We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some people here can never be pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Williamstown
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We just stayed here and we enjoyed our stay and definitely got our moneys worth. Anyone who complains about this motel should stay home snd let their Mommy take care of their needs. It is clean, comfortable, modern, and the manager/owner is very friendly and accomodating. What more can you ask for?
Oh yes. The continental breakdast is just fine.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longislanderlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed for 4 nights with family and rates were low copared to other similar quality hotels in berkshires where hotel rates are quit high specially in summer season. Hotel exterior is decent and interior looks like renovated before a year or two. Rooms were clean and breakfast was hot. Internet worked well. We didnt expect much from 2.5 star chain but our experience was indeed good.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 30rockil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We were in Williamstown on a very busy October weekend and had left another hotel because we were disappointed. We called several hotel looking for a room adn found one here. The staff at the hotel were very accomodating. We were lucky to get a King size non-smoking room. It was in the new section of the hotel. The room was large and very clean with a futon, desk with large chair, plenty of room to hang clothes, microwave, refrigerator, an new iron (which I actually used) and other amentities. The mattress was very comfortable and everything was exceptionally clean. The heater worked really well and made us comfortable. Continental breakfast was fine - not outstanding but more than adequate. We needed a room for the next day too. At first they were booked but were able to find another King in the building. It didn't have the futon but we didn't need it.They moved our luggage to the room and took care of everything. The staff really tried to make our visit a good one. We'd stay there again any time.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new section are best ones to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lady174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Ad said just re-modelled (turned out to be 3 years ago) and HBO (didn't have it). First room was changed after I complained carpet was dirty and it smelled. Second room only just better. Said couldn't give refund as I paid cash and it was 'in the safe'. I think the vacuum broke about the same time as it was remodelled. The annex we were in had rotten window frames and looked tatty. Didn't even get any shampoo. Good job we weren't looking forward to breakfast either, we would have been disappointed. Still - what do you want for 'only'150 bucks.
Being run on the cheap by staff who don't really care.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekmartlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The non-smoking room that I had was in the newer annex that looks like a house. The room was large, the mattresses were of very good quality with no indentations (important for me), the bedroom and bathroom were spotless . The room was equipped with a large desk and swivel chair, fridge, microwave w/stainless steel front, ironing board and iron and easy chair. Linen and towels were of good quality and clean. The late September day I stayed there was unusually hot but the air conditioner/heater kept the room at the temp that I set. Unfortunately, the pool was closed for the season. Gripes: 1. The phone didn't work but was soon replaced, 2. the hot water took a while to get hot (they obviously don't have a hot water circulation pump) 3. the continental breakfast was just adequate. But for the price that I paid, I can't complain.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripMember06022016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdoshi, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Williamstown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your candid comments. We want to thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Williamstown and we are glad to know that you had overall pleasant stay. We will convey your positive remarks to concerned staff members, they will be happy to know that. Also, I personally apologize for the small inconvenience caused to you. We always appreciate guest feedback and try to make our services better. We wish you choose Howard Johnson Williamstown on your next trip.

Thanks,
Management, Howard Johnson Williamstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Was taking my niece to school at Williams and this was booked for me. The room was smelly, the bathroom dirty with dried old soap and hairs all over the walls and stuck into the sandpaper like towels. Breakfast area looked rather dirty so I never partook of the rather small offerings and the coffee was horrible. The location, however, was great if you have a student at Williams.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainofea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

we got this on priceline to minimize the high Berkshire prices in the summer. Wish I hadn't. Room was tiny with only a double bed. room wasn't vacuumed either day and was dirty. Coffee maker didn't work. Manager promised to fix it but never tried to do so. Complimentary breakfast barely adaquate.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.7 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
347 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
0.2 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
414 reviews
2.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Williamstown

Address: 213 Main St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2608 (Formerly Four Acres Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range: £38 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Williamstown 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Express Inn hotel in Williamstown, Massachusetts is surrounded by the scenic Berkshires Mountains and offers clean and comfortable accommodations with best services and amenities. This hotel near Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts is completely renovated and offers spacious rooms & suites with several amenities such as free high speed Wi-Fi internet, free continental breakfast, free access to business center, wheelchair accessible rooms, free handicap parking, cable TV with HBO and a beautiful outdoor pool with a scenic mountain view; best of Williamstown, MA Hotels. This Williamstown, MA Motel is conveniently located near Williams College, Chapin Library, Williamstown Theatre Festival and Sterling and Francis Clark Art Institute. At Howard Johnson Free continental breakfast is served daily and it comes with great healthy breakfast choices ranging from coffee and fruit juices, to cereals and a variety of freshly baked goods. There are more than 30 restaurants serving fine dining are located within 2 miles from this hotel Garden picnic area and long, quiet walking trail is located at the back of the main building. Also, we offer computer with internet access in the lobby area for guest use. Check-in time is 3 pm, check-out time is 11 am and pets are not allowed at this hotel. Howard Johnson is so perfectly located that Williams College is only one mile away and it is a perfect get away if you are going to Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Williamstown Hotel Williamstown
Williamstown Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing