We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque and romantic getaway.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Guest House at Field Farm
Ranked #2 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Picture perfect B & B. Surrounded by lush green fields and trails, this serene two-level house, adorned with mid-century art and furnishings, is a perfect weekend respite from the city.

We stayed in the Gallery Room which is located on the main floor with spectacular views of the mountains, clover fields, and garden sculptures.

Every morning, we were greeted with a different and delicious breakfast.

My favorite room had to have been the living room. Spacious, with wall to wall views of the fields and mountains. All the chairs were inviting, coffee tables were laid out with plenty of current magazines and there was even a telescope to keep us entertained!

Also, in the kitchen, homemade cookies and a variety of teas were there for our enjoyment.

The innkeeper, Ole, mentioned that the house is exactly how it was since 1940s. To us, this was a home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinyideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for The Guest House at Field Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

We hesitate to say too much about this splendid retreat because we want to be able to book a room again!
Ole and his crew are the best innkeeper/staff we have come across in our many visits to the Berkshires.
Field Farm is an oasis. Comfortable and welcoming. The grounds, the furniture, the views, the ambience and artwork would be enough. But the breakfast and the comfy bed really sealed the deal! Be sure to hike the trials. We gave up a round of golf at Taconic to do it, and are so glad we did!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Field Farm is a fantastic B&B. It is a brilliantly preserved 1940's - 1950's house set in an amazing parklike grounds with beautiful views of Mt Greylock. I walked around the house with a big grin as you recongnised the furniture and artwork. There is huge Wolf Kahn on the wall outside the Main Bedroom - fantastic - original eames chair you can sit in - it just goes on.

We had a lovely walk through the woods and a wonderful breakfast prepared by the InnKeeper Ole. Ole was the perfect Inkeeper in my book - very engaging but only if you initiated the discussions. He respected your privacy and if you did not want to engage he would politely go about his business without intereferring with your stay.

We splurged for the Main Bedroom and i would recommend it - it has such a beautiful view. It was so peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

One of the best moments on a vacation is when you arrive at your destination with “oohs” and “aahs” because it is better than you even imagined. The Guest House at Field Farm was just what we needed to unwind and relax.

Any fan of mid-century modernism will be delighted by the collection of furniture and art (and the house itself is an architectural treat). Whether you find yourself in the Berkshires for hiking, relaxing, or to appreciate the fine art and architecture at some of the top-notch nearby museums, treat yourself by staying here.

The staff was wonderful, the location was AMAZING, the house felt like home (if you won the lottery).

The two days we had were not nearly enough, so we hope to return again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Civil_War_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We spend several days in August 2010 here and are returning again this October to enjoy the Fall Foliage. This is the most unusual place I have ever visited. There is wonderful art and sclupture, magnificant scenery, a feeling that it is our special estate as it was for the ooriginal owners wners who now rest on the grounds. The people working here are not obtrusive but there for your needs, It is a place to relax and reflect. Quite an experience. It may not be for everyone but those who appreciate its special qualities will want to return

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Stayed here over July 4th weekend. Wow, this B&B is way different from the other New England B&Bs we stayed at - refreshingly so. No fake florals and over cutesy wallpaper. Modern and Bauhaus style, but very comfy. The B&B is out of the way and set on magnificent acreage. The view from the sitting room is heavely. The photos on Trip Advisor posted by the B&B does not do it justice. When we went it was green and blooming. Again I missed my dog and wished he could be with us - he would have loved the grounds. The rooms were comfortable and again, not over done. I enjoyed the breakfasts as there were standard things on offer like toast and cereal, a nice break from the individually cooked meals at other B&Bs. Staff were kind but unobtrusive, you barely saw them giving the place a very private feel. What I appreciated was that they told us we could use the fridge and kitchen crockery etc as we liked - I couldn't imagine bringing in food and doing this at the more personal B&Bs like for example The Mainstay in Camden, ME. Likewise, when we invited some friends over to join us for lunch, we checked with the owners, and they said of course they could come, could use the pool and bring their dog.
The B&B was well located in easy driving distance of Williamstown and North Adams and other small towns. I enjoyed seeing some wildlife around the B&B like bunnies and fireflies.

PS There is a computer for use with internet. We weren't told about it but saw a guest using it the day we left...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiryGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This is an Inn like no other! Set in acres of exquisite natural forest with easy walking trails and a swimming pool, the main house has a minamilast style and atmosphere all of its own. We had the South and West rooms for three nights over the July 4 weekend in 2010 at a (comparatively cheapie) price of around $220 per room per night, incl breakfast. The Inn is just south of Williamstown, and within 30 mins' drive of Stockbridge, Jacobs Pillow and Tangelwood. The rooms are spacious and carefully appointed according to the Bauhaus style of the house. It is said that almost every piece of furniture is custom-made. That, however, does not make the place feel like a museum at all. It is a comfortable, high quality experience devoid of the floral and/or period excesses from which so many other New England Inns suffer. Ole, the inn-keeper, was unobtrusive, helpful and knowledgeable. My only complaint is that the breakfasts, although adequate, were dull and lacked variety. With easy access to excellent fresh produce (farm stalls and delightful little food marekts abound in the area), more of an effort could certainly be made in this regard; this is more so the case in view of the above average rates at which the rooms are sold. That quibble aside (of which many other New England inns are, in my experience, equally guilty), the Inn allows you to gaze at the stars at night from your genuine wooden Adirondack chair in the grounds (there is a dreadful multi-coloured plastic variety which has recently engulfed New England - they should be banned by law), surrounded by beautiful sculptures and fireflies.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsn_chiaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
4.2 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
327 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
466 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
477 reviews
2.6 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
2.2 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House at Field Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House at Field Farm

Address: 554 Sloan Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-3059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range: £63 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the middle of 315 acres with four miles of hiking trails and expansive views over Mt Greylock, the 1948 Bauhaus inspired Guesthouse is furnished with original, designer period furniture and art. Rooms have either a King or a Queen size bed, private bath and A/C. Some rooms have a private balcony or deck. Full country breakfast and informal afternoon tea is included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest House At Field Farm Hotel Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing