We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate Indian”
Review of Spice Root

Spice Root
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Williamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Northboro, MA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“First rate Indian”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our motel owners recommended Spice Root after we asked if there was an Indian place in Williamstown and we were directed to the restaurant, where we were greeted very well and given a discount when we showed our room key. Ok, so that's good, but its all about the food. Our main courses were lamb Korma and chicken Jalfrezzi. Both done beautifully our appetizers and nan were fine and the drinks just right. Extremely attentive and friendly service. As we were finishing up we remembered that we had been there perhaps 6 or 7 years ago and enjoyed it then. Good to see the staying power.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rkgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    92
    27
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cherry hill nj
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just bad. Overpriced, poor food, definitely not authentic in any way. Avoid if you've ever had even decent Indian buffet food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momtipsfortraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice lunch buffet”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I enjoyed the variety of Indian cuisine offered in their lunch buffet. You can go back for seconds. Food was good but one item on a heating tray was just warm (I think a hotter temperature would make that chicken dish tastier) They offer a small discount if you are staying at a local hotel. Very welcoming for this parent. The waiter came around to check on me and clear my dish. Seconds on a clean plate a sign is posted. The water server came around several times to check on me.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cyndee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not authentic”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

After visiting Williams College decided to have dinner before heading back home to Boston. Wow! It was one of the worst Indian restaurant we've been to. Before ordering the waiter placed stale crackers on the table with watery ketchup for dipping. Ordered chicken tikka masala and dal. The chicken tika masala sauce again tasted like ketchup with no flavor. Dal was old, clumpy and not eatable. It looked and tasted as if part of it was from yesterday mixed in with some other form of leftover. On the ride home we kept our fingers crossed hoping we will not get sick from eating at the restaurant. Sadly there are no other Indian restaurants in the area for any incentive to improve.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Buffet Is Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have been to this restaurant several times, and each time the buffet is up to the same high quality and standard as it was on my previous visit. There is variety and the food is delicious, especially the chicken curries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJetSetter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Root also viewed

Williamstown, Berkshires
 
Williamstown, Berkshires
Williamstown, Berkshires
 

Been to Spice Root? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing