We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing blessing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Journey's End Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We also stayed this past weekend with the folks from UK. This bed and breakfast is beautiful. The log cabin is something that should be in architectural digest or featured on This old House. If you are into the Green movement this cabin has LEED status for their HVAC system. Carlos is an amazing chef and host. The breakfast was superb. I am a foodie and Carlos and Alan are both that. Had we stayed longer Alan bakes treats for the day. They pay attention to every detail of your stay. The decor of the house, and presentation of the food and the taste all are "on the top of the scale" The view from our bedroom was of the mountains. The house is strategically placed above the street line so your view is above... straight to the mountains. This was close to the hike we took which was very nice too. Taconic Crest Ridge. Williamstown had some nice dinning options too. Like our new UK friends mentioned this place is special because of the hosts. Thank you Carlos and Alan. We will surely be back and we've been telling everyone about your place.

Room Tip: Our room was mt. Marcy which had a beautiful view. The master suite downstairs was very large and p...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_and_Alan, Manager at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Julie - thank you very much for your review. Alan and I both love our log house that is styled after the Adirondack Great Camp Lodge and hope that you will return soon to to Journey's End and enjoy more breakfasts and Alan's pastries.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Journey's End Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

OK, we haven't stayed in all of them, but it is head and shoulders over all the other ones on our 3 week road tour round New England. The building itself is an amazing piece of architecture with very luxurious bedrooms and common lounge space, but it is the owner, Carlos, who makes it special - he is an amazingly inventive cook and you can expect a real experience for breakfast.
I'm not exaggerating when I say we felt like guests staying in the house of a friend. Carlos says he aims to provide the best B&B experience in the Berkshires. He succeeds.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rowington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_and_Alan, Manager at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Alan and I both were delighted to host your visit and hope that you'll return home soon to Journey's End. We enjoyed sharing recipe ideas with you. Your suggestion to use maple syrup where honey was problematic in a Vegan dish was brilliant. I'll remember your suggestion and apply it wherever possible. As we discussed, I will continue my search for Haggis in delicatessans wherever I find them on land or the internet. I enjoyed Haggis for breakfast when visiting the UK and would love to be able to offer that to our guests at Journey's End. In a related vein, I'll send you my recipe for Salsa Tomatillo so you can use that for breakfast in Warwick.

Best Wishes and Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

An idyllic setting, a contemporary but rustic lodge, terrific breakfast, and plenty of personality and intelligence from the host and other guests. What more could you ask for?

There are probably a broad range of motivations for someone to be in Williamstown, but I can't imagine any that wouldn't be served by a stay here. There's music in the background, theater posters on the walls, and a fantastic view. You're close to the town, but it feels like you're actually in the mountains. Everything was truly great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lroay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_and_Alan, Manager at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

We enjoyed hosting your visit to Williamstown and look forward to your return. We especially appreciate your comment that "it feels like you're actually in the mountains." The view we have at Journey's End motivated our locating where we are; its proximity to the Berkshires, the Green Mountains, the mountain trails and beautiful roads throughout the area all combine to make for wonderful hikes, bicycle rides, motorcycle touring and fall color tours. Not to mention skiing in the Winter. Do come back to visit. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

What a lovely lodge! What a marvelous host Carlos is and what a fabulous cook! We had a great time both mornings at breakfast with delightful conversation with the other guests with great music in the background. It is so accessible to all of the great cultural activities with which the Berkshires are just bursting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_and_Alan, Manager at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Pat,

We look forward to your return to Journey's End where we seek always to increase our repetoire of breakfast dishes, broaden our selection of background music, and visit with our fascinating guests that hail from the world-over. I hope that we can look forward to hosting you again next August during the 2014 Williamstown Theatre Festival where pre-broadway productions are staged, or or the many events at Tanglewood where the Boston Symphony Orchestra is in residence.

Best Wishes to you and your family..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Beautiful and exceptionally comfortable surroundings with easy access to so many Berkshires activities. Carlos made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived...and then there were his most incredible breakfasts! We felt like we were visiting a long-time friend. Carlos graciously balances great conversations with giving guests plenty of room to themselves. We certainly hope to return to Journey's End Lodge!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtsummit, Manager at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We enjoyed your visit to, and look forward to your return home to Journey's End. We're working to expand our breakfast repetoire and have found several interesting options. I'll be traveling to Uruguay next week and hope to return with some new breakfast ideas from the Southern Cone. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I can't speak higher of Journey's End Lodge. The property itself is beautiful - my group and I could not stop commenting on how great everything was. Also, the property is new so all the facilities were top notch.

On top of this, Carlos (the co-owner/host) was so unbelievably wonderful and accommodating. My group needed some special attention and he was extremely helpful on every point. And the breakfast was absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edihon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtsummit, Manager at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

It pleases us that you enjoyed our breakfasts prepared for you - we enjoy cooking and are delighted when we get it right. We appreciate your coplimentary comments on the property; we've done some work on the grounds since you visited Journey's End and hope that, by your return visit, we'll have installed some interesting flowers and bushes. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Journey's End was a wonderful home away from home for two friends exploring the Berkshires this summer. Carlos provides a warm welcome to this beautiful and unusual property. His delicious breakfasts are lovingly prepared with ingredients he brings in from far and wide. His excellent guacamole made a fabulous snack before we headed out for dinner and theater. And he not only taught us how to score and serve a mango but surprised us by packing a couple in a cooler for our Mount Greylock hike! Our rooms were comfortable, and the time spent outside them was like an interesting dinner party: good conversation, good music, a convivial host. A most memorable weekend!

Room Tip: Only good rooms at Journey's End. Impossible to make the wrong selection!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisitingfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtsummit, Manager at Journey's End Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return home to Journey's End. It delights us to know that you felt at home; that is exactly what we want our guests to feel - at home. As you have had our guacamole, on your return we'll make some "Escalivada" - an excellent, Catalan vegetarian "tapa". Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.4 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
467 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
222 reviews
1.9 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
0.2 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Journey's End Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey's End Lodge

Address: 61 Cobbleview Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range: £122 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handcrafted Log Lodge, maginificent views, walking distance to Williams College, close to museums, theatre, hiking trails and music festivals. We prepare complete breakfasts including fresh baked goods daily. Munchies, coffee and tea are available all the time. We have meeting spaces available for our guests to use while they are in-residence. W-Fi- everywhere! Parking on premises.Due to the unique construction of this house we are not wheelchair accessible. Please no pets and no children under 14. Each suite has one bed, either queen or full-size, a private bath, sitting area, great views, ceiling fans and A/C. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing