have bottled beer too), served in a frosted glass.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place...”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Cool staff and a really great location on Spring Street. Food is good. I have enjoyed many evenings in the pub drinking and relaxing. I cannot wait for summer and the theater crowd...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    82
    47
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We love the boneless buffalo wings, selection of beer and the service, The waitress makes a good recommendation of the beer and we love being able to try it first before ordering.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jcrewong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good pub for beer and burgers”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

During our recent college tour over spring break, we had dinner at this pub. We found the burgers & fries to be tasty and the beer selection was plentiful. We got seated quickly and the service was friendly. I wouldn't say that there is anything special about this pub, as it's just like most other pubs I visit - including it's ambience, menu and pricing. If I came back to Williamstown, I wouldn't hesitate to have another meal here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped in.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

After reading some of the reviews here we were hesitant to try this restaurant. I'm glad we decided to go. We stopped in today for lunch since we were out and we were getting hungry.

Although it was noon there were plenty of tables available. We were seated right away and greeted promptly. Our server was very pleasant. We placed our drink order and it was brought right out.

We decided to try the onion rings. They were delicious and not greasy and large enough for 3 to share. We all ordered sandwiches. The sandwiches came out right as we were finishing up the rings but not in a rushed way. I had the pulled pork with sweet potato fries for the $1 up charge. My daughter had the lobster roll with regular fries. The wife had a turkey rueben with a salad. We all loved our meals. Our server was very pleasant and polite and kept the drink refills coming.

I would definitely come again. Perhaps we hit the sweet spot of noon on a weekend, but I don't understand where the negative reviews are coming from.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amotedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great American style pub”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Watched Super Bowl here in February; they have great pub style good; awesome salads; fun atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momfrommaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Purple Pub also viewed

Williamstown, Berkshires
 
Williamstown, Berkshires
Williamstown, Berkshires
 
Williamstown, Berkshires
Williamstown, Berkshires
 

Been to The Purple Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing