We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Williamstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howard Johnson Williamstown
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Templeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was the 2nd time we stayed here - the 1st time was last winter, and have to say that this time around was much better. The first stay - we had a room in the rear of the annex...the hallway we had to go through to get to the room reeked of something so awful, we didn't even want to contemplate it's source. We literally held our breath each time we had to go through it. The room didn't smell all that much better, but it was more tolerable. The room had obviously not been thourghly cleaned in sometime, judging by the dust and stains we found on various objects around the room (and the carpet). But seeing as it was late and we were tired...it sufficed for the night.
This time around, we came back through the town and recalled the motel with shudders and made a pact to avoid it...we couldn't recall the name...but I called around looking for a room for the night - found one and booked and paid for it over the phone. When we arrived...we busted out laughing realizing it was the very same motel (so much for the pact). We got the key and also realized he had put us in the same annex building as last time...thankfully this room was in the front of the building this time around. We held back our whimpers of fear and opened the door - and thank god - a clean and fresh smelling room awaited us. It was basic and a bit threadbare...but it was clean. The TV worked, the AC/heater worked (slightly noisy and erratic), bathroom was huge but bright and clean. The early morning maids in neighboring rooms were extremely loud however (can you maybe wait until perhaps 8:00am before you start slamming doors and vaccuming? Esspecially on the weekends...yawn!). But all in all it was decent. Inexpensive, basic, centrally located....

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the rear of the annex....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank workinggirl124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    65
    67
    55
    50
See reviews for
92
89
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We just stayed here and we enjoyed our stay and definitely got our moneys worth. Anyone who complains about this motel should stay home snd let their Mommy take care of their needs. It is clean, comfortable, modern, and the manager/owner is very friendly and accomodating. What more can you ask for?
Oh yes. The continental breakdast is just fine.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longislanderlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed for 4 nights with family and rates were low copared to other similar quality hotels in berkshires where hotel rates are quit high specially in summer season. Hotel exterior is decent and interior looks like renovated before a year or two. Rooms were clean and breakfast was hot. Internet worked well. We didnt expect much from 2.5 star chain but our experience was indeed good.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 30rockil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We were in Williamstown on a very busy October weekend and had left another hotel because we were disappointed. We called several hotel looking for a room adn found one here. The staff at the hotel were very accomodating. We were lucky to get a King size non-smoking room. It was in the new section of the hotel. The room was large and very clean with a futon, desk with large chair, plenty of room to hang clothes, microwave, refrigerator, an new iron (which I actually used) and other amentities. The mattress was very comfortable and everything was exceptionally clean. The heater worked really well and made us comfortable. Continental breakfast was fine - not outstanding but more than adequate. We needed a room for the next day too. At first they were booked but were able to find another King in the building. It didn't have the futon but we didn't need it.They moved our luggage to the room and took care of everything. The staff really tried to make our visit a good one. We'd stay there again any time.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new section are best ones to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lady174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Ad said just re-modelled (turned out to be 3 years ago) and HBO (didn't have it). First room was changed after I complained carpet was dirty and it smelled. Second room only just better. Said couldn't give refund as I paid cash and it was 'in the safe'. I think the vacuum broke about the same time as it was remodelled. The annex we were in had rotten window frames and looked tatty. Didn't even get any shampoo. Good job we weren't looking forward to breakfast either, we would have been disappointed. Still - what do you want for 'only'150 bucks.
Being run on the cheap by staff who don't really care.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derekmartlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williamstown hotels

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

The non-smoking room that I had was in the newer annex that looks like a house. The room was large, the mattresses were of very good quality with no indentations (important for me), the bedroom and bathroom were spotless . The room was equipped with a large desk and swivel chair, fridge, microwave w/stainless steel front, ironing board and iron and easy chair. Linen and towels were of good quality and clean. The late September day I stayed there was unusually hot but the air conditioner/heater kept the room at the temp that I set. Unfortunately, the pool was closed for the season. Gripes: 1. The phone didn't work but was soon replaced, 2. the hot water took a while to get hot (they obviously don't have a hot water circulation pump) 3. the continental breakfast was just adequate. But for the price that I paid, I can't complain.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripMember06022016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdoshi, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Williamstown, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your candid comments. We want to thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Williamstown and we are glad to know that you had overall pleasant stay. We will convey your positive remarks to concerned staff members, they will be happy to know that. Also, I personally apologize for the small inconvenience caused to you. We always appreciate guest feedback and try to make our services better. We wish you choose Howard Johnson Williamstown on your next trip.

Thanks,
Management, Howard Johnson Williamstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Was taking my niece to school at Williams and this was booked for me. The room was smelly, the bathroom dirty with dried old soap and hairs all over the walls and stuck into the sandpaper like towels. Breakfast area looked rather dirty so I never partook of the rather small offerings and the coffee was horrible. The location, however, was great if you have a student at Williams.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ainofea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Willows Motel
Willows Motel
#2 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Williamstown

Property: Howard Johnson Williamstown
Address: 213 Main St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2608 (Formerly Four Acres Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Williamstown 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Express Inn hotel in Williamstown, Massachusetts is surrounded by the scenic Berkshires Mountains and offers clean and comfortable accommodations with best services and amenities. This hotel near Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts is completely renovated and offers spacious rooms & suites with several amenities such as free high speed Wi-Fi internet, free continental breakfast, free access to business center, wheelchair accessible rooms, free handicap parking, cable TV with HBO and a beautiful outdoor pool with a scenic mountain view; best of Williamstown, MA Hotels. This Williamstown, MA Motel is conveniently located near Williams College, Chapin Library, Williamstown Theatre Festival and Sterling and Francis Clark Art Institute. At Howard Johnson Free continental breakfast is served daily and it comes with great healthy breakfast choices ranging from coffee and fruit juices, to cereals and a variety of freshly baked goods. There are more than 30 restaurants serving fine dining are located within 2 miles from this hotel Garden picnic area and long, quiet walking trail is located at the back of the main building. Also, we offer computer with internet access in the lobby area for guest use. Check-in time is 3 pm, check-out time is 11 am and pets are not allowed at this hotel. Howard Johnson is so perfectly located that Williams College is only one mile away and it is a perfect get away if you are going to Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Williamstown Hotel Williamstown
Williamstown Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing