We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Hell or the modern version of a Bates Nightmare”
Review of Northside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northside Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hotel Hell or the modern version of a Bates Nightmare”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Any hotel that has a half-opened bottle of Coke and 4 boxes of opened baking soda under the bed; along with a Glade Plug-In is best avoided. Add to this: Holes in sheets, a velour blanket so rotted that the velour is falling off, spiders and cobwebs, broken switch plates. Not even Norman Bates would run this Northside version of Hotel Hell. Avoid unless you are desperate, but for the cost you could purchase a tent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alskx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    54
    64
    35
    19
See reviews for
55
64
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Place was in a great location right near the college and walking distance to town and museums. Check was easy and service was quite friendly and helpful.The room we had with 2 queen beds was fine as far as size but needs much too be improved as far as cleanliness. We found cobwebs and dirt in the corners and under the bed. Bathroom and furniture needs serious updating. The breakfast that was included was not impressive at all but adequate enough for me since all i eat for breakfast is cereal or toast and coffee.

Room Tip: Order the room with 2 queen size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williamstown hotels

Alameda, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed here while visiting Williams College. Our room was clean and quiet, and the beds were adequate. The furnishings were pretty old, and the rooms felt a little stuffy. The breakfast was cereal and toast, but that suited us fine. The location was great, we could just walk to the college. If you want luxury, this is not the place, but if you want a reasonable place to spend the night while visiting the college, this may be the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Dated rooms, minimal staff, meagre breakfast selection. Free internet. Easy to eat at the Williamstown Inn next door.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capegirardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Clean, very basic and lots of value for the price. If your student is visiting Williams it's great place to stay. Within walking distance from the campus.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nashville55229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have stayed at the Northside for many, many years and this was our worst experience ever since it changed hands a few years ago and prices went up. Although our room was musty but clean, there was a huge camper in the parking lot which was left running all day, every day for the three weekend days we were there. Spewing diesel fuel fumes and incredible noise into the air right outside our room - the motel owner told us it would stop but it never did. We were informed that no one else was bothered by this. Don't stay here without a gas mask and earplugs. Oh, yes, and internet only in the dining room. A decent breakfast comes with the room

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kal0Taxidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This hotel raised it's rates 200% when the Solid Sound music festival came to town. The room we are in was unbelievable. Dark, dingy, musty. Archaic. Shades, curtains and the bedspreads are all ripped. Lamp shades are stained. How does a lampshade get stained? How are they getting away with this? (I know, because chumps like me pay the rates.) I would never, ever recommend this place. Boy at the front desk was nice.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamstown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
315 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
456 reviews
1.4 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Willows Motel
Willows Motel
#2 of 13 in Williamstown
348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
225 reviews
1.0 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northside Motel

Property: Northside Motel
Address: 45 North St, Williamstown, MA 01267-2040 (Formerly Northside Motel at Williams College)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Northside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northside located in the heart of williams college campus walking distance to all activities. Offer very nice accommodation to their patrons our highly trained staff make sure fulfill our gurst needs with great services make their stay very comfortable..Offer fresh coffee with complimentary brake fast serve daily in our coffe bar...please do call us to reserve your next stay to save more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Northside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northside Hotel Williamstown
Northside Motel Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing