We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Access to Williamstown Theatre Festival & more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Access to Williamstown Theatre Festival & more”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent one night here in early August. The rooms were clean and comfortable (though the bathroom was a little small) and the grounds were very pretty. Had some trouble with the lamps when I arrived, but the innkeeper took care of it quickly. Close enough to downtown to make getting to and from the theater very easy, while maintaining a nicely remote feel. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSparr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    99
    32
    19
    16
See reviews for
76
155
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice and quiet. Babbling brook; nice outdoors space; good pub just a short walk over the footbridge. Friendly, accommodating staff. We got back late from dinner on the evening of our stay, and dropped in to the pub to check it out. They were very near closing time, but the bartender served us, anyway, and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Of all the offerings in Williamstown, inkling more expensive places, this is the best. Run with a casual, homey atmosphere by a staff eager to please. Nice pub with good food and drinks on the premises.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbiterofgoodtaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent two nights at the 1896 House and enjoyed a cozy room by the brook. We loved the location-- tucked in a quiet nook of the Berkshires. Great comfy beds, good internet, and nice continental breakfast. The 6 House Pub next door has great burgers and a nice beer selection too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I loved this charming inn/hotel near a bubbling brook with all kinds of lovely touches--bridges, adirondack chairs near the water, surrounding woods. Room was rustic and very clean and comfortable. Innkeepers extremely friendly and attentive. Continental breakfast limited selection but delicious. Very convenient to Williamstown/N Adams and surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for Brookside --near the brook, as opposed to across the street which is less scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 184Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie O, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write a review so that potential guests know what to expect when staying at our property. As of September 2014, we have replaced the light continental breakfast with a full breakfast buffet located in a spacious room at our restaurant. The breakfast buffet includes eggs, bacon, waffles, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, muffins, fresh fruit, bagels, coffee, juices, and more. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Driving along Route 2 and found this gem! Sue was so friendly and welcoming when we arrived. Room was quaint, clean, and very comfortable beds. Setting was so beautiful with the sound of a brook running and the birds singing! A hot cup of coffee with a light breakfast hit the spot in the morning. Restaurant next door, walk across the little bridge over the brook, food great! Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adams, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the brookside motel portion of the 1896 house.
On the good side, the room was exactly as shown and described on the website. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was very nicely decorated! The Innkeeper was very accommodating and kind to us, and allowed us to cancel our second night without penalty or problem.
On the not so good side, there is sporadic cell phone service at best, and the emergency phone system was not in working order...so, as long as you don't mind being out of touch with your family and friends, it's not an issue. In our case, it was an issue, do to a need to be contacted by family, as we have a chronically I'll child at home. Again, as I said earlier, they were very understanding and accommodating to us! The continental breakfast left us wanting more. It was all cold, and very little to choose from. Much different than the full hot gourmet breakfast that we had been promised at the time of booking. (but, to their credit, we did receive a $10 discount to offset the breakfast change). Also, the one other negative that I would mention is the water pressure was less than good. With all of this being said, this is still an excellent choice for anyone looking for a peaceful and tranquil stay in the Berkshires!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie O, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our property. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty communicating with family during your stay. Cell phone service is spotty in many areas in Williamstown due to the surrounding mountains and woods. In an effort to make it easier for guests to communicate during their stay, we offer free calls to anywhere in the United States from the phones in each guest room. We also offer free wifi, as well.

As of September 2014, we have replaced the light continental breakfast with the full breakfast buffet once again. The inn is now under new ownership, and we continue to make changes each day to in order to provide guests with the best experience possible. The full breakfast buffet now includes eggs, bacon, waffles, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, coffee, juices, and more. Breakfast is now located in a spacious room in our pub on property, which has ample seating and room for guests to mingle with one another if they so choose.

Thank you once again for choosing the 1896 House. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
445 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
282 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
387 reviews
9.5 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
0.0 mi away
1896 House - Barnside Inn
1896 House - Barnside Inn
#5 of 9 in Williamstown
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Property: 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing