We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1896 House - Barnside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1896 House - Barnside Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
masaka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What an excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

This is a wonderful place, we stayed in one of their luxury suites (206) and it really was luxury! The breakfasts were excellent, the service was excellent, the setting is wonderful! Won't say more or we may not be able to get in again because it will be overbooked!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanuganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    24
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
129
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

Service
Value
Cleanliness
Dining
Stayed On: 3/2009


My wife surprised me with an overnight stay at the 1896 House in Williamstown. We may now have the spot where we'll celebrate both of our birthdays in years to come, and maybe other events as we enjoy the area. Each of the staff we encountered were warm and hospitable. We stayed in one of their suites and it was impeccably decorated, spacious and clean. Jacuzzi tub, robes and slippers, canopy bed, fireplace...the room was a feast to look at. When we visited the pub, Becky, our waitress joined in singing "Happy Birthday" to me and was friendly and professional...and the meal was great...we understand the chef won't part with the recipe for the glazed carrots! We asked. The whole meal was very, very good. The next morning, at our breakfast prepared and served by Delores, we were treated as though she had been our private chef for years...she is instantly friendly and a talented cook. And, awaiting me on the breakfast table was a birthday card from Denise and Sue, and the staff at the 1896, and a gift of chocolates. Everything was first class. In the midst of this, I had misplaced my car keys, and Denise and Sue set about, with Delores, to make a search of the places where I might have lost them. When I did find them, (they had slipped into a bag where they didn't belong) the downside was that we had car keys to leave...we thought we could use the excuse to stay another day...or a week. Being in the hospitality business for over 30 years, I can tell you that I will be recommending the 1896 House in Williamstown to many, including family and friends that we'd like to take there. There is plenty to do in the area, too...I think a great spot for couples and families! We'll go back for sure. Check out the rates; a great value

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monheganartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Billerica, MA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

recommend the Barnside Suites - we stayed in #201, Early American, which was very nice and large. All the suites have gas fireplaces. The bathroom had a 2 person whirlpool tub, but you'll have trouble with the separate shower if you're claustrophobic and/or carrying a few extra lbs. The way the tv and bed are positioned, 2 people cannot comfortably watch tv while both are in bed. A full breakfast is provided for those staying in the suites. A delightful lady named Dolores did the cooking honors. Happily, we like everything because there was only one hot entree (omelette one day, waffles the next). Every day there was fruit, plain yogurt, granola + 1 other cereal (looked like special K), cold cuts & cheese, bread/toast, bagels, juice, coffee, tea - one day also had cranberry scones to die for, the other day incredible cranberry muffins. In addition to being a sweetie, Dolores can bake up a storm. There is a restaurant on the premises, the '6 House Pub. The food is similar to a 99 Restaurant, but the atmosphere is much nicer - very quaint and cozy.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed in the Barnside suites. There was a two-person jacuzzi tub that was heavenly. The suite was so romantic with the fireplace and the warm soft bed. Breakfast was included which was delicious. Williamstown was charming with many great restaurants and fun shops. It was a perfect weekend.

  • Liked — The 2 person jacuzzi tub and fireplace
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adofk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOMERVILLE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

Our drive to the 1896 Inn was a pleasurable journey on the Mohawk Trail. We came across two beautiful deer in Charlemont and were greeted by two lovely airedales at the Inn in Williamstown. We so enjoyed staying at the 1896 Inn. The fireplace, whirlpool tub, and king size bed were nicely complimented by the period furnishings and tasteful decor. Our choice of the roses, chocolate, and champagne, (the Cherish package) was the perfect touch. Our visit to The Clark and MOCA, while we were there, was only transcended by our wonderful dinner at the 6' Pub. Breakfast at the 1896 Inn was a pleasant surprise. Cheerful Dolores' belgian waffles were a great way to start the day. Our dessert was our magical stroll back to our suite by the gentle bubbling brook in the fresh fallen snow.

  • Liked — the romantic theme
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KATSomerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha's Vineyard, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

I found this hotel on the website originally, then decided to stay in another town and after staying two nights in a place that wasn't very nice, drove further up the road to try the 1896 House and wished we had stayed there for the three nights we were away instead of only one night, but the night we stayed was wonderful! The owners and their staff were very welcoming. The accomodations were luxurious, with a fireplace, sitting area, sectioned bath areas, a porch, where we sat and looked at the stars. The restaurant that is on property is down to earth classy. Very reasonable rates, excellent service and food. The breakfast that was included with our room was a wonderful experience - the woman running it was so nice and pleasant - she really seemed to enjoy her role in making the guests feel special. And we did. This is a place we will definitely stay at again and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Liked — The way the room was set up, the whirlpool tub, the fireplace, the porch, the foliage.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVISLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

The 1896 House was wonderful. We stayed there last night and I cannot say enough good things about the Inn. We stayed in one of the suites, which they have 6 of, and the room was beautiful. It had a jetted tub and gas fireplace, with a sitting room and kitchenette. And of course a king size bed. We had a great time and can't wait to go back!!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhead29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
2.0 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
9.5 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 House - Barnside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 House - Barnside Inn

Property: 1896 House - Barnside Inn
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting 3 building property on a brook and pond. Variety of luxury suites with a candlelight gourmet breakfast and immaculate and charming traditional motel rooms with a hot breakfast buffet. Many bed configurations and some connecting rooms. Some dual whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi and business center. Very popular ‘6 House Pub on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. Accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1896 House - Barnside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 House - Barnside Hotel Williamstown
1896 Hotel Country
1896 Motel Country
Country Inn Williamstown
Williamstown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing