We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite meal in Williamstown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hops and Vines

Hops and Vines
Ranked #8 of 47 Restaurants in Williamstown
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Located in scenic Williamstown, in the heart of the Berkshires, Hops and Vines features both casual and formal dining rooms. The "Hops" beer garden provides a classic beer garden experience with an approachable, casual environment perfect for family style seating or group dining. The "Vines" Brasserie is a formal dining room with comfortable, elegant seating and top level service. Hops & Vines offers modern takes on comfort food with exciting twists on classically inspired French Brasserie Cuisine in a New American Menu. Complementing our cuisine - is a full bar, specialty cocktails, craft beers on draught and a discerning wine list. For a one of a kind dining experience, step in to our Chef's Tasting Room and dine at our Chef's Table where our Executive Chef,will create unique pairings of food and wine.
Rancho Palos Verdes
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Favorite meal in Williamstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had dinner here before the theater. They cater to the theater crowd, so make a reservation. Ours was for 5:00 and they were pretty packed by 5:30. Service was good and they get you out in plenty of time to make it to your show. The ambiance is very nice. The food was excellent. I could eat there every night. My husband and I shared everything. There's a small split charge but that was OK. We had the flatbread starter that was fabulous. Every bite of everything there was delicious. Go there. Eat there. Enjoy it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    75
    23
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
203 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Locally grown ingredients served by smug uncaring waitstaff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

What a shame that such wonderful food and beer was served by an aloof and disinterested member of their staff. In 40 years of dining out we had the worst waitress in our entire memory. It was nearly impossible to establish eye contact. She never smiled. We engaged her in a brief conversation and her reply was "I really don't like living or working here". In retrospect we should have brought the manager to our table, but none of us wanted to cause a stir. I hope other diners will have a better experience, we truly liked the ambience and food, and noticed that other waiters seemed attentive and upbeat.

Helpful?
Thank Visit-upstate-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, CT
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hops and Vines are hopping!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Dinner is usually very good and after-theatre snacks can be as much as a full-meal or as little as one chooses.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LWDCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hubby and I were at the renovated Clark Institute, where the cafes on premises were too busy and running out of fare on a busy July afternoon. We left, intending to return to the museum (which we did). We happened on Hops and Vines. We shared a sandwich and salad, and had some nice wine by the glass. The service was perfect, (though it was not busy). The food was wonderfully prepared with excellent ingredients. We enjoyed our repast before returning to the museum to see more beautiful art.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fairgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
575 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I shared a lovely lunch in the garden, while everyone else was inside—go figure! I had the tuna salad. She had the beet salad. And we both enjoyed delicious local beers. Even passed the time reading books from the lobby. Service was friendly and efficient and we would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hops and Vines also viewed

Williamstown, Berkshires
 
Williamstown, Berkshires
Williamstown, Berkshires
 

Been to Hops and Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing