We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1896 House - Barnside Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Troy, NY
1 review
“The Great Retreat”
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We found a great "get-a-way" place in Williamstown, MA. The luxury suite and grounds at 1896 House was very tranquil and perfect to help you relax. The bathroom was so spacious, clean and stocked with nice towels and terry cloth bath robe. I can't wait to visit this place again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ree18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    25
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
133
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2010

There's three parts to this hotel. The two standard parts looked a bit average, but the swanky part we stayed in was really nice. The decor was lovely, the service was pretty good, and the bed slept like a dream. It was a perfect getaway and we enjoyed touring Western Mass from this base, including MassMoCA, Hancock Shaker Farm, Lenox, and Shellbourne Falls.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northwest_Tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We first stayed one night in the Empire Suite on the Barnside in March 2007. Sue and Denise were wonderful hostesses and made us feel very welcomed. We had such a wonderful, relaxing experience that we returned in February 2008 for a 2 nights stay in the same room. The Empire suite was luxurious, romantic, cozy and spotless. We felt like we were staying in a private spa!! We also dined at the 1896 Pub. The foods were delicious and the fact that it's next door to our lodging was an added plus. We look forward to our next visit in the near future. If you are traveling to Williamstown, MA area, we recommend you contact Sue and Denise and book a room at the 1896 House!

T&J Callahan

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40Stravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Sheehan
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2010

The Barnside Suites were great. Service was excellent. Jiminy Peak is an easy 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spruce160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford MA
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We honeymooned at the 1896 House and the staff was very happy for us. How they pampered us! I will remember it for the rest of my life. We plan on going back whenever we can.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggiepieMedfordMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plympton
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2009

This was just a splendid little Inn to enjoy for a long weekend. The accomadations were great---from the fresh roses on the table too champagne and chocolates as you entered the room. Plenty of space to relax and unwind. A cozy suite with all the little things at hand to make things comfortable.
The lounge was casual and relaxed--with rely good food and friendly service. The breakfast in the AM was quite outstanding and very thoughtful. Our chef was charming and warm and made you feel like you were part of her family.
At night with the coming of the first winter's snow and the roar of the brook outside our door it was quite romantic.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelbonney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We stayed in the Bed and Breakfast Luxury suites-the rooms couldn't have been any better-just beautiful with all the little extra's, very clean, breakfast was great and cook was very friendly. We also went to the Pub that is on this property-very good food and so convenient.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinhaggerty2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
0.5 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 House - Barnside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 House - Barnside Inn

Property: 1896 House - Barnside Inn
Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1896 House - Barnside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting 3 building property on a brook and pond. Variety of luxury suites with a candlelight gourmet breakfast and immaculate and charming traditional motel rooms with a hot breakfast buffet. Many bed configurations and some connecting rooms. Some dual whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi and business center. Very popular ‘6 House Pub on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. Accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your 1896 House - Barnside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 House - Barnside Hotel Williamstown
1896 Hotel Country
1896 Motel Country
Country Inn Williamstown
Williamstown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing